We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
66
13
7
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
13
7
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pillow menu swim up room asian restaurant premium drinks smaller pool pianist playing hour coach ride street food area al dente late opening small things junior suite pool areas are lovely pool towels the wow factor great star night porter
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We order Boutique 5 Hotel, a suite with private pool & sea view for 3 people but a week before they call to say that they are over booked and ask me to move to their new hotel that is next by - Mayia Exclusive Resort. & Spa, new hotel, they gave us the Mayia suite with private pool and sea view all inclusive.
It was great, we enjoy so mach from the hotel, our suite was wonderful, the staff thought about every thing in the room and in the resort in general , the staff were so friendly, the food and drinks were great. We didn’t want to leave and defiantly want to come back! Every thing was as they promise and more!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ayala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_HOTELS, Guest Relations Manager at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ayala D,

We are very pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay and the best enjoyable vacation ever!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed Mayia Suite which offers an unrivaled collection of luxury amenities and generous living spaces that extend to a wonderful private pool and fully-furnished terrace. Thank you for taking the time to complement our staff, we are really happy to know they took care of you as our Team never tires of receiving positive feedback, so we are excited to share all your wonderful comments to all of them!
It is great to know that you will definitely be back to stay and we are much look forward to welcoming you again to make your stay even more excited!

Warm Regards,
Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile


We enjoyed our holiday but the hotel has both good and bad aspects.

What was good:

The architecture is stunning, beautifully executed using high quality materials. There is a tremendous feeling of space and the hotel never felt crowded - although in late September / early October I’d expect this to be the case.

The room (a swim up room in the main building) was spotless and it stayed that way. The maid was excellent. We really enjoyed using the pool. The bed (huge) was one of the most comfortable we’ve ever had in a hotel.

The three à la carte restaurants were all very good, the food was tasty and well presented. The service was excellent. Staff were attentive and helpful. A special commendation is due to the staff at the Greek restaurant. The informal lunch area by the pool (Comfortable Restaurant) was great, the food varied every day, there was always something we wanted to eat. However, the choice of beverages could be improved. We spoke to the chefs there when we wanted information - they were always very helpful. The young waitress was great, friendly without being over familiar and always attentive. In common with the staff at the à la carte restaurants she was always looking around to see if any of her clients needed attention.

The pool bar and main bar were very good. The staff were helpful and attentive and the range of drinks was excellent.

The evening entertainment was varied and good. The ‘Supremes’ were especially good. The pianist in the wine bar was very talented.

What wasn’t so good:

Some of the reception staff were very much better than others.

The main restaurant was not up to standard for a 5* hotel. The waiters were inattentive and were far more likely to chat to each other than engage with their clients. There was no anticipation, they were not scanning the room to see if their attention was required. They actively avoided eye contact. Things did improve towards the end of our holiday but they’ve got a long way to go. There was little coherence within the range of food on offer and the placement of the food on the hot counters was haphazard. Because the number of guests eating in the main restaurant was low the food was on the counters for a long time. This was the first 5* hotel we’ve ever stayed in where the chef cooking eggs at breakfast would not cook a poached egg. The fried eggs had been cooked in batches that were too large for the number of clients. The restaurant in the Princess Andriana (a hotel in the same group) was very much better organised and the waiters were far better trained.

There were no refreshments on the beach. A response on Trip Advisor to a query from another guest stated that a waiter visited the beach every hour. This did not happen once during our stay and we spent several hours on the beach every day.

Would we come again? Possibly. There was so much right about the hotel, its atmosphere and its environment. But we’ll check reviews to see if the main restaurant staff and food have improved before we book.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank 364patrickk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_HOTELS, Guest Relations Manager at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Patrick K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback following your recent stay at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa!
We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed stunning and beautifully executed architecture and were particularly impressed with the phenomenal swim up spotless room, which is an excellent option for those who wants to have an immediate access to a sharing pool, seek premium amenities and wish to retreat in a luxury atmosphere.
We were really thrilled to know that the bed was one of the most comfortable you have ever had!
We truly appreciate your kind words about our courteous staff. We strive to deliver top notch hospitality and exceptional customer service and we are truly happy that we accomplished that.
We want to thank you for bringing your concerns and suggestions to our attention, as we always looking for the ways to better our service and your feedback is an invaluable part of that process.
Please rest assured that your comments regarding food have already addressed to the Chef,as there is always space for the improvement.
We do hope that you would consider visiting us again, so we may better demonstrate the high quality service you expect and deserve!

Warm Regards,
Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A beautiful hotel with the wow factor! Room with queen size bed - mini bar stocked daily. Excellent maid service. Standard of cleanliness throughout resort - excellent. Two large pools. Very stony beach - no facilities. Not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties, there are lifts, but a lot of steps. The let-down was the food - plenty of variety - but cold plates and cold/luke-warm food (main restaurant,Greek/Italian). The best was Pan Asian - cooked to order and hot The gelatare (crepes)and street food cooked to order (hot). Food standards needs seriously addressing to make this otherwise excellent resort worthy of 5*. Sadly will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Jude1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_HOTELS, Guest Relations Manager at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jude1947,

It was our pleasure to have been your host during your recent stay and we thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
Our Cleaning policy plays an important role in maintaining positive experience and for this reason our staff tries really hard to keep hotel clean and offer a perfect service. Your kind comments about Housekeeping have been shared with the ladies as they are really deserve it.
While we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, room with king size bed, we are really sorry to know we didn’t manage to meet your expectations concerning your food experience. However, we greatly appreciate your good comments regarding the Asian Restaurant. We will pass your comments to the Chef, since there is always space for improvement. We appreciate you bringing these shortcomings to our attention as we do value all our guests’ feedback and strive to follow up on it in an effort to improve our product going forward.
We hope that you have still enjoyed your holidays in Rhodes and that perhaps you might consider visiting us again in the future, so we may better demonstrate the complete quality stay you expect and deserve.

Warm Regards,
Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

I don’t think I have a lot to add to what many others have said - this is a spectacularly beautiful hotel in an amazing setting, but a few things need to improve before I would rate as 5 star, which is a pity for the hardworking management and staff. We are widely travelled, having stayed at 5 star resorts in the Caribbean and Indian Ocean , and believe that once a number of issues have been ironed out, this hotel will be on a par with some of the best. I would have liked to mark as 4.5, but can’t find the right button!

As has been said, the hotel opened very late in the season, so hopefully many of the problems are temporary, however it seemed to us a little tough that we still paid full price for our holiday when some features such as the new amphitheatre for entertainment, the beach bar and some of the “street food” units were not up and running.

We stayed for two weeks, September 11th - 26th.

Weather - absolutely glorious, would recommend travelling at this time of year.

Room - we stayed in an upper floor Junior Suite, which was well-equipped and spacious. The room was serviced daily, and pool towels changed so regularly that we ended up with spares! The minibar man was very pleasant, and would listen to any requests for extra milk etc, but he was unwilling/unable to supply any extra bottles of wine - we thought this was a bit random, as we could have gone to any of the bars at almost any time of day and obtained wine, but were limited to one small glass each whilst in our room getting changed for dinner. The chambermaids were very pleasant, and kept us well supplied with all toiletries, towels etc, but the turn- down service was a bit erratic, not happening at all for three nights in succession. Ok, these are very much a first-world problems, but are indicative of many inconsistencies which just take the edge off the standard of this hotel.

Pool and hotel grounds - stunning. The pools are huge - a bit chilly the first time in, but otherwise so much space to swim without bumping into anyone. This and the many steps/slopes there are to negotiate provide much needed exercise to mitigate against the amount of food available around the clock! Joking apart, there are lifts everywhere if required. Two things detracted from the impact of the surroundings - the rubbish bins were often overflowing (to their credit they are trying to recycle), and the public bathrooms were not always serviced often enough.

Food and restaurants - during our first few days we witnessed all kinds of confusion in both the buffet and speciality restaurants, mostly due to language/communication issues. Over our two weeks there was a big improvement in the a la Cartes, but the buffet remained chaotic throughout our stay, which put us off using it for anything except breakfast. On our second night we hadn’t booked a restaurant, so ate in the buffet. A young waiter brought us some wine, took the white wine off the tray and put it on the table, over -balancing his tray, spilling the red all over me. (It couldn’t have been the white, could it?). The poor boy was so embarrassed that he mopped the table and me, but then disappeared, leaving wine-soaked crockery and tableware , which was only cleared when we asked another waiter to do it. I have to add that the hotel stood the cost of the laundry with no problem at all. At breakfast the service was patchy, some of the staff were energetic and seemed to get things done, but many were what can only be described as inert, with very little initiative. Disappointingly the chap who appeared to be in charge was less than effective himself, never seeming to break sweat or move any faster, so maybe that fed down to the less senior staff. The hotel manager was ever present, and he and the Operations Manager were clearly concerned and frustrated with the issues - we were told that they had been unable to procure sufficient staff due to their late opening, so hopefully next season they will have ironed out most of these problems. My main gripes were that, although food in the buffet was plentiful and to a high standard, a) there was no cohesion in how the dishes were grouped, and b) every single dish was only lukewarm.

Reception - efficient, if at times a little aloof. However, the Customer Relations ladies, Michelle (English translation!) and Elena were extremely friendly and helpful, organising us an anniversary meal with cake etc. We didn’t experience any problems whatsoever in reserving at the a la Carte restaurants, we simply organised ourselves and did it on a weekly basis.

Overall we had a super holiday, much needed in our personal circumstances, as my husband has some serious medical issues. It is such a shame that so many small things added up to cast a slight shadow over the whole experience. Unfortunately it is unlikely that we will be able to return to this hotel, but it would be fascinating to do so, to see whether any or all of the issues have been addressed.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank hookybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_HOTELS, Guest Relations Manager at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear hookybear,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent experience at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa.
We are truly happy to know that you really enjoyed our spectacularly beautiful hotel in an amazing settings, as well as well –equipped spacious room, stunning pools and hotel grounds, and we were thrilled to know that you had a super holiday.
We are really delighted to know that you chose to celebrate your birthday and wedding anniversary at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa and we do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can. But what makes us even happier is your feedback about our customer service as it is our goal to go above and beyond and make our guests’ stay as comfortable and successful as it can be.
Allow us to reassure you that we invest heavily in training our staff members to provide first class customer care to make sure that our guests leave us feeling that they received an exceptional service. Although we are positive that our colleagues had no intention of appearing unhelpful, we would like to sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused with the wine issue. We highly appreciate your honesty and we take your notes into consideration in order to enhance our services. All points you raised have been addressed and taken on board by Management for quality and training purposes within the team.
We only hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, when we promise to go above and beyond in our efforts of delivering you with amazing experience.

Warm Regards,
Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Mayia hotel for 10days and what a relaxing beautiful resort and hotel . The hotel is new but everything about it was beautiful... the rooms , the meals /buffet/ street food , the staff were really friendly and helpful especially Janis ( lovely waiter in the bar area) . The hotel is totally relaxing but just a short taxi ride away from Lindos. Evening entertainment was every other night . There was pool activities several times a day. Will definitely be going back

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Carolyn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_HOTELS, Guest Relations Manager at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Carolyn Q,

Thank you for your amazing review regarding your recent experience at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa.
It is such a compliment to know that you found our hotel relaxing and beautiful, we are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations across all aspects of your stay. We are so proud that our team left a great impression, they work tirelessly to provide the best service, down to the smallest details. We will enjoy sharing your praises with Jannis!
Please allow us to remind you that we remain at your entire disposal for your next holiday at Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,
Mayia Exclusive Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews