We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a great stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of GROVES HALL

Groves Hall from the lawn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Groves Hall from the lawn
Newly refurbished twin bedroom with limed oak floor and gas central heating original art on walls.
Hallway in your accommodation with original art on walls
Your Art Deco bathroom en suite
Georgian fireplace and view of bookshelf
The River Esk at the bottom of our garden, where you can fish for Salmon and Trout
Sunset over the River Esk
Fishing for Salmon on the River Esk at the bottom of our garden
The weir on the River Esk in full force!
Groves Hall entrance hall
Groves Hall mirrored lobby
Autumn in our field
Groves Hall Front door with parking area for three cars
Christmas at Groves Hall
North York Moors Steam Railway goes past four times a day in the summer
Butterflies in the garden
The top terrace, a great sun trap where you can have breakfast in the summer
Our Quince bushes from which we make Quince jelly
Cats on the lawn, Charlie and Mummy..
Near the herb garden
Tulips on the terrace
Spring flowers
House front overlooking the lawn and Badminton net.
Steam trains from North York Moors Railway which goes past the house.
Dressing table in the bedroom
View of Groves Hall from the roadside
View from mezzanine window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sleights, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Por99ter
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good/bad, over priced, inaccurate description.”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Very charming hosts Charles/Numi, breakfasts excellent and varied. Location very nice, water views not strictly correct without walk down difficult garden path. Amenities missing from website list DVD player, VCR, Boat, Grill, Fireplace not useable, balcony not from room.TV very old slow to warm up as was the wifi, TV sat on table limiting already cluttered room space, should be wall mounted. Bookcase holding around 250 to 300 books in room did not read any obviously, should get rid of that and have a wardrobe and draws to put clothes in rather than living out of suitcase under bed for 3 nights, saw one review stayed 6 nights (out of suit case) seemed Ok with it. Not very clean bathroom needs bleach around sink bath, hot water not very hot, bathroom has see thro window to where you have breakfast. Note website photo area of that, how can you have breakfast there without cracking your head on the over hanging lamp I do not know. If you are paying same price consecutive nights I would expect room to be made up daily and towels changed, not the case, but did change towels for third day on request. Downstairs floor area very dirty not a good first sign, talking of signs not one for Groves Hall outside, note roadside of house looks nothing like website photo from garden, so missed it on arrival, but that was my fault as route description correct.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hosts, location, breakfasts.
Liked least: Not clean, nowhere to put clothes, overpriced.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Firstly thanks for choosing to stay with us in September, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the breakfasts and location.

We were very surprised at your comments, as you made no complaints to us about any of them during your stay, although we were there the whole time, and we would have liked to have had the opportunity to deal with them directly, and personally.

To answer your comments;

There is a river view from the lawn, which is a level surface, where you enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine with us.

The fireplace is useable but the weather was warm, and we thought the central heating sufficient. We could have rectified this if you had wished a fire.

The boat is on the towpath next to the river. Which we could have pointed out to you.

We have never mentioned a balcony in our description.

The TV is not old, nor does it take time to warm up. If you asked how to use it we would have been happy to advise, as we were on hand during the whole of your stay.We are sorry the TV was not wall mounted.

The internet is also not old, but as we are in the Esk Valley the wifi sometimes is a bit uncooperative.

The bookcase is for our guests who enjoy reading, and has rare titles on local history, flora and fauna, as well as general interest hardbacks. These are all carefully selected, and there for our guests to use.

The bathroom had been bleached, and cleaned as always and was not dirty.

If you had mentioned the hot water, I could have shown you how to set it for the temperature required.

To bring natural light into the bathroom, we have installed Edwardian stained glass windows, which are both decorative and very effective.

As to the ceiling light, the table is positioned beneath it, so that it is impossible to 'crack your head' on it.

I changed towels after the first night for you on request, though you will find that good hotels and BnBs now ask guests to reuse towels whenever possible for the sake of the environment. This is the lead we are following.

The entry hall, reception, and our kitchen have been laid with natural Travertine marble which has naturally occurring flecks of different colouring in it, and is washed daily, so I cannot understand the comment on the lack of cleanliness.

We have taken on board your review and now have a new sign for Groves Hall, and have installed a chest of drawers in the bedroom.

We are happy to receive constructive criticism from our guests, but we are very troubled by your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tommy H
1 review
“Had a great stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed one night and a good time lovely people. Charles & Numie lovely couple made us very welcome thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Thanks for choosing to stay with us.Next time, stay longer as there is so much to see in the area!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorraine...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm welcome with a wow factor!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just had the one night here on a spur of the moment trip up to Whitby. We were lucky to land here at Grove Hall. The welcome from Charles Numi and Aphra is second to none and their chateau style house is a wondrous place! Lovely to share it for a few hours. Many thanks for being such friendly hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The amazing welcome
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
We were very pleased to have you! We have been working on landscaping the garden as the weather has been so good at the moment, and I have been taking time off from The Stonehouse Emporium to enjoy the sunshine.You are now V.I.P guests and get special deals on return visits. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntF51
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave :(”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 6 nights and wished it was more! Numi and Charles made us feel very welcome from start to finish. We loved the location and accommodation - breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Esk valley was idyllic. The room had everything we needed and the decor throughout reflected Numi's eye for design and Charles' photographic prowess. As hosts, they were great to chat to, but never intrusive. Thanks for getting the perfect balance!
PS I'll miss that fantastic porridge in the morning!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Setting, breakfast, hosts
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Lovely to have such nice guests, who are so easy to feed!! I have just done the same porridge and fruit compote for one of our guests for the second day running,- you have started a trend!
You are now V.I.P guests, and will receive discounts on further bookings.Happy Summer :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alibryce2...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“quirky, friendly and charming country cottage”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at groves hall for one night as we were at a wedding in sleight. On arrival we received a warm welcome and Charles helped us plan our stay for the weekend. The beds were extremely comfy and the gardens were beautiful. I shall definitely be returning for another visit if we ever get back to sleight.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2015
We loved having you, and pleased you would consider staying with us again.We worked hard this summer on the garden, so there will be lots of nice surprises for you the next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing