We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
140
100
35
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
140
100
35
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heaphy track portion size oparara basin fish and chips double bed hot water a great place to stay great spot continental breakfast tania accommodation west coast studio hosts arches nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2021

We had lunch here with a group of people who had biked the Heaphy.
The food was all perfect and great sized portions. The hamburgers looked fantastic and the Steak and Mushroom pie was the best pie I have ever had. The food in the cabinet looked great as well. I 100% recommend this café.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Annmarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2021

The standard of food in the restaurant is outstanding. A surprise for somewhere so far from big city populations! The bar staff were great, down to earth friendly folk, creating a really nice atmosphere among everyone there. The room we stayed in was very small and old but was totally fine for the very reasonable price. Shower was clean and good pressure.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank chpmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

We perused the menus of places in Karamea that did dinner for Gluten Free options. While not the cheapest we settled on the Last Resort.
The waitress immediately said “while the soup is gf it was made by the other chef so I can’t confirm it with them’.
Off to a good start!
My pork belly was delicious and my partner, the celiac, was very happy with her steak sans sauce.
Service was great and the food just that touch special.
Compares with a top restaurant in a big city.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Contention
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2021 via mobile

Not nearly as good as we remembered from a stay years ago. The room was an ok size but tired. Bathroom window could only be fully open which meant you'd be totally visible to anyone walking past. Beds were very average, esp the double bed. Restaurant was very expensive for the quality, the steak was so fatty. Beers on offer were pretty poor, shame not to have a decent range of local craft beer. Overall very average and a shame to see such a wonderful place run down.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank louisetanguay286
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 March 2021 via mobile

Highly recommended. We stayed before and after walking the Heaphy. Clean quiet comfortable room with cafe /restaurant offering tasty food snacks and coffee. Good shower and laundry. The staff create a happy caring atmosphere and really went the extra mile to look after us. Track transport can be arranged from the resort. A visit to Oparara arches especially Honeycomb cave was an added highlight. There is a small shop close by where you can get a good range of supplies. The museum is worth a visit.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank RhondaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews