We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“...a real find - both Hinterthal and the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large pull out sofa bed in the lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Large pull out sofa bed in the lounge area
Fully equipped Kitchen/dining area with fridge, freezer, oven, hob dishwasher and microwave.
Main bedroom with en-suite
En suite with power shower
Smaller second bedroom with bunkbeds and plenty of storage.
Main bathroom
Looking from the terrace to the balcony off the bedroom
The pretty church in Hinterthal
Maria Alm
View of the apartment block from the nursery slope
The Lido at Maria Alm
The local golf course 15 mins drive away
The Alm Bar at the foot of the nursery slope
Some of the local inhabitants
Black run
From the top of the Sonnleiten lift, a few paces from the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hinterthal, Austrian Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pathlesst...
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bijou with a view”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Sonnleiten House over Christmas week 2014 for a skiing holiday. Our party comprised myself and my husband, son and married student daughter and son-in-law (5 adults).
Hintherthal is a beautiful, quiet alpine village, although owing to lack of snow we had to drive further up the mountain to Ubergossene Alm to find the four runs nearest us that were open. Even though the skiing was very limited, it still wasn't too crowded, with no lift queues. We actually had a couple of snow dumps while we were there, which enhanced the beauty of the place, but alas too late to make any difference to the number of runs open. However, the Hochkonig area merits further exploration, and with plentiful snow would be wonderful.
The apartment is very sweet, and well equipped, with views of the nursery slope from the main balcony. Great for a couple and two children, but not ideal for our group. It appears to be two studios converted into one, so the layout is a bit eccentric. The futon bed is between the en-suite bedroom and the living room, so we had to clamber over our supine son to make coffee in the morning. The bunk room (although, as advertised, tiny) is well designed and utilises the available space efficiently. Unfortunately the low water pressure in the main bathroom necessitated everyone using the en-suite shower.
There is no longer a small supermarket in the village (nearest one in Maria Alm), as it closed at the end of summer 2014, so a car is necessary for a hassle free stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, en-suite shower, good selection of DVDs, well - equipped kitchen.
Liked least: Climbing over the futon bed in the alcove to make coffee in the mornings.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2015
Dear Guests

We're sorry that your stay in Hinterthal wasn't as enjoyable as expected. Snow is usually plentiful for the Christmas period, we usually go ourselves that week and have never had a lack of snow, although there seems to have been a distinct shortage throughout Europe this year unfortunately, not just in Austria.

With regards to your sleeping arrangements, I would have recommended that you use the main bedroom, the double sofa bed (which takes less than a minute to fold away in the morning) and the bunk room rather than the futon, that way you wouldn't have needed to disturb your son.

We have never had a problem with low water pressure in the main bathroom before, (unless there was a problem in the main block for some reason), we will indeed investigate the situation although our New Year week guests haven't reported a drop in water pressure.

The main shop in the village did close recently due to new management takeover. We always advise guests to pick up supplies en-route where possible or we can get our housekeeper to pick up a few supplies for a small charge if necessary and have them ready when you collect the key. We are hoping that the shop will be open again soon and apologise for the momentary inconvenience. The nearest supermarket is Maria Alm, 10-15 mins by bus if you don't want to drive.

We endeavour to make our guests stay as pleasurable and hassle free as possible so take any comments or issues seriously and act on them where possible. Thank you for your comments, we will take them into consideration.

Kindest regards to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcus C
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“...a real find - both Hinterthal and the apartment!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Travelling with my wife, daughter (15) sister-in-law and her husband, we all agreed that Hinterthal was a fantastic place to unwind and experience some varied and extensive skiing. The ski area of Hochkonig is ideally suited to beginners and intermediates with some great off piste routes available for the more adventurous. Everyone in the village was extremely friendly and helpful and we had some great meals all within easy walking distance of the apartment. The ski bus is readily accessible and hire of equipment very reasonable. Some of the mountain restaurants have spectacular views and are very reasonably priced.
The apartment was ideal for the 5 of us and the recently upgraded kitchen was great. Plenty of space to relax. Its ideally located and all the amenities are within walking distance. We'd love to return again - maybe in the summer as the walking and cycling looks to be awesome. If you're looking for a quiet relaxing holiday then this is the place to choose!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet
Liked least: can't think of anything...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your lovely review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Hinterthal and Sonnleiten apartment and that you would like to return again. You're very welcome anytime, please don't hesitate to contact us if you would like information about sight seeing and summertime activities.

Kind regards

Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twostours
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“It's ideal!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A wonderful apartment with great facilities in a great location: what more could you sensibly ask for? A short walk - or a very short drive - takes you directly to the ski lift (heated, no less) and you're just minutes from your first run of the day. The apartment offers very flexible accommodation, a brand new kitchen and two bathrooms with loads of hot water, just the job after a long day on the slopes. The TV and DVD are a welcome bonus, and there's an iPod dock too. We had a brilliant time and will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilites.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review. We're really glad that you had an enjoyable stay in Hinterthal and Sonnleiten apartment and hope that you'll return again soon. You are very welcome.

Kind regards

Steph
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herberts2...
Leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful apartment in good location”
Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is well positioned for some great ski-ing. Excellent food and drinking establishments close by. The apartment itself had plenty of room for our party of 2 adults and one teenager. It was tastefully decorated and had all the equipment and facilities you could ever need. Bed was extremely comfortable after a long day ski-ing. We will definitely be re-booking as I felt it offered good value for money considering some of the prices I had a look at when planning the holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable bed after a long day ski-ing
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your review, we're delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Sonnleiten Haus apartment and hope that you'll return again soon.

Kind regards

Stephanie Jordan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobabout9...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal for summer break with older children.”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Visited for one week at the start of our summer holidays, the advantage being everything is open but no crowds. We travelled with our teenage son and his friend, and with both of them preffering active holidays,this was more than ideal. White water rafting, bobsleigh, swimming, water sking were just some of the treats we were able to offer them. There is a childrens playground next to the apartment which has a basketball/football court and local kids to test their skills against.
Hinterthal is quiet and unspoilt. A river runs through the village and apparently there are beautiful walks to the top of the valley if you go past the church ( we didn't manage this as the days were so full ). The appartment is well appointed, clean, well equipped; it has good parking and there are lots of restaraunts and bars to choose from. There is a large balcony with table and chairs and also a good sized dining table so we could all sit and discuss the next days adventure. The area has lots of places to get provisions and a 10 min drive will take you in to Saalfalden which has a big shopping center and all the other amenities of a small town.
If your a bit of a wimp and don't fancy going to Zell am Zee lake for a swim ( it's glacial water, but has a fantastic grass beach opposite the town ) Salfalden has a really good lido, and at local rates costs very little for a day.
Salzburg is about an hours drive away, and although I wanted to explore the city I was outvoted and we went to the Red Bull museum at the airport instead. I must admit it's fantastic and free!! Glad we went.
I understand that the place has fantastic sking.The lift is over the road and looks brand new. Husband and boys all ski and have hinted that they might try the area out.
I could go on and on as there's so much else to do. The boys have said that they want to return and have already started to plan what they want to do... but I WILL get to Salzburg.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your lovely review, we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sonnleiten apartment (and since receiving your review you have already booked this years stay!) We're very pleased that you want to return. The area has much to offer families and individuals of all ages with fabulous scenery included!

Thank you for booking with us again this year and we hope you have an equally pleasurable stay.

Make sure you take a day out to explore Salzburg, it's a lovely city!

Kindest Regards

Stephanie Jordan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing