We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
30
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm animals great place to stay walks motel unit cow host amenities heaps westport
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

As described - quaint kiwi baches/cribs of the 70s, some original retro decor,but all spotlessly clean and with comfy beds. The host and driver were both just lovely- friendy and interesting. And you're near to the pub for beer and food, especially useful if finishing the Heaphy. But far away enough for this spot to be silent - no noise at all, so a good night's sleep.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Apartment spacious and well appointed, clean and tidy. Separate bedroom with lounge, dining and kitchen area. Lovely rural setting with farm animals in front of units and view towards the mountains. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend these apartments.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ngaere C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

The interior our motel unit was spacious and furnished with refined good taste. If you know the Japanese word "shibui", that would describe the decor well.

In a kitschy motel, the cow-shaped milk jug would have been kitsch, but in the sparely beautiful setting of this motel it was a lovely humorous touch.

Eastward through the window, a field with a menagerie of unusual animals including goat/sheep crosses called geep, and dorper sheep; in the distance beyond, the blue hills of Kahurangi National Park.

Thoroughly recommended!

Room tip: All rooms are at ground-floor level and have similar views.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank trevorjmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed the night here and it was great, spacious clean and comfortable rooms. Lovely service from the new owners Shona & Murray. So close to the Heaphy Track and Kahurangi National Park. Would definitely stay again, looking forward to our next trip.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Electra455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We spent two nights in the motel on a short break from Nelson on the recommendation of friends. We booked a studio room and it was larger than any other similar room we have stayed in. We even had a private patio which we used for our afternoon tea break. The shower was great, the bed comfortable, the room spotlessly clean and the wifi easy to access. We arrived damp and the owner was quick to find an extra heater for the room. One bed lamp wasn't working but was sorted while we were out for dinner. It is a peaceful spot just out of the small town and waking to bird song was magic. We drove into the town for dinner each night but would have walked in summer.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cajeNelson_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews