We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent and very nice people”
other traveller has booked this property
A view of the facade of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the facade of the house
The rear entrance of the  Carvalho mansion with the Lil thinkers Montessori playschool to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
A view of the facade of the house
The rear entrance of the  Carvalho mansion with the Lil thinkers Montessori playschool to the left
The Red Rooster, A prominent mud figurine which is synonymous with indo portuguese  houses in Goa
A glance of the bedroom from the doorway
The corridor between the living room and the bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Majorda, South Goa District, Goa

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TeresaM49...
1 review
“Excellent and very nice people”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

I stayed few days, not far from the beach, the place nice and clean. I really advice you if you like the country side far from big towns and the owners are very helpfull

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ranjanaja...
North Goa District, India
1 review
“A true Goan Experience”
Reviewed 10 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I am excited to share a review about this place because its a place everyone should try out on a holiday. The space is an authentic Goan Portuguese home with a slight modern twist for comfort. Nicely decorated and with amenities at your disposal.
It's located in Majorda, which is in South Goa and away from the chaos of the North. Very peaceful village. Very close to the beach, you can go for a stroll and reach the sea.
The host are kind and helpful in anyway you might need.
It's definitely worth going there to get a real Goan experience on your holiday. And the price is a steal. Enjoy your stay at The Red Rooster Village Homestay !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay P
2 reviews
“A Taste of the Beautiful Old Goa roots with all the New day fun.”
Reviewed 9 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

As the title suggests, this place brought back fond memories of Goa from the olden days mixed with all the refreshing ammenities of the modern world.
This homestay is a part of a house thats built in the late 1700s (Thats right!!) and the owners Astrid(her family) and Karl have done everything to keep the house as untouched by unnecessary modernization as possible.
And, if u have a walk around the neighbourhood, the peaceful serenity will make you never wanna go back to your life back home.
The prime reason to stay here is the proximity to the Majorda Beach: A beach of which the sands are like wheat flour. The restaurants give u an option to sit right at the water-front with waves breaking in your eyes periphery as you enjoy the delicacies of Goa.
All of this and much more at an exceptionally reasonable rate that maie you wanna stay a lil longer than your budget would allow at any other stay.
Last but not the least, a HUGE ShOUt Out to our humble Hosts Astrid and Karl: who were ever obliging and patiently ready for all we had to throw at them. They were a perfect blend of warm homely hosts that also have a proffesional attititude that helps them run a tight ship.

Thanks for the experience and for bringing the amazing Goa from the times when it wasn't overcrowded and tourist centered back to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misseyelo...
UK
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 1 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had never been to Majorda before and fancied a couple of days away from North Goa.
Saw this advertised and thought why not?
Firstly it's always a task trying to book anything last minute in Goa, people don't answer emails, messages or their phones, but Karl and Astrid were brilliant, replied promptly, were super flexible on dates, just made everything so easy.
For the price we were quoted I was expecting a room with bathroom, but this was a gorgeous little house, separate kitchen and dining area, cool and clean with a comfortable bed and fluffy towels. There was a small outside garden area with chairs and table.
We chose breakfast, freshly cooked Goan food and plenty of it, delightful.
We really felt welcome, Karl, Astrid and her mum Melba were so easy going, there were bicycles included, The area is very quiet, so easy to explore with plenty of little lanes and the beach there is amazing, a few shacks with good beach food and some better sea food restaurants for the evening, and just miles of crisp white sand with no people, you could walk for hours.
Melba kindly showed me around their house, an old Portuguese mansion, which was just stunning inside.
Karl was so generous with his time, driving to show us the best way to the beaches, the location of restaurants, and generally taking us around the whole area, showing us parts we wouldn't have found for ourselves. We visited his Godparents, again another old Portuguese mansion, these old family homes are just amazing and I feel really lucky to have had the chance to visit and look around them.
So I would really recommend this for a few days, friendly local bar a few doors away, beautiful arts and crafts centre with pretty garden cafe five minutes away, again in an old Portuguese mansion. Lovely area, the Portuguese influence is very strong in the area I really noticed it in the architecture, lots of blues and yellows. People like Karl and his family are so proud of their heritage I really felt I'd learned a lot about the diversity of Goa.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing