We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hummingbirds, bananaquits, pelicans and tropic...”
Front of the house with pool and 4 apartments
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the house with pool and 4 apartments
Sunset on the beach View out from the porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Front of the house with pool and 4 apartments
Sunset on the beach
View out from the porch
View from the livingroom
Livingroom
Kitchen corner
Kitchen corner in Bluebird
Bathroom
Master bedroom
Small bedroom
Garden flowers by the walkway
The pool and the beach
Gate out to the beach
Romantic area
Sitting area in the garden
Flowering musianda
Hummingbird on Cordiaflower
Nice view from the pool.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Black Rock, Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
embaker20...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hummingbirds, bananaquits, pelicans and tropic birds - a fantastic introduction to the Caribbean”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had an amazing, relaxing time at the Pride of Courland. As a family of 5 it is hard to find accommodation but this suited our needs perfectly. Steve picked us up from the airport so our arrival was smooth and stress free. The fridge was stocked with eggs and bacon for breakfast as well as juice, beer and soft drinks and other essentials. The kids were in the pool before we'd even got the bags up the stairs! As the sun set that evening we were able to sit back, enjoy the view, the glorious Caribbean sunset and relax to the sound of the waves. Theodora arrived the next morning and took me shopping so I could see where to get groceries and which stalls were selling things at good prices. She helped us adjust to being in the Caribbean and helped hook us up with a car rental or taxis. We had lovely meals out at Grafton Beach (an easy walk) and the kids enjoyed snorkelling and had a beach BBQ just outside the apartment. The wildlife was stunning and we felt really safe and well looked after. The kids loved being able to pick fresh mangoes and passion fruit but the best thing was the snorkelling and wildlife. We spent the following week in a lodge in the rainforest so were glad we'd had a week to adjust to the climate and way of life first. Swimming at Castara beach we swam with stingrays who were just as interested in us as we were in them, Snorkelling above Angel Reef from Speyside with a glass bottomed boat trip was also really worthwhile (and less touristy than the ones from Store Bay which were fun but more about the music and beach BBQ than the wildlife). Definitely the most amazing holiday we have ever had and I'm sure we'll be back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scasper34
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Minnesota”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First of all I will say I like this place
However things are weird at first
There is no address so you will have to go with Steve to show you the way ( you will never find it yourself) and the first time you leave make some mental notes or you will never find your way back. We took pictures
The property is beautiful and well kept but like a fortress it makes you think your in a very bad area. However we never felt threatened or uncomfortable. In fact the people are very friendly and helpful
The food in the fridge was very helpful
Because we were very hungry the first night and didn't want to go out
Paper towels , foil and scrub pad would have been nice
The beach is nice but it was way to rough
To swim there I would recemend renting a car. When out try a doubles or chicken rolie
They are good local fast food
Have fun but lock the gate

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatriotDa...
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Location - Beautiful Amenities”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Pride of Courland was gorgeous and we would consider the stay again. No place is absolutely perfect, and no reasonable person should expect perfection. Great place and great people!

Benefits:
--> Location, Location, Location - lovely beach front, well kept grounds and private pool. The kitchen was very reasonable and well stocked. Theadora is very nice and was extremely helpful. Steve also was very helpful and extremely tolerant when I mistakenly had our departure for the airport later than intended.
--> Crime was not a concern at all. We walked four times to Prospect on the road at night. And while there were some concerns about the speed of cars driving near us. We quickly acclimated. We met Scouty (Aka: Anson Alfred) who was the local (hopeful) singing artist and very nice. Everyone was very kind and almost always greeted us. The next door neighbor Curtis makes nice carvings and we bought three (ensure you have him varnish the pieces for easy export). At first we were nervous about locals sitting outside the gate on the rocks of the beach, but then we realized they were just enjoying their day and it was not a concern.

Recommendations:
--> Paper towels would of been nice. (No worries, we bought some.)
--> Aluminum foil would be nice (to keep the toaster oven cleaner).
--> A scrub sponge would be nice (although we did find one in the gutter outside on the patio). No worries, we bought one.
--> Apartment contacts were unclear. For sure, Steve and Theadora are the two main contacts for everything.
--> A blender would be awesome.
--> Provide food, shopping and excursion recommendations (it was trial and error for us; but only one error).

Tips:
--> Theadora had trouble reaching us the first part of the week (we were busy with excursions); reach out to her to establish expectations.
--> Don't set the alarm. The instructions to disable the alarm were unclear and the code to turn off the alarm was unavailable. We set off the alarm due to the unclear instructions to disable the alarm. Calling Steve fixed everything, but even he wasn't sure about how to turn off the alarm at first (but finally Steve figured out the right code). We asked our neighbors and they also were unclear about disabling the alarm and did not have a remote to turn off the alarm.
--> We had trouble with the gate working from the remote, however we used the gate's door instead with no trouble. We then chose to meet all drivers out at the curb (easier anyway).
--> I would not recommend this property to multiple couples. Only families and single couples. To get to the extra bedroom, one MUST pass directly through the main bedroom.
--> Some taxi's are in the phone (Anthony - Aka: Washington or Washy was excellent)
--> If you like local customs, go to Sunday School in Buccoo!!!!!!! It is a Soca event with food and dancing. Prepare to stay up late, the real party doesn't start until midnight. Do be wary of possible crime here... just be careful.
--> Eat at The Fish Pot (located in Prospect) - do make reservations
--> Eat at Fries (on the corner in Prospect) - excellent owners/chefs and awesome local food.
--> Eat at the stand right next to the grocery store in Prospect for pure awesome local food.
--> Peter Cox is excellent for tours
--> Island Girl is excellent for a Catamaran / Snorkeling trip
--> Big Dougie (Frontier Divers) is outstanding and a local company for scuba diving. Frontier Divers is safe (for newbies), professional and super friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and clean amenities
Liked least: Expectations and communication were unclear and caused confusion
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLBJnu
Juneau, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, clean, great staff, good location.”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Pride of Courland for almost three weeks. We liked the location - in a village between two nice beaches. We bought fruit and essentials in the village and also ate at a little restaurant that had local food and a couple of tables. We also walked over to Pleasant Prospect and ate at restaurants in that area.
We particularly appreciated Theadora, the housekeeper, (cook - if you want her to), and general "make sure you get what you need" person. She cooked a couple of delicious meals for us, was generous in helping us find reliable guides for the excursions that we wanted, and generally, made sure that we were taken care of. She is a gem. The other staff were also efficient, pleasant, and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Your review make us happy, because our main goal are to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay in Pride of Courland, and we appreciate your nice description of our housekeeper Theadora - she is a gem.
Thank you and welcome back !

Kind regards

Edel & Stein
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarmelSth...
Sth Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting but like a secure compound”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A lovely well maintained apartment with great views and good amenities. The downside was the emphatic security measures with burglar alarms inside and out; an electric gate, panic button inside and heavy iron internal security gates(inside the main door. )There's a sign on the wall inside warning you about intruders having been into the house at night from the beach! I had to ask to be talked through setting all these devices and why they were necessary. The apartments are about 10 minutes walk from the nearest basic shop and you really need a car to get about. We didn't feel safe there which may just be a perception but spoilt our stay. Foreign Office advice supports avoiding remote areas or empty beaches in Tobago. The apartment info is in Danish so some English translations would be useful. I'd say this place is fine if you're in a big older family group but not on your own. Support staff were lovely and helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful views and good quality accommodation
Liked least: Remote setting and feeling unsafe
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thanks for your review
Tobago is a paradise and compared to many other islands in the Caribbean the crimerate is still low, but it is not zero.
We therefore on behalf of our guests take precautions and use
modern systems to avoid incidents like breakins and robberies and we hope it is a sucure compound. Most places are gated and secured with alarmsystems. You can like or dislike it, but that how the
word is today - even your own home.

Kind regards

Mr. and Mrs. Foss
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing