We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Run ”
Review of Yen Son

Yen Son
Ranked #40 of 137 Restaurants in Duong Dong
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This area can be pretty expensive at times due to the large numbers of tourists. However Yen Son is very reasonable- food seems high quality (we had vegetable spring rolls, sweet & sour chicken and vegetables & rice).

Food naturally is different to how it comes in the UK- this is all cooked fresh to local recipes. Our entire meal came to 245,000 VND including drinks. We enjoyed our meal- as proven in my photo!!

The restaurant itself may not appear to be up to ‘uk restaurant standards’ in terms of cleanliness etc but for Vietnamese standards it’s good.

I would eat there again.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Ate here a few times whilst on Phu Quoc island.

The food is great value and very well cooked and you get plenty

A really full menu of all sorts of Vietnamese and authentic delights

Really worth a visit if your in the area

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

I cannot understand why previous ratings have been so good. Here are some reasons for my disappointment:
1. the drinks we had (lemon juice) were good - except for the dirty spoon und glas they were served with. I am not talking about fingerprints but black residues.
2. we ordered three dishes: fresh springrolls with shrimp, chicken curry and pork rips. I really like springrolls and have them almost everyday, but this is the first time I couldn't even finish a single one. I am not saying the food was bad, but it simply didn't taste well. The curry was as simple mixture of only carrots, potatoes and chicken. Ok. The pork ribs .. ugh ..too much gristle.

Summary: the dishes were prepared insidiply - especially when I consider the price (almost 300000 in total). This was the worst meal within our 3 weeks travel in Vietnam. I'd rather recommend you to eat at "bun cha hanoi"(same street, more to the south)

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Andreas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

3rd time in 4 nights. Friendly affordable tasty authentic food. If you're not sure where to go, go here. Full review to follow!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank KirstieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We ate 2 times here and it was really good! Nice stuff and huge portions! The whole service for about 70000 Dong..

Date of visit: January 2017
1  Thank hulkjulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yen Son also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
 

Been to Yen Son? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing