We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
1,109
234
55
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,109
234
55
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden villa fisherman's village koh samui our honeymoon the open air bathroom bophut beach fruit kebabs wedding planner comfortable sunbeds beachfront room beach boys mosquito net thai food cold towels walk along the beach beach towels thai massage
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Zazen for 5 nights in July and booked 2 Garden Deluxe Bungalows through their website.
The hotel is located at the far end of the bay from the Fisherman’s village (about a 25 min walk). Although the beach is sandy, the sea is not really suitable for swimming in due to all the boats moored there. We tended to use the pool to cool off so it wasn’t an issue for us, but the beach isn’t as nice as Chaweng beach.
The rooms were just back from the beach, near to the pool but quite private. They were beautifully decorated and well equipped. The bottles of water were replenished each day, as were the beach towels. However we felt that the rooms could have been cleaned a little more thoroughly., and we found that you could not hang any full length items in the wardrobe.
The bathroom was very pretty & spa like, with an open gap between the top of the walls and the ceiling. This made it quite airy but also let in the mosquitoes, as there were no mosi netting fitted, which meant we were bitten a lot more than anywhere else that we stayed. Also you had to keep the bathroom door closed at all times to try to prevent the mosis getting into the bedroom. The bed was located on a platform, which had a high step up to, something to consider if you have any mobility issues. That said, it was the most comfy bed I have found in any hotel anywhere.
Breakfast was amazing, a buffet over looking the sea but you could also order from a menu. Most of it was home made, including jams, croissants etc & the service was always very friendly.
We often had a bar lunch in the Rouge Lounge, which was a very cool and chilled out bar over looking the bay. Again the food and service were superb.
The restaurant at the Zazen is renowned on the island, so we booked for the Thai dance show on a Sunday night. At night the restaurant is beautifully lit and quite magical. The show was very good. We had the Thai taster menu, which wasn’t cheap (but nothing on the menu is) but it was a little disappointing. That said the ambiance and service were brilliant, so we had a very enjoyable evening.
Overall we really enjoyed our time at the Zazen, and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay on this part of the island.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank c11ffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to learn that you had a wonderful time in our resort and it is great to read that you liked the rooms with our comfortable beds, our breakfast offerings and lunch options in our Le Rouge Lounge. Thank you for recommending our beautiful Thai Dance Nights in our Zazen Restaurant, which are definitely a highlight. I will be happy to share your lovely comments about the food and service with our Restaurant and Kitchen team, who will be delighted to learn that their services have been so well received.
We highly appreciate your constructive feedback in regards to the bathroom and room layout. We are actually just now planning to place mosquito nets in all our bathrooms.

Thank you again for recommending us and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the near future. Please reach out to me anytime via rm@samuizazen.com and I will be happy to assist you with your booking.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing meal here, ambience is devine. Place is so lovely we came back for a spa treatment which was also fantastic. A very special place indeed. Will be back! The surroundings were simply stunning.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CarolynC2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the food in our Zazen Restaurant and the massage treatment in our Le Spa Zen. Thank you for your lovely words towards the garden areas and surroundings.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Zazen makes you realise what a perfect hotel should be. Busy without being over crowded. The staff are wonderful and the managers engage with as many guests as they can. The rooms are fun, multiple levels, so leave a small light on or grab the torch if you get up in the night. The breakfasts are out of this world and where every need, want or desire is catered for. If you’re looking for a beach side resort with enough charm to make you not want to leave during your time there, look no further.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank H7738MPtomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor.

Your wonderful words are so motivating and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I will make sure to share your positive feedback with the entire team who will be thrilled to learn that their services have been so well received.
Many thanks for recommending our intimate resort and please do reach out to me personally via rm@samuizazen.com and I will be happy to assist you with your next stay with us.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We recently stayed at Zazen Boutique Resort and Spa after having done much research and also after many visits over the years to Koh Samui. We know the island well and we know the kind of place we like to stay....Zazen appeared to hit the brief! Not too big, nice pool, buffet breakfast included, nice self contanied room , on the beach with beach beds, ocean swimming, and within walking distance to restaurants and beach side eaterys!

We arrived late on a Friday night and were shown to our room. Staff were lovely and engaging, helpful without being over the top!

The gardens are beautiful and really lovely little nooks and walkways, and well looked after. Our room looked nice, thai style large elevated bed, and bathroom through some double wooden doors that was part outside but attached to the room, Room had a little verandah with two chairs. Staff light candles and mosquito coils everyday and night.

The room looked good but was very awkward in terms of functionality. The step down from the bed was a large stone...looks really cool, but really difficult to navigate safely in the middle of the night if you need the bathroom. The bathroom door needed to remain shut due to the mozzies, but again was noisy and difficult to operate in the dark of night. We contemplated changing rooms but as ours was close to the pool and beach we stayed where we were. There is also no where to comfortably put your suitcases other than on the floor, which again can get in the way.

Bed was comfortable, room air conditioned, but we both ended by with bites...not sure if they were from the bed or from the sun lounges by the pool!

We slept well, checked out the gym which is great, and then went to breakfast. The "buffect" is very limited, and while there is a menu cooked to order of either egg based dishes, sweet breakfast options (eg pancakes etc) or thai style.. the food was ok, but the limited options make it repetitive after a few days. The cooked options were also inconsistent depending on the chef. The best thing for breakfast was the list of healthy veg/fruit juice options made up in jars...'forever young" and "super slim" or "heart beet" were favourites. The coffee was average.

Next we went to the beach...some sun lounges on beach, fresh beach towels and beach bags in the room to use was great... but the water looked appealing but is full of green algae and some jellyfish were seen...not pleasant to swim in and also smelly....the pictures do not represent reality. There were also lots of boats moored on the beach limiting access.

The pool is nice, staff helpful...but due to the limited beach swimming options, people staying at Zazen come and claim their pool bed early with their towels, then leave them there, again limiting access for all.

We ate dinner in the restaurant one night....one of our standards..thai chicken green curry...was tasteless...again...it had the look and all the ingredients...but no seasoning and very expensive compared to great fare elsewhere (see my review of Cactus)!

Overall this place has on the surface all the ingredients of a great garden paradise by the beach...but looks can be deceiving and smoke and mirrors abound,,,,both literally and figuratively!

Holiday-maker beware! When peole are time-poor and want a great place to stay they want the brochure and website to at least reflect reality.

Nice place, great staff, garden paradise, but not everything is as it seems!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EKM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a concern to me when a guest is disappointed with the quality of product and service and I appreciate you taking the time to share with us your experience.

I really appreciate your feedback regarding the layout of the room- we do have a future plan to expand the resort with new rooms and planning to eliminate plateaus and keep more space to store.
I am delighted to read that our team provided a warm welcome to you and you still liked the garden areas. Please note that your comment regarding the food in the restaurant has been discussed with our FB and Kitchen Team. I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

My sincerest apologies once again and I do hope we can restore your faith in our resort. If I can be of any further assistance with your return, I would ask you to contact me directly at rm@samuizazen.com.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

I don’t know where to start....
there is nothing but absolute praise & perfection to the Zazen. The only negative is that the beach isn’t that glamorous, it’s murky, but my goodness our wedding here organised by Tiffany was faultless & perfect, we had Spike their regular wedding celebrant clearly have worked together for a substantial amount of time & it showed.
I emailed several venues from the UK & Tiffany at the Zazen was so organised & experienced.
Our room was beautiful & service was stunning.
The flowers beautiful & the food I can’t even describe it was so perfect!
I will recommend any friends to stay at the Zazen ( we did for the wedding & they were treated & looked after).
The evening is beautiful lit & elegant.
Our shower room was outdoors & beautiful, you really must sell your shower gels & shampoos as your products are stunning.
What a beautiful unforgettable experience! Thank you ! X

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira Z, Manager at Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Mandy,

Many thanks for taking your time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled about your motivating words and glad to learn that we have managed to create a memorable experience for you, celebrating your very special day with us. Please rest assured that I have shared your lovely comments with the entire team, yet especially with Tiffany, our Wedding Planner, who has managed to organize a perfect wedding celebration for you.
I am pleased to read that you liked our room layout as well as our Zazen signature amenities and products. We highly appreciate that you are recommending our property for both a holiday and a wedding celebration.

Many thanks for choosing us as your wedding destination and we hope to welcome you back in the future for another beautiful and unforgettable stay.

Kind regards and best wishes,

Mira Zehender
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews