We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Captchris8
San Diego, California

Kura's Kabanas a Kool place to stay.

Review of Kura's Kabanas
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Mar 2020
Kia Orana,
Great location for touring the island from. Kabana #1 is just a few meters from the water, best one out of the four. Faye – the manager was extremely helpful. She gave us her personal phone number to call if, after hours, we needed something. Which it turned out to be the case when we needed help lighting the oven one evening to prepare our dinner.
There was a gas BBQ within steps of Kabana #1, which we used a couple of times. The kitchen was equipped with the minimum of cooking and eating items. Could have used lids for pots and pans.. We made due with the aluminum foil that was there.
It had a microwave but no dishes or microwavable ware to cook with. With the plastic wrap we brought along with the dishes that were there, we were OK..
There were chickens and dogs everywhere. The dogs were real friendly. True beggar dogs. There were many different breads,Labs, herding dogs (NZ input obviously), etc. Most all we saw were healthy, some even had collars with tags on.
There were coconut crab holes all over the place. Watch where you walk. Some of the crabs were very big and therefore their holes we also big.
The hot water was solar heated, the problem was when you have cloudy rainy weather for a couple days straight you have no hot water for showers. Brrrrr.
We are scuba divers, the dive shop was just about 75 meters down the road, an easy walk.
Small convenience stores were near by. Lot of eating places also were near. You need to rent a car to get around.
Date of stay: February 2020
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$725
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $724
  • Hotels.com
    $649
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
$722
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $612
  • Expedia.com
    $611
  • Tripadvisor
    $611
0.4 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
$500
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $488
  • Hotels.com
    $441
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
$232
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Destinia.com
0.1 km from Kura's Kabanas
$299
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
0.1 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
6.5 km from Kura's Kabanas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Muri
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
78
53
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
78
53
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family unit location is great muri area beautiful lagoon muri night market fay accommodation paradise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019

I live in London, my parents live in New Zealand, and for their 50th wedding anniversary they visited Kura’s Kabanas in Muri, Rarotonga.
My brother and I couldn’t be home to celebrate this amazing time with our folks, but when we sent a note to Kura’s in the hopes of being able to arrange something special for them during their stay, we struck absolute gold when Fay answered our call!
Fay moved mountains to help us spoil our gorgeous parentals, not even kidding. She sourced and purchased champagne, printed out tickets to the show we bought for our folks, arranged a special bouquet of flowers for a special ‘mate’s rates’ price through a friend, placed a congratulations card from she and Kura’s in their room, moved them to an upgraded bure and spoilt them silly during their stay.
The card I sent from the UK didn’t arrive in time, so she’s also repackaged and re-posted that on to their home in NZ for me.
She is EXTRAORDINARY.
International payment from my UK account for the champagne and flowers simply would not cooperate, so Fay found a work-around (through her brother in NZ!) to help fix that issue, too.
She offered suggestions, better ideas than we’d had and so much support to my brother and I to enable us to help celebrate our parent’s marriage milestone from afar.
Ma and Pa felt like royalty, absolutely raved about the location and things to do and scenery and service during their stay at Kura’s in Muri, as well as obviously absolutely adoring Fay and the team!
I’ll forever be grateful to Fay for her unbelievable level of genuinely friendly, thoughtful, selfless and generous help.
So yeah ... highly recommended by someone who hasn’t even stayed there (yet!), and her parents, who have.
Thank you x1,000,000 Fay and Kura’s Kabanas, you’re awesome!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerryn747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2019

This little place on the lagoon around the corner from the expensive Muri Beach hotels is an insider’s cache. Basic, but very clean accommodations in a central location off the main drag where the resort is somewhat protected from the off shore winds, it is definitely well worth the money.

Breakfast spots, Supermarkets, Muri evening Market and water activities are all within easy walking distance. With the island bus stop at the top of the drive, getting into town and around the Island is a breeze. The resort places loads of island information in your room, take special note of the bus time table, or you could be standing around for an hour between busses.

The resort has a convenient deck, BBQ and plenty of wonderful visiting island dogs to make you feel ‘at home’.

Fully equipped with the added bonus of free canoes, kayaks, beach shoes, beach towels and snorkels.

Room tip: Request cabanas 1 - 3 (1 being closest to the Gazebo and Water)
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2019

Really enjoyed our stay here, the Cabins are a bit shabby but clean and tidy.. a great deck to have drinks and food with lounger and table and chairs..
The place is very peaceful with nice birds singing away..
location is great, just a walk down the beach or road to restaurants and bars..
Night market is about a 3 minute walk..
Faye the manager is super helpful and very approachable..
Definitely would stay again

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jade a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2019

This place is a great find and in a super convenient location. The Kabanas themselves are older and could probably do with a spruce up - but they still had a lovely island vibe to them. We loved having a large balcony to enjoy our meals and the convenience of being able to cook and prepare them there. Would recommend this place for a relaxing stay in Rarotonga. And thank you to the manager there, we didn't get to speak much but you made us feel so welcome and made sure we had everything we needed.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomarie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2019

We had a great family holiday at Kura's Kabanas. Thwere were 14 of us in one Kabana and three family units. It was just great to see all the kids and grand kids playing together and it was so relaxed and easy to keep an eye on the younger kids. Right on the lagoon and very handy to the attractions of Muri, probably the best area on the Island. Very helpful and friendly staff. I hope we get the opportunity to return.
Thannks Kura

PS the Laundry was two door down the road and $6 per load

Room tip: Family units for kids, Kabana's for couples
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rustyhailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews