We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveller rating
715
170
62
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
170
62
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining on the rockshideaway villapool villaour honeymoonhill restaurantpersonal butlerguest experience makeroutdoor showerkoh samuimain poolocean frontmain restaurantmosquito netluxury resortoverlooking the seabuggy servicecocktail party
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

The Six Senses resort in Ko Samui lived up to its reputation as one of the best in Thailand. Great facilities and staff. What impressed us most was the attention to the environment that the manager Gary and his staff displayed. From the reduction of plastic products to recycling, they did it all. If you go, take the time to visit their small farm next door.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank MaxR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice-Apichana H, Public Relations Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MaxR63,

Thank you for choosing us to be part of your recent trip to Samui. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience with us.

Once again, thank you for visiting Six Senses Samui. We hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future!

Best regards,
Alice
Personal Assistant to General Manager and Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We spent 5 days at the amazing six senses Samui. The tranquil and beautiful resort held up to it name of offering top notch service in a very relaxing environment. We were lucky to stay mon- fri which was even quieter and I signed up for the daily group yoga classes and was delighted with private 1-1 sessions as it was so quiet ....along the coast facing the beautiful landscape.

The pluses
Service was amazing and very personal, top notch . Privacy was key , often had infinity pool to ourselves ( best infinity pool) . Dining by the rocks is a must visit, each dish was wonderfully prepared, although starters and mains were better than dessert. Location - rent a bike and visit fisherman village just 15-20mins away for your shopping and wide range of restaurant options . Ice cream and fruits by the pool, a nice touch for those hot days lazing by the pool

Not anything they can improve on but be warned about the noise from planes flying over the resort from around 8am to 10pm everyday?
( ear plugs easily solved the problem and everything else more than made up for it!)

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nn3388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice-Apichana H, Public Relations Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Nn3388,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Samui. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience during the time with us. Once again, thank you for visiting us recently. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

With warm regards,
Alice
Personal Assistant to General Manager and Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

This hotel is simply amazing. We had a room with a private pool and sea view and it was beautiful. Our GEM, Junko, was so helpful and friendly, and looked after us very well. Even bringing us fresh aloe vera from the hotel garden for our sunburn!. All of the staff are very warm and friendly and had learnt our names by the second day of our 12 day trip. The food in the hotel restaurant Dinner on the Hill was outstanding, actually the best food we had in Thailand. The pool area was calm with breath-taking views. We did the cooking class at the hotel which we would really recommend, we picked 6 dishes to make and after they lay a table for you to enjoy your dishes (almsot as good as the ones the expert cooks make). We had 2 treatments at the spa which again were excellent. We would definately return and stay here again, one of the best 5 star hotels I have stayed at.

Room Tip: probably don't need the private pool room- we tended not to use so much
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mzybcdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice-Apichana H, Public Relations Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mzybcdh,

Thank you for choosing us to be part of your recent trip to Samui. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience with us.

Once again, thank you for visiting Six Senses Samui. We hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future!

Best regards,
Alice
Personal Assistant to General Manager and Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We have just left Six Senses Samui after a seven night stay. On the whole, the staff were excellent: kind, efficient and courteous, we were treated very well. I would like to say a special thank you to Summer, our GEM, who was an absolute... gem. :)

The highlights for us were the beautifully appointed and well proportioned villa, which had ocean views (even though we were in a hideaway); the breakfast (delicious food in a serene setting); and the infinity pool, the views from which were beautiful.

My only minor criticism is thus. At times, some children by the pool could be quite loud (shrieking and shouting) and they loved to dive-bomb despite there being signs forbidding this. The pool staff would gently tell them to quieten down, but this often went unheeded. It is a shame that some (and I emphasise the word “some”, as it does not apply to all) parents appear not to notice when their children are being loud and disruptive, or simply don’t care.

Anyway, I bit my tongue for a long time but, after 4 days, I felt I had to raise this with the manager because what was promised to us was a relaxing and tranquil experience which was not how we (and certain other couples) felt. I have to give credit to Six Senses, because as soon as I raised this the problem was successfully addressed. I was also told by the manager that they are going to construct a separate beach club which will cater, and be more appropriate, for families with children. This is a great idea.

Despite this criticism, I still feel Six Senses if worth five stars because they clearly recognise that having one pool is an issue and they are therefore taking steps to address this in the longer term. In the shorter term, the issue was addressed and everyone seemed happy—children carried on playing (respectfully) and adults could simultaneously relax. Perfect equilibrium was restored.

The only other point to note is that the resort is relatively isolated, so if you want to venture outside, you’ll need to take a taxi or the hotel’s shuttle. This was fine for us.

All in all, we had a great stay. We would most certainly return and we would encourage others who are contemplating Six Senses Samui to definitely pay a visit.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FrequentFlyerEater89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice-Apichana H, Public Relations Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear FrequentFlyerEater89,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Samui. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience during the time with us. Once again, thank you for visiting us recently. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

With warm regards,
Alice
Personal Assistant to General Manager and Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed end of March for 10 days in Six Senses Samui. Before we have stayed 2 times in other Six Senses locations. The villas are in super condition and get perfect cleaned every day. Compared to other Six Senses the privacy in your villas is not so good as e.g. in Yao Noi, where you have never the feeling in the villa or at your pool that people can observe you. In Samui you have to pull down the curtains to have privacy and in your pool (in our villas) you can be seen as we also could look into other pools.
The food choices are for our taste limited. But with a taxi you can drive to the villages around and find very good restaurants, which are usually also better in price (including Taxi fees). We had a mixed experience for service. Room service, reception, massage offers and room maintenance were up to the 5star Standard. Breakfast service and dinner service were very often slow. This was a surprise to us as this was the forte of the other Six Senses.
Overall we will not come back to this Six Senses!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 2016Samot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice-Apichana H, Public Relations Manager at Six Senses Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear 2016Samot,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on this forum. We are glad to hear that our villa condition and the cleanliness pleased you.

Thank you also for mentioning about the privacy from the villas, limited choice of food, and slow restaurant service you unfortunately encountered during this visit. Rest assured we will share them with our team and will have some improvement plans and training scheduled.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments, along with visiting Six Senses Samui.

Yours sincerely,

Alice
Personal Assistant to General Manager and Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews