We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The consummate getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage
Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Lots of stone and wood and a super comfortable King size bed!
Cosy living area with lots of character
Small but perfectly formed. Plenty of room for a cosy weekend or a longer break
Another view of the kitchen/living area. Some of our guests have said it's much bigger than it appea
A great place to relax or have fun!
The Smeg oven is 'state of the art'! A pleasure to use.
Pamper yourself here
Getting an idea of the quality?
Quirky spiral staircase
We've tried to think of lots of nice little touches which make a difference
One of our many enthusiastic testimonials from couples enjopying a romantic break
Another one of our many glowing testimonials from our satisfied clients
This is the former butcher's shop, which is at the front of the same building.
This was the building at the turn of the 20th century!
The Roman Baths. It's just as beautiful in the day.
One of the reason so many people come to Bath! The unique roof top Spa - pure indulgence.
Bathampton Mill is just a few minutes walk from the Saltings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JBAH82
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“The consummate getaway”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I brought my partner here as part of a surprise trip for her birthday in mid-July and could not have had a better stay. We utterly fell in love with Bath itself: so wonderfully welcoming and stunning was it, with as much to do for the resident as the tourist, that we are now making plans to re-locate there within the next two years.

However, our trip would not have been complete without the icing on the cake that was The Saltings, of course. After a hard day at the Thermae Bath Spa, it was very nice to arrive to a crisp bottle of white wine to relax with. The other fresh food products that were also provided came very much in handy too.

The property itself was as charming and delightful as the photographs show, if not more so. My girlfriend was so blown away by it when we arrived (I had previously hinted that we might be camping), that she sat, gobsmacked, for a full fifteen minutes - I cannot remember when she was last quiet for that long without an argument preceding it! The fixtures were of an excellent quality and we did not want for any utensils that were not provided. The bed and sofa were both very comfortable, I even managed my first night of sleep into double figures of duration since my teens, and the shower was of ample power to wake oneself up in the morning, with thick cotton towels to dry off that did not go unnoticed.

Batheaston is a very cute village and the riverside stroll to Bathampton Mill well worth doing. The walk into Bath is also straightforward for anyone of reasonable mobility and we used this method on every occasion bar one, when the bus from right outside the property provided welcome relief for Rachel's high heels.

The surrounding villages are also very beautiful, my only regret was that we were unable to find the nearby farm shop on the day we left so I had to head back to Cambridgeshire sans proper cheddar and cider.

Our trip was beyond perfect and The Saltings really did complete the package. I would advise that potential guests do pack their belongings into suitable luggage for transporting up a spiral staircase, while enjoying the additional appeal that this feature offers. My only possible moan would be that the wifi was very patchy and often not working at all, but when you're somewhere like this, who wants to spend their whole time messing about on the internet?

When it comes to answering the question of would I recommend it to a friend, I can already answer that I have recommended it to everyone who I have discussed the break with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience.
Liked least: The lack of wifi connectivity.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2013
We are all tingly, just reading your review. We can't imagine how anyone could be more complimentary and we are sure your eloquence has added an extra dimension to our testimonials.

We can understand why Bath had such an impact on you as it is a very special place, both to live in and visit. And it's very exciting to think we may play a small part in one of your future life decisions! John is very active and knowledgeable of the Bath property market, so when the time comes, he would be very pleased to help you in any way he can.

The next time you come, you will hopefully find the WiFi a little more reliable, as we have ordered a booster which should make the signal's penetration of the thick stone walls in the Saltings somewhat easier.

Please keep in touch with us.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jim2750
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely location, lovely cottage.”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This property had all you could want for a peaceful break. The welcome pack was great and really enjoyed the wine! The property had all you require for a nice relaxing break. This area's attraction's are very varied and enjoyed the walks into Bath along the canal. The trips to Wells and Stonehenge were great and enjoyed trip's to Clifton(Bristol) and Oxford. If you are in the area you must visit The American Museum outside Bath a very under rated museum with great exhibitions and very excellent staff. Bathampton Mill great for food and drink's and only 10 mins. walk away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Maybe another small chair in lounge area / wi-fi access improved
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We are glad you took in so many sights whilst you were here - it's amazing how much there is. We are still finding new places after being here for decades! Hope to see you back again to continue your exploration!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkiS198...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Honeymoon”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed here for our suprise honeymoon paid for by our bestman and maid of honor back in June 2012. It was a lovely, relaxing time and the accomodation was clean and very welcoming. The owner met us upon arrival and was incredibly inviting and helpful. We didn't use the car once after we arrived until the day we left, everything was only a bus ride or cab journey away. We had such a lovely time on our surprise honeymoon, we even had a honeymoon baby!! We would highly recommend the saltings for a break away and time to relax.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and tidy accomdation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
Nice to hear from you - our star guests! We are so pleased the Saltings provided the right environment for you and we hope you will come and see us again as a family in one of our other properties. All the best for the future. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bantam197...
bradford
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

For a trip to Bath or the surrounding area, this is an excellent place to stay. It's a cosy retreat for any couple and we would stay again. I would have given the full 5/5 but despite advertising wi-fi, the property doesn't have it's own router, meaning the signal is patchy at best (unless you are upstairs by the window, you will not get a signal). Apart from that it was a superb place to stay & a generous welcome pack from the owners is a lovely touch

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming pack
Liked least: Poor wi fi signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry about the WiFi. Just lately the signal has been weak and we can't work out why as previously it's been fine throughout the Saltings. We are working on it and hopefully next time you come it will be back to normal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WillHamil...
Ash,Kent
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to stay.”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed here over Badminton Horse Trials. So much care has been taken to ensure that a vacation here is perfect! We loved it, although another time I would take a smaller case to take up the spiral staircase to the lovely bedroom! There is everything you want here; washing machine, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, even a coffee percolator. Flat screen tv with a dvd player and some dvds. Music player upstairs. Private parking just outside.The list is endless! All sorts of tips for local walks, cycling, sightseeing, pubs etc etc are included in a welcome pack.. Really recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet situation.
Liked least: Nothing!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and thank you for your compliments. It is great when all our efforts are appreciated. Hope we can see you again soon.

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing