We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shamama1
Christchurch, New Zealand

Only going back to the Pacific in the future!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks agovia mobile
This is our 6th time back to the island but first time staying at the Pacific. It won’t be our last.

Our room which was one of the cheaper ones, family room (open plan) was wonderful. Clean, spacious, modern and had all of the amnesties needed including an incredible selection of movies on the TV (great for rainy days with kids!). We had a ground floor apartment and it was fairly central in the whole resort. If you have small people, a ground floor apartment is great so they can utilise the grass out front and you don’t have to worry about the stairs.

There was free laundry facilities on site which was great for our kids who went through about 6 changes of clothes a day 😅 the only thing I have to suggest is that they open the washing machines until later. They’re only open from 9am-7pm. We were generally out and about during these times so if we wanted to get washing done I had to sneak away from dinner to pop it in etc. not a biggie.

Breakfast was fabulous, we were expecting only fruit and bread like most resorts. But there was also baked beans/spaghetti and a hot option like fritatta/sausage rolls etc.
The deal they have going at the moment with buy 5 nights get 2 free made the price super competitive with some of the other cheaper resorts on the island.

The restaurant food was lovely, some things were on the pricier side but then there were cheaper options that were equally as yum like the open chicken sandwich. Pretty sure our crew almost ate the Pacific out of their Ika Mata!

The staff at the Pacific are truly what makes the place, they are so wonderfully accommodating. I can’t speak highly enough of every staff member there from housekeeping, grounds, front desk and restaurant.

One thing that we love about the Pacific compared to other resorts we have stayed at in Raro in the past is the safety factor. The pool isn’t near the food area so I’m not worried about my small human wandering into the pool whilst my eye has gone off them for half a second. The beach is reasonably calm and free from coral. The pool also has a small 30cm ish depth pool for toddlers to splash in. There is also a phone at the pool so if you want food or drinks you can ring to the bar and they will deliver it to you! So the fact that it’s situated away from the restaurant isn’t an issue in that sense.
Another positive about the Pacific is that we don’t have to get in the car to go to other eateries or activities because of the little township in Muri.

We are already looking into deals for a trip in 2 years time and we will absolutely be coming back to the Pacific.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Beachfront
$476
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $476
0.2 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Pool
$451
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $451
1.4 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Pool
Kukupa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.0 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Pool
Family unit
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.5 km from Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Muri
Reviews (1,551)
Filter reviews
1,551 results
Traveller rating
1,001
379
105
38
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,001
379
105
38
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club pacific resort barefoot bar premium family beach front muri beach cook islands happy hour ika mata family holiday continental breakfast garden villa water sports paddle boarding beachfront room serviced daily muri night market
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,551 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Although we can not afford to stay here, just like their sister hotel in AITUTAKI, they have excellent resteraunt. Beautifully cooked and presented meals and top end staff. Had one of the best steaks I've ever had her. My wife had the Chef's special sizzling plate, with Parot fish as the main attraction. A superb cheese board rounded off a great night.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2024

We are a Aussie family on our first trip to the Cook Islands, Came to this resort after 5 nights on the other side of the island in a villa. Overall the pacific is very beautiful and we found the staff to be really friendly. We loved the happy hour which had $10 pina coladas, and the free use of kayaks which we used every day. We loved the pool and also the location of pacific was fantastic near a grocery store and the night markets. We found the included basic breakfast to be good mostly, we didn’t rate the plunger coffee and think a coffee machine or some sort of barista would be a much better option for a resort of this calibre and price.
We have 8 year old daughters who were hanging out for the kids club but sadly all 3 days we went to use it, there was no other kids there and the 2 staff members we encountered were not very welcoming to my daughters or even able to tell us much about the days schedule etc which seemed very loose so we didn’t use the club at all. I had a facial in the little spa and it was basic, no info given on the products being used but pretty good. We stayed in the premium family room and we really loved this room, which was a great size for family of 4. Only downside was that the walls (or maybe thatched roof?) were not very sound proof which meant we heard the baby in the room next door waking up a couple of times one night, and when the gardeners were cutting down some trees by the car park, it sounded like it was in our room 😵‍💫 the other thing that was slightly annoying was only 1 pre filled bottle of drinking water, and then it was never filled again. For families travelling with children, they should be supplying drinking water at least 2 bottles and every day, that would just be enough for 4 of us to clean our teeth! Yes there are a couple of water filling stations but they are very slow and not convenient to have to leave your room to access. The villa we stayed at on the other side of the island had UV filters so the tap water was drinkable, it was surprising to find that it wasn’t at the pacific resort.
Overall just a couple of minor things we thought could be improved on, but we had a wonderful time and can’t wait to come back to Rarotonga again.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haylee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2024 via mobile

Booked a Luxury Escapes 7 night package and upgraded to the Beachfront Villa. So glad that we did. Our first floor villa was SPECTACULAR. Beautiful sun-rise view, great spot for afternoon drinks and most nights we slept with the doors and curtains opened so we could hear the ocean gently lapping onto the beach below. The bed was super-king sized and very comfortable. The bathroom recently renovated, so very modern and beautiful. Unfortunately for us, we arrived very early in the morning on Jetstar. We therefore got to the Resort very early, but the staff accommodated us with our WiFi access and we went to the Barefoot Bar/Sandals Restaurant, where we were able to purchase a delicious breakfast. The staff did their very best and we were able to check into our room around noon. We were so tired we slept the afternoon away but we had booked into Sandals for dinner. Our package included 3 x 2 course dinners each. The menu was not overly extensive, but we tried most on the menu and all was delicious. My other half discovered the Prawn Linguine on night 2, so that was it for him - DELICIOUS. I tried the lamb rack, chicken pasta and eye fillet - with the beef being as good as we get in AUS. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well maintained. EVERY staff member greats you with Kia Orana EVERY time you pass. Every staff member we interacted with were just incredible, and although I hate to name just a few, I would be remiss in not thanking Aunty Mona, Joel, and Ashleigh in being assets to the organization. We also booked a couples massage at the sister resort, which was great. The only negative would be, when paying so much for a room, surely full breakfast could be included. And it really is a family resort, so can be quite loud at breakfast, and wow, those kids can devour the pastries as soon as they hit the basket. We did not use the pool once (was very noisy when we walked past “Marco” “Polo”) but when you have the Muri Lagoon in the front yard, who needs a pool !

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024

First of all, the location is gorgeous and the cleaning and hospitality staff are lovely. Unfortunately, I slipped on tiles injuring my knee on my first morning. I get the resort didn't want to accept blame but the way I was treated was unbelievable. They charged me to use their wheelchair, which I was not permitted to take out of the resort meaning I didn't get to see the rest of the island. Knowing I was effectively stuck at the resort there were no efforts by reception or management to see if there was anything they could do to make my stay more enjoyable, which, as a paying guest, I would expect from any hotel or resort. In fact we had to pester them for 2 days to get crutches. They were more focused on covering themselves than my enjoyment. Very, very disappointed.

Room tip: Don't expect an early check-in, even when your flight gets in at 6:30am.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O4493TGdeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pacific Resort, Owner at Pacific Resort Rarotonga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our resort. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had following your unfortunate accident during your stay. Please know that we take such incidents seriously and are committed to ensuring the comfort and satisfaction of all our guests.

We regret to hear that the support provided did not meet your expectations. Charging for the wheelchair and restricting its use to the resort grounds is not in line with our ethos of guest care and service. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and we are actively revisiting our policies including staff retraining to improve our services and ensure that our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay, especially in times of distress.

Furthermore, we are disheartened to learn about the delays and lack of proactive assistance from our team. This does not represent the high standard of hospitality we aim to uphold. Rest assured, we are addressing this internally to ensure our management and staff are more responsive and empathetic towards the needs of our guests.

We are currently implementing improvements based on your comments, including additional staff training on better support and facilities for guests experiencing similar situations. We value your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your faith in our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

Stayed here after pacific resort Aitutaki and to say it was a shock is an understatement.
This is not a 4.5 or 4 star resort. It probably sits at 3 stars.
We had a Premium Beachfront Suite and have no idea how they can charge NZ$950 a night.
We travel and stay in beautiful 5 star resorts that far outshine this resort.
To pay this exorbitant price per night and not even have dressing gowns in the room is ridiculous. Bathroom amenities consist of sanitary bag and make up remover. Really?
One bottle of drinking water is all you get, we weren’t even told of a refill station near the restaurant, luckily we found it hidden on a wall behind a staircase.
This is an old resort with rooms interior updated.
But again how unacceptable having a premium room with your bathroom window opening out into public walkway, the front door has glass on the side only covered with a privacy frosting that’s been scratched off and anyone can look in and see everything.
This resort is probably only good for families but at the cost it could become out of reach of many.
Dinner at Sandals restaurant started off lovely, nice food then came along a dirty cat, sitting right beside tables with staff not even removing the thing even though it was non stop scratching.
Will we return, no.
Do we recommend, no.
Much better resorts to choose from.

Room tip: Look elsewhere
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pacific Resort, Owner at Pacific Resort Rarotonga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. We are genuinely sorry to hear that your stay did not meet the high standards you expected, and that we aim to uphold for all our guests.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the amenities in our Premium Beachfront Suite. It’s important to note that as part of our commitment to environmental sustainability, especially being located on a small tropical island, we have minimized the number of disposable and single use items in our rooms. This decision is part of a broader initiative in the hospitality industry to reduce environmental harm and footprint. However, we understand that these details matter to our guests, and we want to assure you that any additional amenities you require are readily available upon request from our guest services desk.

We are also taking your comments about privacy and water provisions seriously and retraining our guest service team to ensure effective communication about the amenities available on-site.

Please know that your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve. We regret that your experience was not as expected, but we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future and restore your confidence in our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews