We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
51
88
42
31
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
88
42
31
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animation team water slides sunshine beach nice family hotel small kids negative reviews sister hotel cleaned daily quiet location great holiday sea front suitable for families beach hotel great choice beach bar denis pools
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Very nice and clean place, food is good. Best animation team. They are full of energy and you will never get bored. Always find some new ideas to make your day happier.
I will definitely go back there someday.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vassilikiz, Vassiliki Zempekou at Sunshine Crete Village, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thanks for your comments!We appreciate it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

From the start i wil like to say thanks to the animation team they make my holiday much beter special thanks to Miky and Denis, Katerina and Nela plus the rest of his team they work very hard all day and in the night they have good shows the food was so good and the staf in the restaurant nice and polite the barman staf very nice and hard working the rooms ar in good conditions and clean

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2017

Dear Victor,
Thanks for your comments!We will infrom our Animation team about compliments !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a three day trip and the highlight of our stay was the very friendly staff! I even forgot something in our room and they posted it to me immediately after I called them to check if it was found. Great staff, nice pools, fantastic beach. A few downsides to this place...the immense size and lots of stairs. We were with our toddler and basically carried him everywhere because of the amount of stairs. Not greatly stroller friendly. Also the hotel is old so the bathrooms were not great at all. The public bathrooms were even worse. Filthy. The food and buffet was adequate and warm and varied. Cant expect super quality in these places so it was fine. The kids playground needs a revamp and the mini club a good clean! It was very very dirty. Wifi? Non existent and only available in certain hotspot areas. All in all we had fun and enjoyed our stay on the whole. Thanks to all the staff that were really hard working and great!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank aquakat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Booked through a company called On The Beach, in which was rated 5 star hotel. After paying nearly £700 for a weeks all inclusive holiday, we were yet to be outraged by the outdated rating we had foreseen. I wasn't expecting everything to be expensive as hell, but it seems like this hotel is on a bit of a budget for their guests. Well, the very few guests the hotel had in, as it was empty the entire time we were staying there.

The journey from Heraklion airport felt like forever, as it was 4 hours long on a mini bus, which wasn't ideal when we had just stepped off a 4 hour plane journey from England. We arrived at our lovely "5 star hotel" at 3 in the morning. On arrival the lobby itself looked very modern and posh, which was very deceiving. We were greeted by a friendly member of staff, who escorted us to our rooms and offered us a sandwich, an apple and a big bottle of water incase we were hungry/thirsty, which was really nice. As the website said we were entitled to free wifi, we didn't think of to ask when we got there we simply connected and that was it. Until the second day, when it asked us to pay. 30 euro each for 7 days for 1 device. It was a shock to us, as we had both brought our laptops as well as phones in order to stay connected to family and friends back home. Plan ruined! The rooms them selves were actually quite nice we got a mountain view for the balcony, which was beautiful to wake up to every morning. However, if you are looking for a hotel that accompanies for German/Russian families, then maybe this hotel is for you.

When reading up on the description of the hotel, there was meant to be an open pool bar, spa, a selection of shops, mini market, games room, and children's play area. However, for the first 6 days of our time at Sunshine Calimera, the shops/mini market/jewellery store was shut. The spa itself was shut. The open pool bar was not in use. The games room smelled horrific, not to mention the air hockey table was actually broken. Not that we would be using the children's play area, as we are both in our twenties, but if I had a child I would definitely not be letting them any where near the swings as they had been tied on with rope and just looked generally unsafe. To think we had payed for all of these facilities to be included in the price we had payed in this hotel was a disgrace in itself, as we had not received anything of the sort.

As it was an all inclusive hotel, all drinks and meals were included in the price. When reading up of what type of drinks and meals are included, we found that it was meant to be "locally sourced" greek food and drinks. We have been to many islands in Greece, and love Greek food. So initially we thought traditional Greek food would be served, and at least Mythos would ONE OF the beers served all inclusive. Later to be found out there was ONLY a German pilsner, served in plastic disposable glasses, in which we poured our selves. The spirits were questionable, served out of big brandless bottles, and as i'd just read a story on the news of a girl going blind in Zante off dodgy booze, I did not want to take any chances. The wine was also not locally sourced, just 'white wine', 'red wine', and 'rose wine', which tasted cheap and nasty. The only Greek food in the canteen was the Greek salad, the rest was definitley not culturally appropriate for the place we were apparently visiting. As I'm pretty sure schnitzel isn't Greek food. Because the included food and drinks were a disappointment, we decided to eat out every night at different Tavernas in the area, and buy nice alcohol from the supermarket along the road for our rooms. This resulted in costing us an additional £300, just to enjoy our holiday here in Crete.

There were events on night times, plays and discos, in which were all spoken in German and/or Russian, so we couldn't participate. The pool itself was freezing cold, which was probably why no one was in it ever. There isn't much about the area, about 4 or 5 Tavernas, 2 supermarkets, and a pool bar along the road at Kakkos Bay hotel, which is rated 4 stars and immaculate. Infinity pools, own beach, pool bar with actual spirits, beer, amazing cocktails and experienced bar staff. It honestly baffles me how our hotel was rated 5 star, as it was literally scraping 2 stars at maximum.

If you are thinking about staying at this hotel, I wouldn't bother. Save your money and go else where, as this hotel looks abandoned. Not worth the amount we payed with the facilities and quality we didn't receive. Rubbish.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Hannah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

As Creta is one of the most beautiful pearl of Greece, this hotel is the place you must avoid absolutely
According to European standards, it would not even get one star
It's a typical post Soviet hotel never maintained, nor cleaned and particularly unsafe for child
If you want to use the mini club, better your child will speak German otherwise he will feel lonesome
Food is really not refined especially if you compare with Greeck standard
A pics are thousand times better than words, please see a best off

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
7  Thank cyril4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews