We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
109
84
22
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
84
22
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering no lift pool bar half board noisy dogs my wife and two daughters bar prices are expensive fairly steep climb hire beds dressing table with mirror combi microwave empty bins type smell large beer animation team stayed bed and breakfast dogs barking at night
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We loved the nearby beach in spite of the many steps...wouldn't work well with smaller babies in pushcar but for 3 and 6 year old was great as was the pool even if crowded at times. Apartment clean and all we needed need.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank gerhardbuttner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlves_3HB, Diretor-Geral at 3HB Falesia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Gerhardbuttner,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are truly happy with your kind comments highlighting our location and apartments.

We look forward to welcoming you back at 3HB Falesia Mar!

Kind Regards,
Pedro Alves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed from Aug 10th till 20th and check in was quick and easy polite staff . Apartment good size and clean. Large tv plenty of channels. Aur con in long area great , bedroom only has a ceiling fan which was noisy and dusty but we had it on all the time as temps reached 38 some days. Little points but not enough to make us complain only 11 coat hangers for a family of 4 so pop some in your case. Not enough storage for all our clothes needed a chest of drawers . The cleaners changed towels only each day and made the beds the bedding was not changed the whole 10 days. Also no floors were mopped or sides wiped so I went and bought bleach and cleaning things for myself. No cleaning things to wash pots only 1 tea towel.We did not eat in the apartment at all so not a huge problem for us but if self catering go with supplies. We did get an awful smell in the bathroom but rang reception an maintenance came out twice and appeared to sort the problem the second time.The pool was great and the entertainment team lovely. The view was beautiful and yes there are lots of steps to the beach but not as bad as I had expected as I struggle with bad back but seats and I took my time it was fine. Beach beautiful it was 15 euro to hire 2 beds for the day. We had a massage on the beach it was amazing best I've had worth the 20 euro for 20 mins. The supermarket is a fair trek and walking back up the hill with shopping was no fun so grab a taxi or go at cooler times of the day. If you walk to bottom of hill then turn right to traffic lights then go left you will come to a smaller supermarket 1st and then further along a bigger one but we found the 1st 1 had plenty and same prices so didn't feel the need to go further only the once. If you get the zoomarine package as we did the shuttle bus does not pick you up from the hotel as we thought again go down the hill turn right to the traffic light then right cross the road and the bus stop is there. The bus came at 10.20 (there was an early one we didn't get that though) then the bus back was at 6pm. It was a good 45 mins away on the coach. We went twice and again beds were 15 euro for 2. Lockers were 10 euro . Plenty of places to buy food but we took snacks and our own drinks. Pictures with dolphins , sealions etc after the shows were 25 euro.
We went on a trip booked with building at bottom of hill next to oasis cocktail bar buggy driving 3 hours was 80 euro for 2 you needed you drivers licence and 50 euro deposit which was given back at the end and we enjoyed it but you get very dusty and dirty so don't wear white. We went to Vilamoura for the day and so glad we did it was beautiful marina tons of amazing boats and shops. We spent the whole day there went paragliding which was 40 euro each. Reception got us a taxi which was 20 euro each way but well worth it and happy we went. The hotel food sorry forgot to mention. We went half board and the restaurant itself beautiful ,food what you expect really. Fruits, salads , meats, cheese hot food could have done with being hotter but you couldn't go hungry lots of choice. Breakfast omelette made fresh, pancakes the full English or fruits toast pastry selection. The cakes were so nice and I would have liked to bring each home. Staff lovely and all smiles no complaints at all. They were planting all borders with beautiful plants whilst there it looked lovely and We stayed in block 9 which was perfect in the middle close to everything and very quiet. We would defiantly go back .

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank linzic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlves_3HB, Diretor-Geral at 3HB Falesia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear Linzi c,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are truly happy with your kind comments highlighting our lovely staff, location and entertainment.

On behalf of our whole team, we thank you for your comments as they give us the motivation to continue our daily work - to provide our guests memorable experiences!

We look forward to welcoming you back at 3HB Falesia Mar!

Kind Regards,
Pedro Alves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

we stayed at Falesia Mar in mid July, the rooms were large and airy, somewhat cleaned daily....a mop around the floor would have been nice, utensils were a bit lacking if you wanted to self cater, but we were booked half board, breakfasts were simple and got a bit boring towards the end of the week, plenty of selection, it was just the same selection....we skipped breakfast twice, opting for a lie in instead, we ate dinner most evening in the restaurant, the food was always hot and fresh, lots of fresh fruit too, service was good, the staff were great and accommodating....Peter, Gustav?? tattoos etc (i think thats his name).....and a lovely young lady (also with a piercing and tattoos but i forget her name) were so welcoming and no matter what time of day always had a smile and chat....we loved the beach and rock pooling and werent put off by the steps, there are rest stops and they are pretty wide steps, treat yourself to a donut from the beach sellers :) we found another beach just down the road...when leaving the complex via road, turn left at the bottom of the hill and follow the road to an area with bars and restaurants, the beach there seemed a bit crowded though, but food was good ....my only gripe with Falesia Mar was that people going back to their rooms at night passing our door were extremely loud....not much management can do about that i guess, without putting posters up asking people to respect others....which you would think shouldn't need to be done ....all in all it was a great base to enjoy our holiday, I would probably stick to slightly off peak visits as I can imagine it would get crowded and noisy in peak season....which is great if thats what you like, would definetly visit again, the size of the rooms and the staff were the best things and of course the glorious sunshine x

Room tip: no lifts in our block 3 blocks down from reception, but we did have a sea view, large balcony, air conditioning was very effective
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank angie30_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlves_3HB, Diretor-Geral at 3HB Falesia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2018

Dear Angie30_12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are truly happy with your kind comments highlighting our large rooms, food quality and great staff.

We will take your comment into account so that we can improve the point you mentioned.

On behalf of our whole team, we thank you for your comments as they give us the motivation to continue our daily work - to provide our guests memorable experiences!

We are glad to know that you consider return with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at 3HB Falesia Mar!

Kind Regards,
Pedro Alves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Room tip: only 2 hob rings and microwave to cook with!
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PedroAlves_3HB, Diretor-Geral at 3HB Falesia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We're seasoned Algarve visitors having come more or less every year, at different times of the year, for more than 20 years.
This was our first stay at the Falesia Mar by 3HB and our first trip in many years during the peak August period. We were accompanied by our three moody teenagers and booked relatively late through Booking.com

The hotel itself is one several large properties 100 metres or so up the hill from Olhos d'Agua.
At first it's a little difficult to pick it out among the jumble of buildings, and the reception area and convenience store are across the road from the 15 accommodation blocks. At first sight the reception area appears to be part of the adjacent hotel, but things soon become clear once you get your bearings. During our trip in August the access road was often blocked by coaches and minibuses offloading guests so getting in and out by car could be frustrating. The main road up the hill from Olhos is littered with parked cars. Pedestrians have to walk in the road, which isn't particularly well lit at night.
Reception staff are friendly and efficient. The check in process was smooth and fairly quick. You have to pay extra to use the room safe deposit box.

The pool and adjacent sunbathing area are modern, clean and have a fabulous view down to the beach and Atlantic Ocean below. Lots of sunbeds available, though in August we found it difficult to find five together. Parts of the sunbathing area can get 'boggy' due to the overuse of sprinklers. You may get muddy feet! And in August there's not much in the way of peace and relaxation to be had. It's a family resort and so there are a lot of young kids splashing about in the pool, which tends to become milky with all the washed off sun tan lotion. People generally don't respect the 'shower before you swim' notices, even though two showers are available poolside, and during our stay, the 'no inflatables' rule did not appear to be enforced, so any cooling dip was shared with all manner of blow up creatures, rings and lilos. I'm sure that during term time the area would be much quieter and, for adults at least, much more enjoyable. I longed for those bygone days when our kids were small as the infant pool, which is up a level from the main pool appeared to be an oasis of calm with plenty of sun loungers and natural shade from nearby trees.

There's a poolside restaurant and bar, with sunshades. We ate lunch there only once. It's expensive, for what it is. And service was a little 'chaotic' and slow, which put us off eating there again. There are better value meals available a short distance away in Olhos d'Agua.

Just above the pool there's the modern restaurant that serves breakfast and dinner. By booking in advance at reception you can get a discount on dinner, but we chose not to eat there during our stay, opting instead for breakfast in our room and better value local restaurants for lunch and dinner, so I can't vouch for the quality of the food or the atmosphere. There's nightly entertainment on offer there too. It might be yours but it isn't really our thing which is another reason we gave it a miss.

The beach is, as you'd expect in Algarve, clean, sandy and very long. It's possible to walk or run along it from the hotel all the way to Villamoura. It's a public, not a private hotel beach so it tends to get very busy in August and I should imagine at weekends earlier or later in the season. The sand can be quite sharp underfoot with lots of broken shells, so a pair of flip flops is a must. I can't remember the sand being like that in previous years, so I'm assuming that it's something to do with the dredging that has been going and efforts to stop the sea eroding the beaches and the beautiful red cliffs that line the coast. On a couple of days we saw a dredger pumping wet sand into the sea just offshore. Access to the beach for cars is by a steep, dusty track close to the rear of the hotel but parking is limited and very 'ad-hoc'. You'll be lucky to find a spot in August and at weekends. There's a small restaurant down on the sand serving the usual grilled fish, shellfish, salads, toasties and burgers, but the days of cheap and cheerful beach food are long gone and you'll pay a premium for eating with a sea view. It's not outrageously expensive, just not as good value as some of the restaurants serving similar fare in town.

On foot the beach is accessed by a staircase from the hotel pool area. It's a fair climb down - and up again. Not for anyone with mobility problems, limited fitness or pushchairs. We're not particularly lazy or unfit, but the thought of yet another climb back up after a long hot day of sun, sea and sand was enough to put us off after a few days and we began to opt for the car and nearby beaches we know have easier access.

The rooms are somewhat basic, but clean and comfortable. We slept three per room. A double bedroom and a sofa bed in the living area. There's a dining table and four chairs and out on the small balcony there's a small 'yellowing' plastic table and four plastic chairs. The balcony has a small rail to dry beach towels but it wasn't big enough for three, let alone four people.

Each room has a small kitchen, equipped with a small fridge, a basic microwave, a kettle, toaster and two ring cooking hob. However, the supplied pots, pans and utensils aren't enough to cook anything more ambitious than a plate of pasta or scrambled eggs, so don't bank on saving money by self catering. And you'll have to buy yourself some detergent and a cloth/brush to wash up afterwards as these aren't supplied, though a tea towel is. And there are no mugs, only small cups, so tea/coffee lovers beware. Two gulps and you've finished. The cooker hoods in our two rooms were badly positioned and resulted in one or two painful incidents involving heads against wood.

Each room is recently painted and tiled but the furniture is tired. The woodwork is relatively new but we had an incident where a door slamming in the through breeze from the balcony door caused the bedroom door surround architrave to fall out completely. Judging by scratch marks on a framed print hung nearby it has happened before.

We were on the fourth floor of block 15, right at the far reaches of the complex. There is a small lift (thank goodness) and a communal staircase which runs externally down the centre of the building. There are no hand rails on the staircase and the walls on either side are below adult waist height resulting in an unpleasant vertiginous feeling every time you descend. You feel that one small trip and you'd be over the edge. If my kids had been younger and less safety conscious I'd have been very worried. It's not up to modern health and safety standards in my opinion.

Ours was billed a 'garden room'. In reality the garden is an overgrown patch of land, roughly a third of which is roped off to provide additional parking. Not exactly pretty. My advice is to go for a sea view room and avoid buildings 12, 13, 14 and 15. Our block was right next to a local road, which although relatively free of traffic was enough to disturb us early in the morning and late at night. A nearby house has a large dog in its garden which appears to bark at shadows late at night.

I'm guessing that the complex was built in the package holiday heyday where customers were bussed from the airport. These days of course many people book flights, transport and accommodation separately so the main drag through the complex is littered with parked hire cars. There isn't enough room for everyone's car so there's a patch of dusty land at the back of building 15 which acts as an overflow car park. Any vehicle parked here will get covered in dust, as will your footwear as you walk to and from your car. The area is not lit at night and one of our party suffered a nasty foot injury after tripping over an exposed root while walking from the car late at night in flip flops.

Right next to building 14 and opposite our rooms in building 15 is a small patch of land that is being developed. Beyond that, outside the hotel complex a number of homes are being built. This inevitably meant that even in a place as established as Olhos d'Agua we were disturbed each morning by the sound of construction. On one morning near the end of our stay we were disturbed by a fleet of cement lorries delivering their loads to the plot opposite. My advice to you is to insist on a room well away from any construction work. As we were using the hotel more as a base to travel more widely, for us it was a minor inconvenience. But I'd have been heartbroken if we had intended to make Falesia Mar the centre of our holiday.

So, it's a three star hotel which we felt verges on two stars at times. Had we been able to firm up our plans sooner and booked earlier in the year we could have hired a private villa with pool for roughly the same money. Lesson learned.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank Ade2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroAlves_3HB, Diretor-Geral at 3HB Falesia Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Dear Ade2064,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We regret that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay. We are very sorry that you didn't experienced the pleasant stay that we try to provide to all our guests!

We also would like to take this opportunity to clarify that your apartment was located in 3HB Falésia Garden and not in 3HB Falésia Mar. The mention to "Garden" in the invoice was due to the name of the property and not regarding the view. Falésia Garden and Falésia Mar are both parte of Falésia Beach Resort and share the common areas but the apartment buildings are independent and different.

We are truly happy to inform that since your visit we have done several improvements and some of the apartments of Falésia Garden have been fully renewed!

We really look forward to have the opportunity to welcoming you back at 3HB Falésia Garden so you can check the improvements.

Kind Regards,
Pedro Alves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews