We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of PREUIL COTTAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Saint-Amand-Montrond, Cher, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Daniel G
Chantilly, France
2 reviews
“An excellent experience”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in July 2017

To begin with ,it is a beautiful site . The chateau is surrounded by a lovely park in the middle of the peaceful countryside . We received a warm welcome by the owners and had a delicious dinner on the evening of our arrival. It is the ideal place to relax in and get away from it all.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiseski...
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous jewel in the heart of France”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in July 2016

From the moment we arrived at the cottage we were not disappointed. Absolutely fabulous setting, so peaceful and tranquil, exactly what we needed. The accommodation was superb, spacious, very clean, welcoming and very well-equipped. The owners, Bernard and Marie are very hospitable, and were there to meet us when we arrived, showing us around explaining details we needed to know about the pool etc. We were invited for drinks and canapes up at the Chateau one evening which was delightful, sampling Marie's rum punch and samosas!!
The pool was lovely, we were in most days, having a bathroom poolside was also very useful. There are tennis courts on the land which we also used. Local village shops are very closeby, and a larger supermarket is only a ten minute easy drive away. We will definitely be returning!
Thank you Bernard, Marie, and Chloe for making our holiday so enjoyable.

The Johnstone family

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesr0bi...
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic week staying at Preuil Cottage. The cottage is very well equipped and maintained to a high standard. The pool was fantastic, very clean and heated to a perfect temperature.
We are a family of 5 with children ranging in age from 8-14 and this was the ideal holiday for all of them, They made full use of the swimming pool, tennis court and the beautiful grounds of the Chateau. There is abundant wildlife which we all thoroughly enjoyed watching and photographing.
Our hosts made us very welcome and had the balance just right to allow us plenty of privacy to relax and enjoy our holiday whilst also ensuring we were well looked after.
I would recommend Preuil Cottage and hope that we will return for holidays in the future.
Robinson Family

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind visit at Preuil and your review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday in the Berry countryside and we would be delighted to welcome your lovely family again.

Warm regards

Bernard & Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bud G
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idillic getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very well equipped cottage with fantastic private swimming pool. The house is very spacious and the private setting is lovely in the chateau's park land.

Very suitable for our disabled son especially the profiling bed. We did need to bring our own hoist though. Wide doors and easy access throughout.

The only downside was the mosquitoes in the evening and the ant invasion that occurred one night.

Everyone was very welcoming without being intrusive and we were given frequent gifts of Eggs, a lovely quiche and flowers form Marie Pierre and Anya

Thanks for a wonderful holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Swimming Pool and Disabled Facilities
Liked least: Mosqitoes and Ants
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome your family and we are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday in our countryside.
Warm regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa R
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is the best gite we have stayed in - and we have stayed in quite a few. Preuil Cottage was the cleanest, and best equipped gite. During our trip this year, we have stayed in 4 gites in France, Preuil Cottage was the first on our trip and was by far the best. Each gite we stayed in after Preuil was a let down. Quite simply we wish every gite was to this standard of cleanliness, condition, and facilities which were offered. The kindness and hospitality from Bernard and Marie was great and the private pool and having access to the ground of the chateau was superb. If ever we are in that area of France again I would stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gite, the pool, the chateau grounds
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thank you Lisa and Mark,
We were delighted to welcome your lovely family and are very happy you enjoyed your holiday in our gite.

Warm regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing