We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ
Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Here's another shot of the kitchen
There are two lovely leather Chesterfields you can relax in and lots of light.
The kitchen area. Hopefully you can see the quality!
The ensuite bedroom at the rear of the property
This is the shower room when both bedrooms are in use. There is also the ensuite off the rear bedroo
The super king size bed is 6' 6 long. The biggest you will find in any holiday rental
The bedrooms are on the ground floor. Underfloor heating feels luxurious under your feet!
Light streams in to the living/dining area in our holiday cottage
The 'front' bedroom, made up with two single beds. You can have it as a super king as well - it's yo
The drive way down to the Old Workshop which is the 2nd on the right, behind the oak tree
Difficult to take a meaningful picture of a shower, but hopefully you get the idea!
Our first testimonial for the Old Workshop holiday cottage
Flowers are still blooming in the courtyard
The view from the living/dining area of the 2 bed holiday cottage over the Bathampton meadows
Another view of the lounge in the cottage
The lounge area of our 2 bed holiday cottage in Bath
Another picture of the lounge in our holiday cottage
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Rachel C
1 review
“Everything perfect”
Reviewed 18 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely apartment with great views, very clean and well appointed. Nice pub within walking distance just over the river. Hope to return in the summer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Well, we can't ask for anything better than 'perfect' :-)

We are so pleased you enjoyed everything we have to offer and look forward to seeing you next year. You will love the Bathampton Mill even more in summer time.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFOSG
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The Old Workshop was in the ideal location for visiting Bath the bus stop is right outside and they run frequently. The property was clean and comfortable with a lovely view from the lounge window. We were given lots of information and booking was easy. We had a minor problem with the toilet during our stay but the maintenance man sorted it quickly. Like other people we found the showers a bit temperamental. A lovely place for a weekend break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Showers
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thanks Jane and glad you enjoyed your stay. The shower thing is a bit of a puzzle for us as when we test them we can't find anything wrong. Sorry if they were not as you would have liked - we will undertake more investigation. Regards
John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
127kitty
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great little cottage. Beautiful view from lounge window. Plenty of space for 4 although I might struggle in the twin room if I were staying for a week. Beds were comfortable. Lovely touch providing milk, bread, butter, eggs and wine. Plus tea and coffee available so no need to panic about bringing own.

Not so keen on the showers but possibly because I'm spoilt by mine at home. Not very powerful and temp control ad hoc.

We walked into Bath along the canal the othe other side of Bathampton (approx 1hr) then caught the Poulteney Weir boat back to Bathampton (stops running end of Oct). The village was peaceful and local pub (Mill) great for dinner.

If you are looking for a really comfortable place to stay within easy reach of Bath via regular buses I would highly recommend this cottage. Driving and parking round Bath itself is a nightmare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality
Liked least: Showers
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thanks Teresa, we appreciate the review. Pleased you did the canal walk and the river boat - they are both real treats. The electric showers are the best we could buy, so hopefully reasonably ok for you, but admittedly not as powerful as a really good mains water one or from a tank. Both bedrooms can be made up as twins or doubles so if you stayed again on your own you could have one super king bed, which is rather luxurious :-)

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keey05
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and cosy”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A very pleasant stay.....just a short stay from Bath city centre..
When we arrived the house was lovely and warm and their was a lovely greeting package of tea, coffee, milk and a bottle of wine..
The beds were very comfortable and after a day's sight seeing it was nice to have a good nights sleep..fresh for the next day...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thanks Ann. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the beds so comfortable. We have invested a lot in them as we believe it is very important to enjoy a really comfortable bed, so we are pleased you noticed :-)

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian J
1 review
“Excellent base for a visit to Bath”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We enjoyed our stay very much. It's a nice, quiet and comfortable place to stay. The facilities (kitchen, bathrooms, and bedrooms) were very good. The only issue we had was figuring out the shower hot/cold water control system, but it did work okay. A very good location if your driving to the area. The area is very scenic and you can walk or jog through the country side among the grazing sheep. The trip into Bath (or back) only takes a few minutes by taxi. A ten minute walk down the road there is a place to take a scenic river boat ride into the center of Bath, for our ride the boat captain/ tour guide was very informative and entertaining. There are also a couple of pubs, a small grocery store, and a good restaurant / take-away place (The Fat Friar) that's open late all about a 5 minute walk down the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very accurate and detailed instructions were provided plus helpful information and suggestions about getting around, nearby stores,and places to visit.
Liked least: Although it did work, the shower control was little tricky.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thanks for the review Brian, which we really appreciate. Glad you made the boat trip - it's a real treat isn't it?

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$199
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing