We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true taste of Ireland”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballymartin Arms

Front of House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of House
View from front door Living area with woodburning stove set in cut stone fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Front of House
View from front door
Living area with woodburning stove set in cut stone fireplace
Living Area
Fully fitted Kitchen
Dining Area
Dining area
Double Bedroom with Antique Mahogony High Bed
Master Bedroom with Ensuite, complete with King Size Bed
Ensuite to Master Bedroom
Loft with 2 single beds
Main Bathroom
Cheers
Summer time
Living Room
Address & road number
Living area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballinrobe, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Greeneghi...
Motherwell
2 reviews
“A true taste of Ireland”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My self husband mother father uncle and wee dog had a brilliant holiday in this house, Mary has a beautiful holiday home and a beauitful personaility as well
There was everything we needed in the house and much more
So handy for everything and location of house wonderful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. It was a delight having you to stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tammyhous...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“absolutley fantastic cottage, location fab, cleanand comfortable rooms”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

This cottage was everything we needed - a home from home - it had all we required microwave, washing machine, oven, tv etc . it was absolutely clean and in very good maintained order nothing was broken or not working etc. its location was fantastic for us as my family were only 10 minutes away but we were situation along a small road on a farmyard so the views were amazing and the children safe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how clean the cottage was
Liked least: the bad weather
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. It was a delight having you to stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steveh H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“lovely cottage with everything you need including plenty of quiet”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We received a very friendly welcome from Mary who made sure everything was ready for us and she even got the fire going for us. The cottage is very clean and well equipped with plenty of space. There were only two of us but it would have easily accommodated 6 or 7. The location is very convenient - secluded enough not to be isolated with shops at Kilmaine or the bigger ones at Balinrobe. We used the cottage as a base to tour Connemara, Galway and Mayo and even Valentia Island is easily achievable in a day. We would go again. Our security deposit was returned during our stay so no worries there and the price was excellent valus for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space in the cottage - there were only two of us though.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. It was a delight having you to stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth P
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“this is a traditional yet stylish cottage on a working farm near the Irish "Lake District", we loved it.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Very well kitted out, lovely furniture, and well stocked kitchen. Spacious and attractive building. Very friendly owners who attend to everything promptly. We particularly enjoyed lighting the stove for cosiness but there is excellent central heating also.

We loved the area, there are several beautiful lakes nearby, Lough Mask is really shallow and child friendly. We swam and boated there. Cong is an historic and quaint little town, and Ballinrobe, though not as picturesque has terrific amenities for any family.

The third bedroom in the house which has 2 singles is upstairs. these stairs are steep and unsuitable for very small children. This was the only downside I could think of and is offset by the fun and safe location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a quaint spacious property.
Liked least: The stairs!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hjpirelan...
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at this cottage for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage is remote but an excellent base for seeing the area - most places are within a half hour drive e.g. Westport, Galway, Cong, Knock. The owner was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and gave directions. Cottage was spacious and well equipt. Excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Wi-fi not very good
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$55
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing