We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
145
162
88
57
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
162
88
57
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stunning views water pressure choice of restaurants hired a car half board greek sea balcony
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Italian managed hotel. Excellent food of both Greek and Ital it an cuisine. Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Variety of entertainment but all in Italuan ! Own secluded beach. Local beaches with watersports facilities close by. No Brits !

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank LouisaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Had to celebrate our wedding anniversary where we had the most amazing wedding here on the beach last year.
As ever, the location is beautiful and the staff are friendly and always helpful with a smile, no matter how busy.
The main dining room has been updated and was a better layout. Food as good as ever.
Thanks again for giving us the same room. We will be back again

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2017

Dear Nicola C,

Thank you for the positive review that you have shared with us.
Firstly, we would like congratulate you for your wedding anniversary, it’s a very big honor you have chosen to celebrate one of this very special day in your life in our establishment.
Furthermore, we thank you for praising our location and the beautiful view which promote relaxation.
Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Sunny regards,
Guest Relation
Istron Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I stayed in May 2017 as part of a large group that were touring the east of the Island - the trip was organised by a colleague of ours and she got us an amazing deal as we were slightly out of season. The setting for the hotel was lovely, with all rooms and the restaurant/bar looking out onto the sea. The location is quiet, secluded, and perfect for anyone that wants a break away from it all! The beach at the foot of the hotel was particularly lovely and the outdoor pool was kept nice and clean.

Personally I had a large ensuite room with a comfortable bed and a small balcony, with a welcome plate of water, fruit and biscuits. The room was cleaned every day and they only took the towels that I indicated (which is great as it is not usually the case in hotels, despite their promises of being environmentally conscious!).

Our package included buffet-style breakfast and dinner and I was impressed by the variety of food choices on offer, lots of fish and meat but also fresh salads, bread and even ice-cream. The bar was also nice and all of the staff were very accommodating and friendly. As I was there at the start of the holiday season I can't comment on the entertainment facilities for families, etc., but it did appear that they were working hard to get ready for the summer months!

Finally, I would also recommend the small spa in the hotel - Vicky was great and really accommodating for our group, staying late many evenings to fit us all in! She was very professional, good value and a great masseuse.

The only real issues I have are small and probably easily addressed; firstly, the coffee needs to be improved as it is very weak and not what one would expect from an Italian-owned facility! Secondly, the wifi signal is poor in the bedrooms, you have to hang out over the balcony to get any sort of signal - which maybe a good thing if you want a quiet get away!

Overall a lovely stay and a big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstronBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Istron Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Kerri C,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the valuable readers here on TripAdvisor. It is truly exciting to receive reviews like yours!
The way you detailed our quiet, convenient location couldn't have been said any better, and echoes so closely one of the top reasons our guests come back time and time again.
Our staff is continuously working for guest's happiness and your precious comments will help us to improve our services.
Look forward to welcoming you back very soon, in good health and spirit.

Warmest regards,
Guest Relation Istron Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I was there from 4-11 May with a group, and we all had room s facing the sea, with terraces. The decor was being repainted, but was clean and the bathrooms worked with good water pressure. The food (breakfast and evening buffet) was good, fresh and varied, with lots of choice. The staff were courteous, efficient and helpful and spoke English, German, Dutch and Italian,among other languages. As a group we had a deep discount, but the standard prices posted on the room doors seemed very high.

Room Tip: All have sea views. They are quite large with good storage. You pay 15 Euros extra for a safe box. They are very clean
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cromagnon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstronBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Istron Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Cromagnon53,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
The way you detailed our quiet, convenient location couldn't have been said any better, and echoes so closely one of the top reasons our guests come back time and time again.
Moreover, it is a delight to know that you were especially satisfied with our staff’s work and service, as we always do our utmost to accommodate our guest’s needs.
It’s always a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Guest Relation Istron Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We celebrated our wedding at Istron Bay Hotel in late August 2016. The owners, Birgit and Panagiotis, as well as all staff, were extremely helpful and accommodating in the planning of all the details concerning food, music, decoration and accommodation of our wedding guests. Before and after the wedding day we stayed together with our families and friends for holidays at Istron Bay Hotel and enjoyed the beautiful location, great pool (both for swimming and for small children), the well maintained facilities, the private beach, the warm hospitality, the tasty food and the tasteful cultural programme offered by the hotel. Prices were more than fair for such an excellent experience.

Concerning food: The menu offers a rich selection of Greek and European dishes, accompanied by a variety of quality wines and outstanding beer brewed in Greece in accordance with the Bavarian Purity law of 1516. The fresh seafood was excellent and the hotel organised barbecue evenings. Birgit and her team were happy to take into account special food and drink requests for events.

Concerning rooms: All rooms offer sweeping views of the Gulf of Mirabello which was very appreciated by our wedding guests. Comfortable beds, large terraces, spacious rooms and bathrooms and cleanliness are great advantages. Istron Bay offers the choice between rooms or suites in the main hotel building and bungalows/ family apartments in the well kept lush gardens.

Activities/Service: The hotel includes several great bars/cafés, in particular a rooftop cocktail bar for enjoying sundowners, a beach bar/restaurant and a poolside bar for refreshments. A cultural and sports programme including yoga, dance classes, language classes, children animation, scuba diving, boat rental, beach volleyball, massages and much more is offered. We experienced an all around outstanding service, with owners and staff genuinely caring for the well-being and enjoyment of their guests. Many languages are spoken.

Location/accessibility: The hotel is located at around 20 minutes drive from Agios Nikolaos. It is a good starting point for exploring central and eastern Crete and close to several great hiking trails. Car rental is available at the hotel for fair prices - we rented a convertible as a wedding car and had it decorated by a local florist.

We would recommend staying at Istron Bay Hotel to everyone: families with young/teenage children, couples and solo travellers, whether you are looking for a relaxed beach holiday, an active holiday or a special event.

Room Tip: All rooms offer sweeping sea views. Choice between rooms or suites in the main building and bungalows/ family apartments in the gardens.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Gundion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IstronBayHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Istron Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Gundion,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the valuable readers here on TripAdvisor. It is truly exciting to receive reviews like yours!
Congratulations on your wedding day! Congratulations on the start of something beautiful! We are so happy that the two of you have found love in each other and that you chose to celebrate wedding holiday with us. We are delighted to see your praises about the location, the rooms, great facilities but most of all about the staff, whom we are proud of. Thank you! We hope to have you back in the near future and take part in more of your life's celebrations and milestones.
It is an absolute pleasure to know that your overall experience was enjoyable here at Istron Bay Hotel.
It was a big pleasure for us to read your feedback and to see your good notes.

Sincere regards,
Guest Relation Istron Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews