We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
10
52
44
23
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
52
44
23
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here bread bacon eggs reception area average breakfast buffet plenty of parking cool down free parking standard harbour ferry cheese oslo chinese driver september
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Returned to this hotel after many years to be very pleasantly surprised by the updates and renovation. The downstairs lobby is a very pleasant spot to sit and chat. Free coffee is provided all day.

Plenty of parking and very fast wifi -- both included in the price.

The breakfast was really good. It had all the standards -- yogurt, smoked salmon, bread, eggs, bacon -- but also had some surprising additions. There was a spot to juice your own oranges for fresh orange juice, as well as avocado to make avocado toast! It was just a really nice twist on the traditional Norwegian breakfast.

Best of all were the very friendly and accommodating staff.

Overall, a great visit.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torgeir B, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Horten, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Heather

Thank you for the feedback and a good description of our hotel. It is good to see that you like the changes since your last visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

I Visited Horten for a friends funeral, so it was great to find very helpful and accommodating staff at the hotel. We had 6 single rooms booked and the hotel allowed us to checkout late, due to the circumstances and our travel arrangements.

Breakfast choice was good and and the food it's self was of good standard. I had the smoked Salmon, which was very good.

Hotel was very clean and modern.

Bedrooms are standard size. The only complaint I have is that the pillows were not great...but really this is the only thing I can fault. All in all I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 41PaulA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torgeir B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Horten, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Paul

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Nice place. Small room is true, maybe it can be a problem to families with small children to share the room. Good staff and excellent breakfast. Many options and excellent breads. Try the salmon with cream cheese. Really good.
I would definitely recommend this hotel in Horten.

Room tip: If you want a quiet room, go to the back of the hotel. Many buses in front. If you prefer the view to the sea, go to the front.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luizcarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torgeir B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Horten, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Luizcarioca

Thank you for your feedback and kind words. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Have stayed at this hotel for a 3 nights in February. The hotel is decent enough and food is fine. The rooms are clean, warm and functional, albeit small. The hotel is located at the Ferry port which is convenient if you are planning to continue your trip with a ferry across Oslo Fjord.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rskarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torgeir B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Horten, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear Rskarcia

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here one night on business. All the staff were pleasant especially at check in. The room was fine clean and perfectly useable but no atmosphere. Breakfast was the was the usual buffet of cold meats, cheese and croissants.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jerrywickwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torgeir B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Horten, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Dear jerrywikwar

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews