We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sarah E

Great value for what is paid

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Aug 2020
Pros:

Good service and great staff at reception especially Alex Tse

Nice festive atmosphere because of the specials offers at dinners( buffet seafood hotpot with all you can drink beer for a steal at 198 rmb, buffet BBQ, activities for the family especially kids. It's not a dead, sterile place.

Great cocktails at the red sky bar lounge with great sea views from 2.30 to 5 pm even though service is slow because it is understaffed. They even have an afternoon tea service which I didn't try.

Reasonable priced rooms and resort services- extra water and beer from in house dining for 2 and 10 RMB respectively and food prices are fairly priced too

Cons:
Packed with kids so not a serene environment especially at pool!

Beach a bit dirty, sea rough so not easy to swim. No beach towels provided for the deck chairs.

Breakfast sub par, not international. Only two coffee machines available.

Room and toilet funky smelling

Sea view room small and includes a view of the chaotic/ fun for kids pools
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$407
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $292
  • ZenHotels.com
    $358
7.6 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
$83
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $68
  • StayForLong
6.5 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Pool
Restaurant
$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $222
  • Hotels.com
    $222
  • StayForLong
    $217
22.4 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$333
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $334
  • Hotels.com
    $334
  • Tripadvisor
    $334
19.0 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$500
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $501
  • eDreams
    $500
  • Trip.com
27.8 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$112
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
19.2 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
$166
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $194
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
6.7 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$154
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $154
  • Trip.com
27.7 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
29.0 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    33.5 km from Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Lingshui County
    Reviews (419)
    Filter reviews
    419 results
    Traveller rating
    389
    10
    8
    5
    7
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    389
    10
    8
    5
    7
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    2 - 7 of 419 reviews
    Reviewed 9 January 2020

    Very well maintained hotel with spectacular ocean view. Comfortable room with balcony, splendid bed, spacious washroom with bathtub. Air conditioning is programmed to minimum 21 degrees Celsius, so not very efficient to beat Hainan heat. Breakfast with many Western and Chinese options. Chinese restaurant has the best food in the region, Modern and well equipped gym with great ocean view. Red sky lounge has a terrace with breathtaking views. But the best of all for sure is the vast array of swimming pools available. Chinese guests usually are not fond of being exposed to sunlight, so most of the times you have almost the entire pool for yourself. Perfect to relax and swim!

    Room tip: Room with ocean view
    Date of stay: January 2020
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank EderWen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 July 2019 via mobile

    Our family vacay at the Marriott was just great. Although it was busy season, the staff genuinely cared about the experience of each and every one of my family members. Front desk upgraded our rooms at check-in, and concierge took us on a thorough tour of the resort and the nearby beach, which made my parents feel really special. View was also stunning, and so was the restaurant. Although, this resort was very much “hidden” from major cities (which means you really can’t get there without a car), and the “no swimming” rule at the beach was a disappointment, so consider those before you book. But all in all, awesome resort and we will be back.

    Date of stay: December 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Megabruno1994
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    MarriottXSB, 公关经理 at Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

    Dear Megabruno1994,

    Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I amvery happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

    With regards,
    Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort & Spa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 June 2019 via mobile

    This was my best holidays. The apartment is very good. There are all amenities. Panoramic view from the balcony - beautiful. Everything is very clean, there is a wonderful and inexpensive cafe nearby.

    Date of stay: January 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank ilka068
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    MarriottXSB, 公关经理 at Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyedyour stay with us! I hope your next stay is just around the corner. Call us if there is anything we can help you with.

    With regards,
    Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort & Spa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 March 2019 via mobile

    Today is the last day of a great vacation. Since I am an employee of a travel company and rested with my family, I evaluated everything from a professional point of view.I liked the hotel because of the large territory, wide beach and comfortable rooms. Rested in the north tower in the rooms Superior Harbor View. South tower under reconstruction. The hotel is suitable for a quiet measured rest. If you want to get rid of the bustle of megalopolises and see fewer people - Marrriot is for you. I recommend the hotel management put the breakwater at the sea - this will significantly increase the number of guests from Ukraine. We would like to express special gratitude to the employee of the Island Kitchen Restaurant - Leo Lu, who every day of our stay at the hotel tried his best to help, answer all the questions and was very friendly. We recommend the hotel management to appreciate and encourage such staff. This level of service deserves respect)))

    Date of stay: March 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    3  Thank Oleksandr T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    MarriottXSB, 公关经理 at Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2019

    Dear tunyk,

    Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

    With regards,
    Xiangshui Bay Marriott Resort & Spa

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

    We arrived in the morning time. But they hadn't gave us a room. Said from 5 pm. although according to the rules of the hotel from 3 pm! They didn't even give us the luggage room! and we have to carry luggage with us. This is really bad service from Marriott hotel !

    Date of stay: November 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank marinaaG5558FK
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews