We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
other travellers have booked this property
Stone House - Vista geral
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone House - Vista geral
Stone House - Sala Stone House - sala/cozinha
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Stone House - Vista geral
Stone House - Sala
Stone House - sala/cozinha
Stone House - Quarto1
Stone House - Quarto2
Stone House - Pormenor quarto 2
Stone House - Hall entrada
Stone House - Sala
Stone House - Pormenores da sala
Stone House - WC
Stone House - sala
Stone House - sala
Stone House - quarto 1
Stone House - vista exterior
Stone House - Vista frente
Miradouro privado
Terrace
Morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Geeske_26
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our daughter of 1,5 years old for 2 weeks in the stone house.
From the moment we arrived we felt really welcome!
The owner Joao is very helpful and has great recommendations of the island.

The house is clean and everything is well provided.
Surrounding and view is amazing as well as the garden where you can take lovely peppers, herbs and all kind of fresh products to put on the BBQ :)

Every day you will have a free work-out to walk from the house to the main road, so if you travel with kids I can recommend a carrier (also for the nice walks on the island of course).

To my opinion a car is needed, for sightseeing on the island but it's also nice for short distances, since the island has a lot of mountains.

I advise this place to everyone who doesn't want to join the mass tourism.
Just relax, sit back, enjoy the island and watch the sunset!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Dear Geeske, Arvid and Fajah, I wanted to thank you for the time you spent here on the island.
I know you have many options to spend your vacation, and it was for me a great pleasure to know that the Stone House was the home that helped you to relax and to enjoy special moments.
And know that I will keep in my heart, as special friends.
Thank you for coming, and come back if you can.
I'll be here with open arms to receive you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views from the Stone House”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two weeks at the Stone House in Calheta, the pictures don't do the house justice it is absolutely stunning. The owner of the apartments João, was so helpful with all the tips and help he provided during our stay.

The Stone House is on a secluded location with 4 other properties around, it overlooks the sea and has spectacular views of the coast and also looking down onto the port of Calheta.

The use of the vegetables from the communal garden were a nice touch, and great fruit for breakfast.

The island of Madeira has so much to see and do that a car is definitely recommended, it is also a big benefit for the location of the house being at the top of a cliff. We did walk into Calheta a few times, it is a nice walk going down, but a good climb getting back up.

Within Calheta there are numerous water sports that you can enjoy, we swam with dolphins and went whale watching. There is also a very handy local supermarket which João gave us a discount card for, very handy to get bargains.

The only negative point of the accommodation, is the path leading down to the house from the road, it is in need of attention and anyone unsteady on there feet might have difficulty with this.

But, that aside I can not praise this accommodation or the owner enough.

John & Pedro

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2015
Gracias, Pedro y John por venir a Madeira y de haber estado en una de mis casas. Sé que tienes muchas opciones para elegir dónde pasar sus vacaciones y que era para mí un gran placer y honor de recibir en la Stone House! Me gustaría que regresen de nuevo, porque la gente buena, queremos que permanecen siempre en nuestras vidas. Muchas Gracias!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
122SoW
Krefeld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2018
Thank you Solveig and Karina, for the kindness of your comment.
I hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again very soon on the island.
I, the sun and the island, we wait for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joachim B
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
Thanks Joachim and Larissa, by our kind words.
It was a pleasure to receive you in my house.
You are a wonderful couple. I was very fond of you, so I will keep you in my heart.
I'm glad you have liked to be here in Madeira.
If one day you can, come back. I'll be here with open arms , to receive you.
Vielen Dank!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing