We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip to learn about Crete”

Visit the Local Producers
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Vamos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We will first go to the local cheese maker,where we we watch Yannis on duty...(Available : 01/11 to 14/06) or We start from the local Olive Oil factory where the specialist will demonstrate the olive oil production process...(Available : 15/06 to 30/10) Then we drive to the 14th century Byzantine church in the heart of a ravine... We continue with the visit to the last person in Apokoronas, who makes sheep and goat bells... We then visit the authentic, old olive-press, the last one left nowadays in Apokoronas, where Leonidas still produces his bio olive oil! We see his wild goats known worldwide as "kri-kri" (a unique chance, because these animals are rarely seen) and we have our meal at his tavern, cooked by his wife...
Reviewed 4 September 2018

My husband and I did the "Visit the Local Producers" tour in early September and really enjoyed our experience. We visited a local olive oil producer, essential oils and herbs producer, a 14th century Byzantine church, a producer of sheep and goat bells, and had a tasty lunch at a local taverna. I don't think we would have found any of these places on our own. It was a great authentic and interesting experience. We'd definitely recommend it!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"essential oils"
in 5 reviews
"goat bells"
in 5 reviews
"byzantine church"
in 4 reviews
"cheese maker"
in 3 reviews
"enthusiastic guide"
in 2 reviews
"olive oil"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 2 reviews
"at home"
in 2 reviews
"tourist office"
in 2 reviews
"sheep"
in 5 reviews
"facts"
in 2 reviews
"heartfelt"
in 2 reviews
"cretan"
in 4 reviews
"meal"
in 3 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 2 reviews
"mountains"
in 5 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

This was a really interesting day out and allowed us to see new aspects of the Cretan countryside. The insight into olive oil production was well presented and we were very impressed with Litsa and her modern take on traditional mountain herbs. We have stopped many times over the years at the little byzantine church of St Nicholas but had never before seen the frescoes inside - what a wonderful place! The sound of sheep and goat bells is one of my enduring Cretan memories and it was a privilege to meet the bell maker, with his methods that haven’t changed in hundreds of years. Eleftheria’s lunch at her mountain tavern was really good (sorry we couldn’t finish it!). Many Thanks to Yiorgos, a knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

This was a great outing, our guide George was funny, interesting and very knowledgeable. The ride up the mountain was amazing ! Learned a lot about Crete and Olive Oil production. Wonderful views from the taverna where we enjoyed a great meal. Again the staff at Vamos Traditional Village were very helpful !

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank klc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vamos V, Staff at Visit the Local Producers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback! Hope to see you in our village soon again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Well worth the money. Visited a cheese factory, goat and sheep bell maker, olive oil factory, mountain taverna where we saw Krikri- the wild goats and ate excellent local cuisine.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Maggi1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vamos V, Guest Relations Manager at Visit the Local Producers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback! Seems you really enjoyed the Visiting the Local producers tour and we are excited about that! Wish to see you another time in our village...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

My family and friends (a total group of 11, including four children and an infant) joined this tour that took in local producers of olive oil, herbs and essential oils, hand-made goat bells and honey, as well as a visit to a spectacular Byzantine church in the mountains. George, our guide, was a knowledgeable, hospitable and warm host throughout the day. Each stop was thoughtful and fascinating, with the local producers displaying their passion and expertise, with ample opportunity for sampling (the kids' favourite bit!). The visit was rounded off by a sumptuous and delicious lunch with a magnificent view. Each producer was engaged in a labour of love, which showed in the quality of the produce - we couldn't help but buy a little something at every stop! All our party, from the grandparents to the kids, had a great day out. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank spacekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Visit the Local Producers also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Vamos, Apokoronas
 

Been to Visit the Local Producers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing