We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
119
34
2
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
34
2
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages minute drive modern amenities watching the sunset traditional cretan location is great beaches vacation sample crete ierapetra gorge sea tavernas accommodation shade
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We spent a week at the cottage and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottages are comfortable and have all the necessary appointments. The kitchen is small but we were able to cook most of our meals. We especially enjoyed the view from the cottage overlooking the sea. If you plan to stay here a car is best, getting to the beach is quite a walk especially on the way back as it is steep. We went off season so it was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: We had the larger cottage which had plenty of room. it is probably the quietest too.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 255057Anne_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioanna M, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Dear Anne Marie,
thank you so much for your kind words and excellent rating. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your cottage and the sea view it offers to the libyan sea. Hope to see you agin in the near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

We just returned from a beautiful weeks stay at the Koutsounari traditional cottages. The cottages are beautifully furnished to compliment traditional authentic architecture & is wonderfully clean with lots of added touches such as breakfast for the next morning left in the room on arrival.

The cottages are set in Koutsounari village and serve as a tranquil base to explore the beaches along the nearby coastline and the rest of the island.

Loanna was a brilliant host very lovely and attentive and helped us by recommending things to do & see. We will defiantly be back!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioanna M, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear Catherine R,
thank you for sharing your experience at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages. We are delighted to read that you have found the place Ideal and appreciated our little touches that show our attention and concern. Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Best regards,
Ioanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

We enjoyed the comfort and serenity of a 'superior' cottage with an interrupted view towards the sea. Ioanna made us feel very welcome and offered lots of useful tips on places to visit and local tavernas.

The cottage was spacious and furnished in a manner that made us feel totally at home. The architecture is of an authentic traditional style and the courtyards and plants are very well maintained

The veranda area afforded a panoramic view of the sea. The mountains provide a spectacular backdrop to the village of Koutsounari, which is a handy base from which to explore mountain villages likes Agios Ioannia, as well as the beaches and the nearby town of Ierapetra.

The cottage provides adequate self-catering facilities, and we prepared some of our own meals with fresh local produce purchased at the local market in Ierapetra.

Overall, a very relaxing stay over a period of seven days.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank empe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ioanna M, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear emp e,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages.
We are flattered by your kind words. It always gives us a great pleasure to hear that our guests had a relaxing stay and that we contributed on that. We will be waiting to welcome you back.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Each room has a double bed and 2 single beds so easily fits 4. Location is great and the views are fantastic. Joanne, thank you for your recommendations. The tavernas and beaches are spectacular. And in the cottage there is homemade marmalade which is delicious!!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannaMadala, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Dina,
thank you so much for your kind words and excellent rating. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay at ours and enjoyed the beautiful beaches around us. My mother, Dora, is really happy that you loved her homemade marmalade. Hope to see you again soon in the near future. Best regards,
Ioanna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

These cottages are ideally located for good beaches with crystal clear water and beach side tavernas offering high quality traditional and modern Cretan food at fair prices
The cottages are cool and comfortable, very well equipped and spotlessly clean. They are located on a peaceful hillside with good sea views. Ioanna the manager is extremely helpful, knowledgable and flexible.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoannaMadala, Manager at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you very much for your excellent review and kind words. It was a pleasure having you at ours. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Koutsounari Traditional Cottages, as well as the surrounding area. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews