We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Trip.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Travellingyoungs
South Island, New Zealand

Location, Staff, Service, Food, Cocktails, Beach...I could go on and on!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Jul 2021
We booked this hotel due to its location, value for money and reviews. None of this disappointed. The pre departure communication is great and greeting on arrival is very personal. The rooms are lovely we had 102 which was in the front beach facing block. What a gorgeous view and pleasure to step out on to our balcony each morning to the sunrise on the lagoon and facing the island, so peaceful with only the sounds of the waves on the reef in the distance.
Use of kayaks, paddle boards etc is fab and the water is easy to swim in. Beach is kept tidy, the early morning sweeping didn’t go un noticed from early risers like ourselves. There seemed plentiful sun loungers for guests which were comfortable on the beach front.
We were there for our honeymoon and it was a great place to spend it. Unfortunately I became very sick on our second day and Leila and the staff were so helpful. Thank you again for that. The advice and provision of fresh coconut to drink the coconut water I really do think helped my recovery!
The staff in the restaurant go above and beyond and are always happy to help. Breakfast ladies were lovely and so friendly and accommodating. Same for the staff on throughout the day and evening. Many knowing us by name which is a nice personal touch.
It’s great to be able to place orders from the beach and have food/drinks delivered to you. Truly 5* service.
On the food side, we enjoyed our included breakfast each morning and looked forward to the unknown of what the fruit platter would contain or what the hot option would be. All of which was so delicious and the hot options were things we wouldn’t normally choose but so tasty.
We ate there on our first night with the best tasting chicken satay we have ever had. We then tried 4-5 different other restaurants for lunch and dinner over our stay, eating again at the hotel on our final night. We were glad we tried these other restaurants as on our last night we could appreciate how much better the hotel’s quality and quantity of food was as well as the service compared to other places.
The location is within easy walk up the driveway to shops and other cafes/small restaurants, the muri night market and other hotels further up the beach. Being on the lagoon, paddleboard and kayaking is so easy and great to paddle to the motu across. It’s also great hearing the sounds and music from the various lagoon cruises.
Housekeeping were great and on to the rooms pretty much as soon as we left with the rooms being immaculately cleaned and plentiful towels provided. Turn down service at night also offered. Minibar is reasonably priced.
Tv has channels with a mixture of one news and news hub at different times as well as other international channels but is a bit sporadic (but this is not an issue as we weren’t on holiday to sit and watch tv).
I’m sure I’ve forgotten other things that made our stay at the hotel so memorable but we are so glad we stayed here, will recommend to others and can only hope we can return here in many years to come (we are due our first child so unfortunately will be out of the question for the next 18 years haha).
Sophie & Stu Young
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Block 100 best blocks closest to sea with unobstructed views and next to restaurant/bar.
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liana Scott, Owner at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 21 Jul 2021
What an amazing review - thank you - very descriptive and great to have guests back at the property - we appreciate you very much and all the best being new parents!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$725
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $725
  • Expedia.com
    $724
  • Tripadvisor
    $724
0.2 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$300
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
0.3 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Agoda.com
$229
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Destinia.com
0.3 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Booking.com
$450
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $449
  • Hotels.com
    $441
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Trip.com
0.8 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
0.4 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
1.4 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
6.7 km from Muri Beach Club Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Muri
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveller rating
497
199
67
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
497
199
67
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front muri beach silver sands paddle boards happy hour cook islands great pool other resorts restaurant staff relaxing holiday amazing location snorkel gear kia orana free kayaks night market liana cocktails
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 789 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2021

We have just spent the past 7 nights at Muri Beach Club on our Honeymoon. Leila and her team have gone above and beyond to provide top service with a smile and were really careful with my dietary requirements. Raj, Rowena, Shayla, Joey and all the staff here have been amazing.
The food and drinks are delicious, views incredible and loved how we had access included to the paddle boards, Kayaks and snorkeling gear. Thank you all from Annalise and David, room 205 right on the beach.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Annalise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2021

This is not a new property but is fresh, clean and tidy. Spacious double villa style. It’s located next to the Muri night markets and opposite the LVB bakery cafe, a short walk to Te Vana Nui Polynesian show and buffet and by a supermarket that you can get most things cheaper than NZ!
It’s right on the beach and snorkeling gear, sup and double kayaks are all free. Snorkel straight off the beach or go across to the island where it’s sheltered and truely heaven.
We stayed in school holidays and they allowed children but may not of these times you’d have to check.
A great facility is the lounge where you can watch a Dvd, play games or if you have a late flight you can still use all the facilities, pool/gear and use of shower/toilet and you can leave bags there so you’re not dragging them around for the day. This buys you a whole other day on the island to enjoy it.
We’d stay again, it was reasonably priced for other properties around the same location.
No bar but next stop along the beach is the Sailing Club which does awesome mohito’s and food.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2020

We booked at staycation at Muri Beach Club for my birthday weekend in May. We had such a great weekend ‘away’, and truely felt like we had one on an overseas holiday. We were met at reception by the friendly and welcoming reception staff and taken through to our beach front room. The room was very clean and beautifully presented. We settled in then took ourselves off to cocktail sampling, hosted by Raj. Raj made us an array of cocktails, included in our package, for the next hour. They were all delicious! Dinner was to follow, as the resort is still quiet there was a limited menu- great value though at $50 for 3 courses. The food was delicious, we actually got very full and had the left overs wrapped to take back to the room. We also had breakfast included, again, limited options, but fresh, hot and tasty. The coffee was good too! We spent the day relaxing on the beach and took a kayak to the motu for lunch. The amazing house keeping staff tidied our room while we were out, and left me a beautiful flower petal arrangement and some cake for my birthday! Another cocktail hour and dinner at the restaurant. Raj created some cream based cocktails this time and arranged another delicious dinner. We had a late checkout of 4pm on Sunday so there was no rush to checkout. I hit the spa, 50% at the moment so went for the indulgence package and was well pampered with a scrub, massage and facial. Carried on the relaxation theme with lunch and a wine by the pool before finally having to head home. We have walked past Muri Beach Club so many times and so glad we decided to finally stay. Great specials, make the most of it!

Room tip: Beach front, ground floor are excellent. Watch the sun rise over the lagoon.
Date of stay: May 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank isabelrangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Agree with some of the other reviews that the hotel itself is fairly average but it’s on a gorgeous stretch of beach in a Great location which brings it up. The pool was really lovely also.

The hotel offers free use of kayaks and paddle boards and we used these all day every day! There’s lots of different islands to kayak over too which was great and the dogs will come join you on them! It’s adorable!!

There’s lots of different restaurants just outside the hotel which were good. We visited the Mexican one night and the Asian the second night, both really good. We then took the bus to Trader Joes on the last night which I really recommend, super easy to do and got to see a bit of the island and take the bus also! The bus stop is just outside the hotel.

The reason I didn’t give this review 5* was that on our first day on arrival, our room wasn’t quite ready so we went for lunch in the restaurant and a guy came over and asked if we were staying at the hotel- we said we were and he said ‘ yeah it’s lovely isn’t it, we’re in a much cheaper hotel just down the road, but this hotel said we could use the pool and facilities which meant we didn’t have to pay the higher price’!

I can’t explain how much this frustrated me and it’s not like there’s lots of sunbeds on the beach as it is- this needs to be changed as it’s not on and it did disappoint.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank doryf3390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2020

This hotel has a wonderful location , directly on the beach !
The hotel has a nice lagoon, with free kayaking and snorkeling equipment !
In the restaurant was always very nice music playing , whcih we liked a lot !
From the staf the filipina ladies were very very kind in the restaurant and for the room cleaning !

1. The price is very high, 1 night for 600 NZD over 300 EUROs is definitely too high for me for this kind of service
2. The breakfast was terrible , the sunny sides eggs were burned which I asked for !
3. The hotel could not deliver my laundry in time !
4. The room was nice but need some reparation on the balcony, the rain came completely inside the Terrace !
5. The reception ladies were honest to say none of them really kind to me as I asked for an extention ! Luckily we stayed just 2 days !
6. The Dinner was ok but nothing special !
We will not come back for here again , for EUR 300/night I get TOP SERVICE for example from any of the ACCORHOTELS !

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 6attilaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews