We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SianGillanders
Paihia, New Zealand

Awesome location, awesome hosts/staff, great value for money !!!

Review of Kura's Kabanas
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Jun 2022
Just had six nights, 3 friends, staying in an upstairs family unit at Kuras Kabanas!! What a fabulous stay - cannot recommend enough….
Very clean, beautifully central to all Muri offers and really lovely staff looking after you.
Will definitely be back - thank you to the team for making our visit very special X
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$725
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $725
  • Vio.com
    $687
  • Hotels.com
    $725
0.5 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$310
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Agoda.com
$229
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Destinia.com
0.1 km from Kura's Kabanas
Booking.com
$450
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $450
  • Hotels.com
    $397
  • Expedia.com
    $450
1.8 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $470
  • StayForLong
0.4 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.7 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.7 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
6.5 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Muri
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
78
53
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
53
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family unit location is great muri area beautiful lagoon muri night market fay accommodation paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2022

Finding Kura's Kabanas when searching for accommodation in the Muri area was my lucky day. The first bonus was the manager Fay who not only helped before arrival but continued to care for us throughout our stay. The location is great, was quiet, clean and we were lucky enough to be only 15metres from the lagoon. There are kayaks, snorkelling gear and beach feet available and the snorkelling immediately in front was really good. Value for money this couldn't be beaten and I would not hesitate to return to this provider.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dkwishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2021

It has already been a year since we found this beautiful piece of land, Rarotonga and Kura's Kabanas. Rarotonga really feels and looks like paradise and the owners of Kura's Kabanas make your stay just even more wonderful.
They are really nice and we would like to thank Fay again that she refunded 100 % of our not consumed night because we decided to leave earlier due to the starting Covid-19 crisis in March 20. We have never met so lovely and generous people.
Fay and her team are great and if you live in one of this Kabanas you never want to leave again - all you need to explore this island is a kayak which is included in your price and is just in front of the doorstep of your kabana.

Thank you again and wish you all the best from the other side of the world :)
Jeannine + Benjamin

Date of stay: April 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeany_traveldeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2020

Kia Orana,
Great location for touring the island from. Kabana #1 is just a few meters from the water, best one out of the four. Faye – the manager was extremely helpful. She gave us her personal phone number to call if, after hours, we needed something. Which it turned out to be the case when we needed help lighting the oven one evening to prepare our dinner.
There was a gas BBQ within steps of Kabana #1, which we used a couple of times. The kitchen was equipped with the minimum of cooking and eating items. Could have used lids for pots and pans.. We made due with the aluminum foil that was there.
It had a microwave but no dishes or microwavable ware to cook with. With the plastic wrap we brought along with the dishes that were there, we were OK..
There were chickens and dogs everywhere. The dogs were real friendly. True beggar dogs. There were many different breads,Labs, herding dogs (NZ input obviously), etc. Most all we saw were healthy, some even had collars with tags on.
There were coconut crab holes all over the place. Watch where you walk. Some of the crabs were very big and therefore their holes we also big.
The hot water was solar heated, the problem was when you have cloudy rainy weather for a couple days straight you have no hot water for showers. Brrrrr.
We are scuba divers, the dive shop was just about 75 meters down the road, an easy walk.
Small convenience stores were near by. Lot of eating places also were near. You need to rent a car to get around.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Captchris8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2019

I live in London, my parents live in New Zealand, and for their 50th wedding anniversary they visited Kura’s Kabanas in Muri, Rarotonga.
My brother and I couldn’t be home to celebrate this amazing time with our folks, but when we sent a note to Kura’s in the hopes of being able to arrange something special for them during their stay, we struck absolute gold when Fay answered our call!
Fay moved mountains to help us spoil our gorgeous parentals, not even kidding. She sourced and purchased champagne, printed out tickets to the show we bought for our folks, arranged a special bouquet of flowers for a special ‘mate’s rates’ price through a friend, placed a congratulations card from she and Kura’s in their room, moved them to an upgraded bure and spoilt them silly during their stay.
The card I sent from the UK didn’t arrive in time, so she’s also repackaged and re-posted that on to their home in NZ for me.
She is EXTRAORDINARY.
International payment from my UK account for the champagne and flowers simply would not cooperate, so Fay found a work-around (through her brother in NZ!) to help fix that issue, too.
She offered suggestions, better ideas than we’d had and so much support to my brother and I to enable us to help celebrate our parent’s marriage milestone from afar.
Ma and Pa felt like royalty, absolutely raved about the location and things to do and scenery and service during their stay at Kura’s in Muri, as well as obviously absolutely adoring Fay and the team!
I’ll forever be grateful to Fay for her unbelievable level of genuinely friendly, thoughtful, selfless and generous help.
So yeah ... highly recommended by someone who hasn’t even stayed there (yet!), and her parents, who have.
Thank you x1,000,000 Fay and Kura’s Kabanas, you’re awesome!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerryn747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2019

This little place on the lagoon around the corner from the expensive Muri Beach hotels is an insider’s cache. Basic, but very clean accommodations in a central location off the main drag where the resort is somewhat protected from the off shore winds, it is definitely well worth the money.

Breakfast spots, Supermarkets, Muri evening Market and water activities are all within easy walking distance. With the island bus stop at the top of the drive, getting into town and around the Island is a breeze. The resort places loads of island information in your room, take special note of the bus time table, or you could be standing around for an hour between busses.

The resort has a convenient deck, BBQ and plenty of wonderful visiting island dogs to make you feel ‘at home’.

Fully equipped with the added bonus of free canoes, kayaks, beach shoes, beach towels and snorkels.

Room tip: Request cabanas 1 - 3 (1 being closest to the Gazebo and Water)
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews