We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch...”
Review of The Sheet Anchor

The Sheet Anchor
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Whitmore
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Stopped off on the way back from Telford. Surprisingly nice p,ace once owned by Geoff Hurst of England hat trick fame.
Recommended.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank PhilStokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We both went here after being recommend this to us
We booked a table with ease and the staff member was very helpful on the phone
One the day of our visit we arrived and were shown to our table which was clean and well presented
After being handed the menu we were asked if we wanted to order drinks or look at the drinks menu we asked for a few minutes to have a look and the person returned within the few minutes and took our drinks order and these arrived within a matter of minutes which was quick seeing how busy it was that evening then we placed our order
We Ordered the Combo for two as a starter and when this came it was hot and very nice and tasty and we ordered 2 burgers COW & PIG & CHICKEN and when they both came they were very nice and would highly recommend the burgers
For dessert we ordered the RASPBERRY & WHITE CHOCOLATE COOKIE DOUGH & the CHOCOLATE BROWNIE both come and were hot and plenty for us both

After this visit we would highly recommend this to anyone and we are planning on coming back at some point

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OJam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We arrived at lunchtime on Wednesday, the place was quite quiet we sat in the bar area.
There seemed to be a good selection of draft beers and other offerings behind the bar.
I think during the week at lunchtime they offer a very reasonable lunch menu either 1, 2 or three courses for a set price.
We had 2 courses each the king prawns and tomato salad for starters and a burger each for the main, the service was a little on the slow side but not un reasonable, I can only assume that during busy periods they would have more staff on duty.
The staff seemed friendly and attentive but not overly so, We thought that the bill was very reasonable considering what we ate and drank.
I don't live in the area but if I was passing by again would definitely return, I understand that it is part of a chain, not something I am normally a fan of but all seemed fine.
I am aware that there have been some negative reviews left by others, but as an ex caterer can only assume that maybe some of these had called on an off day, but we all have those now and again.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matthewl488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

This restaurant,at the rear of The Sheet Anchor pub, has been refurbished in a modern style of scrubbed wood and metal.
Very welcoming on a Wednesday lunchtime.
We just had mains, thank goodness, as portions are large. We both had the mixed platter of baby pork ribs and smoked chicken. Excellent flavours and the meat was so succulent that it fell off the park rib.
Definite location for meat eaters.
Good selection of wine by the glass.
Very polite staff. We will return. Good value for money.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank weebles2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017 via mobile

Meal out with friends to a very busy sheet anchor or block house as it's now called , seems to be recently refurbished and the current restaurant to visit, a cosy pub section and friendly staff .
The food is expensive for what you get as the portions are small , saying that my steak was perfectly cooked only let down by the small pot of chips and bit of lettuce with coleslaw on , friends had burgers which they said were tasty although served on a chunk of wood which seems to be the trend . All in all I found it a welcoming place with great staff but poor portions and expensive

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank glyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sheet Anchor also viewed

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Sheet Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing