We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LeanneTN
Auckland, New Zealand

Incredible stay - true paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 May 2024
Almost perfect. The Villa, beds, pillows, the view, the pool, and grounds, the location and the staff were all incredible. The breakfasts delivered to our room each morning were lovely, fresh and enjoyable. The only thing that could have improved was varying the food every couple of days. Highly, highly recommend
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$450
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $450
  • Agoda.com
    $370
  • Hotels.com
    $397
1.3 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Pool
$232
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Booking.com
  • Destinia.com
0.4 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
$310
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
0.5 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
0.1 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
0.1 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
0.6 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Te Vakaroa Villas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Muri
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
184
18
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
184
18
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every morning bedroom villa sails restaurant muri beach the ground floor tropical breakfast captain tamas right next door star luxury front gate a lovely place to stay kayak hire small resort night market daily breakfast travel agent self catering
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2024

"Located in the heart of Rarotonga, this property offers the quintessential island experience. With its pristine beach boasting warm, inviting waters, it truly embodies paradise. Each villa provides breathtaking views, ensuring every moment is picture-perfect.

The staff's hospitality surpassed our expectations. Despite our late arrival due to a flight delay, Nick warmly welcomed us and guided us to our spacious 2-bedroom villa, perfectly accommodating our family of four.

Throughout our stay, the property's upkeep was impeccable, allowing everyone to find their own serene space, whether lounging on the beach or by the pool. It provided the ideal setting for us to disconnect from the chaos of everyday life, offering a truly relaxing retreat.

As seasoned travelers, having explored numerous islands across the globe, we confidently recommend this hidden gem. Its intimate, personalized atmosphere sets it apart from larger resorts, aligning perfectly with our preference for a more authentic experience. Booking here guarantees an unforgettable getaway; you won't be disappointed."

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getaway62661203055
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

We stayed in December 2023.
3 out of 5 stars. Would give 5 stars if not for the gardener and reception.
The villas at Te Vakaroa are centrally located in the suburb of Muri right on the Muri beach lagoon next door to the Sailing Club and short walking distance to the Muri Night Markets and Te Vara Nui Village Spectacular which is a cultural overwater night show and traditional buffet dinner of the local people.
We stayed in a one bedroom villa which was roomy and comfortable and nicely decorated. The complex is beautiful and the design is stunning and excellent. The views overlooking the pool and Muri Lagoon out to the ocean are beautiful.
On arrival all the lounge cushions for all the chairs was piled high under a villa balcony, which looked a tad uninviting.
This place has an excellent location with well equipped villas.
HOWEVER, This place had one very big major downfall. “The gardener”. When you pay good money to go on a holiday and relax, and these villas are not cheap accommodation, the last thing you need or want is a person using a leaf blower at 7.30am in the morning. For an adults only boutique resort, to escape noisy children, no one needs this noise. There is no sleeping in at this place, even with ear plugs. On day one of our stay, I asked him why he was using a leaf blower waking people up and why he couldn’t use a broom considering the place is a small complex with only 6 luxury villas. No apology for waking you up, just the gardener advising that it is less noisy then their old blower as it is electric and not petrol and he replied “It would take all day and that I would be woken up anyway at 8am by next door using their petrol blower”. After being abruptly woken up, I then sat there having a few cups of tea and advise by 10.30am, no one else in the area was using any power tools, petrol or electric leaf blowers. Whilst sitting under the outside balcony watching the pool and lagoon having been woken up by the gardener, we noticed the gardener blow all the leaf matter and dust into the pool and then spend an hour and a half using a net to get it out. Would have been quicker to sweep it up with a rake, broom and dust pan and not dirty the pool water which he rectified by putting a bag of salt chlorine into the pool. Would have also been more environmentally sustainable using a broom for such a small area and more importantly respecting paying guests to enjoy their holiday. The next day after being woken up again, the gardener used a broom. At the 2 other resorts in the Cook Islands we stayed at, no other venue was using any power tools before 10am (ie. Checkout Time) this was probably because paying guests could sleep in on their holidays.
The day after that, the gardener was back to using the leaf blower but this time at 7.50am.
As for reception we found Poko to be a tad apathetic and was hardly ever there. Reception was open only for a couple hours on most of the days we were there. The cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. The ice machine is an excellent feature and needed in the Cook Island weather.
The gardens and water features are well designed and aesthetically pleasing and nicely landscaped in a secure boutique complex.
The gardener and the use of leaf blowers so early in the morning let the atmosphere of such a well appointed design of boutique villas in a perfect location down.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas Reeves, Owner at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2024

Kia Orana

Thank you for your detailed review.

I am very sorry you had to endure the noise in the morning which is totally unacceptable as is rudeness and apathy.
I explained to the staff that the guests are on holiday and want peace and quiet, even a sleep in, not too much to ask.
I have had a meeting with my staff Poko and Jerson the gardener about your review and expect some commonsense, manners and diligence in their work in future.

The neighbour has also been asked to not use his petrol blower until at least 8.30am in future, just plain ignorant.

The cushions piled up was due to them being wet after a rain storm and they were piled in there to attempt to dry them.
I have advised the staff to put them else where to dry.

Staff are one of my biggest challenges here on a small island, believe me and I really do appreciate feedback, both good and bad.

I sincerely apologize and do hope you can accept this.

Meitaki

Nick Reeves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2023

I can not say enough good things about this place. Our host Nick, was amazing and really made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our villa was incredible and honestly made us feel at home. So spacious and top quality and the views from the balcony were breathtaking. The swimming pool and spa were honestly a highlight and the grounds were immaculate. The use of snorkeling gear and SUP boards were a hit with the teens as the beach was meters away. Highly recommend and we will honestly be returning when we can!

Room tip: Pool is incredible and just slightly heated.
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KimPNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2023

This was an outstanding experience right from the start. From the service and explanation of the site when we arrived, the welcome and the quality of the facilities just made everything easy.

We have been to Raro a number of times and usually stayed at the bigger resorts, however the more boutique nature of this 6 unit property really made the stay so much more personal. The pool was never crowded, the beach was right there but you have excellent privacy and we didn't miss the restaurants as the night market is literally at the end of the drive. If that dosent work for you there are any number of restaurants, cafes and resorts close by including the sailing club.

The facilities in house were fantastic including the washer and dryer in your unit which made our visit so much more comfortable (We were away for 14 days so knowing that we could easily do laundry we brought less gear)

The weather was sometimes average (middle of winter) so the heated pool and spa meant that we still swam and the unit had loads of space to read uninterrupted (indoor and out) and if so inclined there was an excellent selection of movies with sky in our unit. For this visit we spend more time on the property than out, relaxing, reading, paddleboarding and swimming then we normally would. We did notice the lagoon cruise team loading up and using the drums but that added rather than detracted from the experience and was fun watching that from the deck. The bedrooms are at the back so very quiet.

I cant say enough about this place, when we come back to Raro this is where we will be staying.

Thanks for an amazing trip
Michael and amanda

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sequoiah1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas Reeves, Owner at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2023

Thank you Michael and Amanda for your fabulous review.

We are always trying to think of ways to improve our property and believe heating the pool has been a huge success.

We are truly a boutique property and the pool is never crowded, as we only have around 12 to 18 people in house at any given time and some go out during the day.

We hope to see you back again in the not too distant future.

Meitaki

Nick Reeves

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2023 via mobile

A perfect place to stay. On the beach, spacious apartment, close to everything and very helpful host. The pool is perfect. Private and luxurious. Thoroughly recommend as a lovely place to stay for those wanting some sun and a special place to relax. Paddle boards available. Everything you need is here. Will be back. Thank you Nick

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Voyager62432793885
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicholas Reeves, Owner at Te Vakaroa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2023

Kia Orana

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased you had a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews