We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (250)
Filter reviews
250 results
Traveller rating
131
69
17
22
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
69
17
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pub hotel ribby hall lamb portion size be returning very soon prawn cocktail sunday roast whilst visiting family lytham st lasagna great shower pleasant stay staff were lovely executive room breakfast was excellent full english breakfast cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 250 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent meal with friends. Come and try Felix’s menu during the year. I would highly recommend it. Excellent fine dining and good value for money. We have really enjoyed our New Years Eve with a five course meal and champagne.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jangirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

I’ve been to the Birley twice since the new management took over and the only way I can describe it is WOW!! What a turn around, proper homemade fresh food, fantastic a la carte menu with a weekly specials menu,I myself eat of this menu, the the rump of Lamb was quiet possibly the best meal I’ve ever eaten! The service was exceptional and all the waiting on staff were extremely attentive. Can’t wait to return in December as it looks like the Birley will become a monthly outing for us!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank BackPacker746849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBirleyArms, Manager at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for your review which is appreciated and we are delighted that you have found our new menus exceptional.
We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all the best for 2018.
The Birley Arms Hotel & Gastro Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We used to go to The Birley regularly but the visit in November was very disappointing to us. We had heard from a lot of local people that it was not he same anymore, however we decided to see for ourselves so we gave it a try. It will be along tine before we go again. On arrival we were met with a booming voice asking everybody in the restaurant to sing Happy BIrthday to someone or other this went on quite a number of times during the evening. ok if this is your thing fair enough, but we prefer a relaxing meal and talking amongst ourselves which was near impossible at times.
So to the menu and the food.the waitress came to take our order, I mentioned there is no chicken on the menu, answer yes there is "chicken curry" not being a curry fan I passed on this and settled for steak & ale pie, my partner ordered fish & chips. When the food eventually came the steak and ale pie was in an old fashioned enamel dish, which obviously it had been cooked in as the pie was stuck to the bottom of the dish. and the gravy (a lot of thin gravy) poured over the pie, so the pastry was soggy. The fish & chips were quite greasy and served with pureed minted peas, not very complimentary. The price of the food and wine has also gone up quite considerably. All in all not the best experience at the Birley. We tried it, now we know.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank wadeypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

We visited with a group of friends over the Xmas period and though we could not fault the food we found the service extremely poor. We sat down at the time of our booking and had to ask after 40 minutes of waiting if we could order our food and then it was another 30 minutes before the starters were served so by the time the main meals were served we had actually been sat down for 2 hours !! To say we were starving is an understatement. The staff appeared to be overstretched and if this was the case just an explanation would have been appreciated rather than just being left sat waiting for such a long time. We do hope that these are only teething problems for the new management as we have frequented this place many times over the years and really would like to continue but we may well leave it a while now to see if things improve.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBirleyArms, Manager at The Birley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that the food met your expectations but are disappointed to hear that you felt the service was slow on the day you visited.
This is our first Christmas at The Birley as new owners and the Christmas period has been extremely busy. However, we take on board your comments and do hope that you will visit again in the New Year and will give the restaurant another chance to deliver.
With best regards for 2018.
The Birley Arms Hotel & Gastro Pub

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

This was our second visit since the new owners took over. The first meal we had was poor so we thought we would give it another chance. Never again it was awful.... the duck was so over cooked we had to ask for a steak knife to cut it. The cheese and onion pie was inedible and the cheese on toast should have been served with home made baked beans but it came without them and when questioned we were told they had run out. Any chef serving food with pride would not have sent our food out ...it was an insult to our intelligence and love of food. We eat out locally at a number of places and this wins the worst food award.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank redwine38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews