We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Gelato”
Review of Spotz Gelato

Spotz Gelato
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Las Penitas
Price range: US$3 - US$4
Description: CLOSED for Low Season. See you again in November 2018! Handcrafted, small batch gelato and sorbet made onsite from local ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: CLOSED for Low Season. See you again in November 2018! Handcrafted, small batch gelato and sorbet made onsite from local ingredients.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hit the spot a bit more pricey than I expected. But nice to have for a treat every once in a while

Thank Leonora1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth R, Owner at Spotz Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your gelato. We will look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018

Newly opened gelato place in Las Penitas, a little bit beyond Hotel Suyapa. Owned by an American couple from Kentucky, all the gelato is made on site. There was a good variety of ices on hand, and the prices were reasonable. Obviously this place caters to a tourist crowd, as buying a gelato is still a luxury for many Nica's. But, it is providing employment for a few local Nicas, and that is a good thing. The owners are friendly and welcoming, and the gelato just the thing after a hot day at the beach.

Thank Timoteo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth R, Owner at Spotz Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thanks for your sweet review. Hope to see you again at Spotz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Beth and Phil make the most delicious gelato! A trip to the beach for me means coffee flavor gelato ( or grapefruit sorbet) for sure. This store is so cute and clean and I really like how friendly the staff are. I also appreciate the thought that goes into creating exciting and new flavors. ( hello rum raisin!) Spotz is an amazing addition to a fabulous beach town. I can't wait to go back!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kelley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth R, Owner at Spotz Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thanks so much for your sweet review. Can't wait to see you in the shop again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

You don't need these reviews to find this colorful, tasty treat, you'd find it any way! Really wonderful flavors of ice cream, large portions, at a colorful, cheerful shop. The owners regularly present new flavors- such as cherry lemon- and of course, the town sweethearts of chocolate and rum raisin are always a delight (only once did I arrive and the chocolate was sold out, as sad as that was.)

Thank MarzUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth R, Owner at Spotz Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thanks so much for your sweet words! Can't wait to see you in the shop again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

I would like to make two comments about this place:
Firstly, the service and staff (owners) are AMAZING! I had a surfing accident and needed medical attention. Unfortunately, no taxi’s were around to drive me to the pharmacy. As I had a lot of pain, I just went into their store and asked them for a lift...The owners did not hesitate one second and drove me with their privat car to the nearby pharmacy. I cant thank them enough!!!
Secondly, the day after we went and got icecream and it was simply delicious

Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth R, Owner at Spotz Gelato, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you so much for your sweet review. We were happy to help and are glad you are okay. Safe travels and we hope to see you again in Las Peñitas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spotz Gelato also viewed

Las Penitas, Leon Department
 
Las Penitas, Leon Department
Las Penitas, Leon Department
 
Las Penitas, Leon Department
Las Penitas, Leon Department
 

Been to Spotz Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing