We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
146
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
146
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm tour attention to detail new zealand lake manapouri very special place before dinner amazing location family farm young couple doubtful sound perfect hosts incredible hospitality rolling hills stunning views stayed longer spa pool feel like family
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

Brad was an amazing host, and all the staff were really helpful and careful as well. Breakfast and Dinner were really good. The property itself is located in an absolutely beautiful setting with incredible views to the mountains and Lake Manapouri. Our stay was of 4 nights, but we could easily have stayed for a longer period. Would definitely return. My wife and I had a great time.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andferrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bridget McDonald, Owner at Cabot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2023

Thank you so much for your kind words Andre. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to take the time to really explore Fiordland. It is such a special area, and we hope we can welcome you back again soon to explore even more! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, it was wonderful to take care of you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Wonderful little luxury lodge in the heart of New Zealand's famous South Island Fiordland. Located on a beautiful sheep farm just a few Kilometers from Te Anau. Snow capped mountains provide the perfect backdrop for this authentic, unpretentious and charming retreat stay.

Room tip: Bring your water proof walking boots so you can explore all the walks on the property.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bridget McDonald, Owner at Cabot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay and your time exploring Fiordland. We can't wait to welcome you back again for more adventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2023

Brad and Breidi are the wonderful hosts at Cabot Lodge. A warm welcome awaits you as you arrive and are taken to your room and a drink of your choice arrives shortly after. The rooms are a home away from home, with the most amazing views.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the service and food were exemplary.
We look forward to staying again

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Euan and Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bridget McDonald, Owner at Cabot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

Thank you so much for your incredibly kind words. It is such a joy to know you both enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2023

Breidi and Brad, together with Kim & Rod provide the ultimate in a relaxing escape.
The property is gorgeous, rooms sumptuous (the pillow top beds like sleeping on a cloud), the bath has the best view ever, service exceptional while being relaxed. Nothing was a bother.
Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Be sure to let the hosts know of any dietary requests, they're so thoughtful but it's easier if they know in advance.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bannockburn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bridget McDonald, Owner at Cabot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

What a lovely way to start the day, reading your incredibly kind words. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We are thrilled you had a wonderful time with us, as we had a fantastic time taking care of you both! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and hopefully we can head over to your little corner of paradise soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2023 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying at the Cabot Lodge for 4 nights, had the entire place to ourselves for most of the time, which made it even nicer.

The hosts are attentive and responsive. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Pomona room and the fireplace provided a nice touch. The bathroom was spacious, with a shower and bath tub, and also warm thanks to the underfloor heating. The mini bar was well stocked and had a nice selection drinks including beer and local wines.

Rod, the in-house chef went out of his way to ensure that we got to sample the best produce that the area has to offer through his culinary delights including Bluff Mountain Oysters, Trout, Venison, Lamb and Salmon. The desserts were also divine and we found ourselves in food comas after every dinner.

The lodge is situated on a beautiful farm and there are a number of scenic walks available on the property. The 40°c outdoor hot tub
was amazing, especially when the outside temperature was 5°c. We were also fortunate enough to have snowfall on our final day, which made every even more enchanting.

A daily highlight was feeding the resident ponies (Al Capony and Pony Soprano) - they love apples! We had an amazing stay and would recommend Cabot Lodge to anyone looking for a luxurious, peaceful, romantic getaway.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Keshwan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bridget McDonald, Owner at Cabot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2023

What a joy to find your incredibly kind and wonderful review. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your stay just as much as we enjoyed taking care of you both. Thank you so much for all of your lovely photos too - we love looking at the magical moments you've captured! We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews