We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,559)
Filter reviews
1,559 results
Traveller rating
1,027
287
119
71
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,027
287
119
71
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beachfront villa thai restaurant buggy service main building intendance beach au jardin rum shack sun deck hired a car nice beach saffron jacuzzi spa waves sea paradise seychelles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,559 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2019

The Banyan Tree was the last leg of our honeymoon , and we were expecting Great things after reading the reviews on here and from the website. However we wish we had done more research - the hotel was quite run down and in need of a refurbishment and felt like a ghost town in parts. The service and quality was more like a 3 star not a 5 star - especially in the main restaurant and lobby. It was like a school canteen , the breakfast selection is outdated and of poor quality indeed , the bread and pastries are awful. It was only after we had complained that the service began to improve but by then our experience had been ruined , we could not fault the Thai restaurant Saffron and their very friendly staff though . Such a shame - the rest of the hotel was not held to higher standards . As the hotel is so far away from everything else you would expect there to be activities organised but no , no water sports equipment either , you can’t even swim in the sea as it’s too rough and dangerous . The best day we had at the banyan tree was when we left the hotel and ventured out , the rest of the time I was bored stiff.
We also spotted jellyfish in beach which we were not warned about. I’m afraid we cannot recommend this hotel and it is very misleading stating it is a 5 star. Just not good enough

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jessnoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2019

After a few weeks back from our vacation in Seychelles, now I get the opportunity to sit and re-immerse in one of the best memory of our recent holiday, ever!

Banyan Tree Seychelles has ultimately spoiled us endlessly.

After reading a few comments on the web, we decided to spend our final leg of our vacation in this property. We had a great experience in Banyan Tree Maldives and obviously, we were expecting to repeat at least the same level of a remarkable experience.

And, Banyan Tree Seychelles never failed us!

The journey from the capital to Banyan Tree took us around 40 minutes. We arrived at the property just around 5 pm, followed by a rang of the bell (perhaps a symbol of guest arrival, I would say) and glad to receive a warm welcome from the staff.

They offered us welcome drinks while waiting for the check-in process. The process was smooth, and they surprised us by upgrading our room up by four categories. As a gold member of Accor, we were expecting an upgrade, but the upgrade usually would not go beyond one category up! Admittedly, this compliment made both of us smile from ear to ear!

The villa is spacious and strategically located in front of the beach. For those who enjoy the sound of waves crashing, this is a perfect villa for you! It is an ideal spot for stargazing too!

There were a welcome drink and fruit plate ready on the table upon our arrival at the villa and has enriched our experience more and more!

During our stay, we tried the famous Saffron (serving authentic Thai fusion) and Chez Lamar (serving Creole cooking and Arabic specialities). We prefer the latter; surprisingly, the portion of seafood platter was significant, and the heavenly taste of the cuisine startled us, indeed!

We had an opportunity to try the award-winning spa of Banyan Tree. Yes, the spa is genuinely living up to its name. You will never regret it!

Oh not to forget, our anniversary cake was served on our final night at the property; a final gesture that touches our heart!

Like any other property, there was a small hick-up (Jacuzzi and Sauna Room not functioning correctly); however, the team managed to fix it simultaneously.

A special thank you to Mr Sunny (the front office manager). He was helpful, and his sincerity in accommodating our need and request was admirable. His team undeniably made our stay exceptionally extraordinary.

We would love to come back to this property and highly recommended to those who highly value the privacy. This place grants you an opportunity to dwell in your little world as if you are the only guest of the property.

I would end this review by saying that Banyan Tree hospitality indeed a legendary!

And, thank you for making our stay memorable!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank k4m_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabriceC1038, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

Dear k4m_M

Wow! thank you so much for this very extensive review.

I am happy to read that we have been able to live up to the Banyan Tree Legendary hospitality.

Our Team is truly remarkable and working over time to please and satisfy our estimated guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave this review,

Do not hesitate to contact me in the future if you would like to comeback to the Seychelles, it will be my pleasure to make the necessary arrangements,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019

This hotel was AMAZING! It has the most amazing and beautiful location and beach. Every single room had an amazing view (even the cheapest one), big patio with private pool. Stuff was super nice, infinity pool is to die for. We will be definitely back one day. The victorian architecture is beautiful and it fits perfectly to the location. It is one beautiful paradise.

Date of stay: September 2018
2  Thank NanniChicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabriceC1038, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Dear NanniChicca

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at the resort. I am glad you enjoyed your break in the beautiful paradise. The victorian architecture always leaves a very positive impression on our guest. We look forward to welcome you not in the so distant future.

Best wishes


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019

My husband and I spent a relaxing and peaceful week at the banyan tree. Our villa was in the 400 range which meant it was quite high in the hill above the bay and a distance from the resort centre. Golf buggies are available to take you to/ from the centre or other parts of the resort. At busy times and when it rains, there was sometimes a wait for buggies or a driver. Accommodation is very comfortable with each villa having its own well appointed terrace and private infinity pool. The resort is 20 years old and so there are some signs of age, but not so much as to detract from our stay. We did not leave the resort and a week was definitely long enough -any longer and we would have to have explored elsewhere.

There is a modest marine conservation centre with terrapins and giant turtles next to an organic garden. Worth a short visit.

The two highlights of staying at the banyan tree are it’s location - the bay is secluded and picture perfect. The second highlight is food - the range, quality and quantity is truly amazing! Three restaurants on site - all good, but the main restaurant where you have breakfast was our food favourite by far!

This is an expensive place to stay, particularly if you want to eat and drink on site. I would recommend the half board option and perhaps bring a bottle of wine or two with you!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bulliondalehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabriceC1038, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Dear bulliondalehouse

Greetings from Banyan Tree Seychelles! Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience with us after your recent stay at the resort. I am sure that we have created a memorable experience for you both to cherish for a very long time. We are so happy that you also took a tour at our Conservation Centre and spend some time with the terrapins and the giant turtles and just to mentioned that sustainability is one of our core values. There is a maintenance program in place for our villas and I am glad you enjoyed the picture perfect secluded bay.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2019

Banyan Tree is ideally located about 30 mins from the airport and is situated in Takamaka in the South of Mahe. We stayed in a lovely pool villa (402) which had an amazing view of the Indian Ocean. The interior of our villa wasn't the biggest (the bathroom is quite small) but the shower was excellent. The outdoor area was spacious with nice pool (with little seat in there) to sit and admire the view, as well as very comfy loungers and seating area with table. Buggies are available to take you around the resort as some of the villas are high up (20 mins walk) from reception/main restaurant and infinity pool and the paths are quite steep.

We only ate in the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner but the food was excellent and staff very attentive. Breakfast was mostly buffet but we could order eggs and other hot food from a menu. There was a great deal of choice on the A La Carte Dinner menu - meat, seafood and vegetarian options. The bar area was very chilled and serve a particularly good Gin and Tonic.

There is a lovely wetlands area to walk through and a conservation centre where we saw turtles and giant tortoises. There are also many birds and SheathTailed Bats flying around to observe.

We stayed just the 3 days but could have done with staying another couple of days. We would love to come back.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CAF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FabriceC1038, General Manager at Banyan Tree Seychelles, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2019

Dear CAF75,

Warm greetings from Banyan Tree Seychelles,

Thank you very much for your extensive review of our resort and facilities,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay and took the time to explore every corner of our sanctuary.

We hope to see you back to the Seychelles to enjoy a Gin and Tonic with us,

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews