We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cabin at North Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cabin at North Lodge
Night time in the hot tub Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The Cabin at North Lodge
Night time in the hot tub
Lounge area
The shower room
Daytime view from the hot tub
Sleeping area
Lounge area
Lounge area with dvd player and a selection of dvds
Kitchen area with 2 burner hob, microwave, toaster & fridge freezer
Sitting area to admire the view and watch the wildlife from the veranda
Panoramic photo of the view from the veranda in winter
Enjoying a quiet paddle on the pond below the cabin
The view across the fields from the veranda
A wildlife haven including deer, kingfishers and even the occasional otter!
A morning visitor
The view of the Deer visiting the pond from the Cabin
unexpected guests!
Fishing the Border Esk, famous for both salmon & sea trout
The Border Esk is only 5 minutes walk away & we can arrange permits for guests.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cassie E
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a stunning place!!!! Very peaceful and relaxing which is exactly what we wanted. Plenty of wildlife around the pond too. The Hot Tub is the perfect place to relax with a bottle of veeno or two and take in the changes of the wildlife from daylight to dusk then to darkness!!! Just what we needed for a few days getaway :-) xxxxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the Hot Tub watching the world go by
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing week.”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have just returned from our week in the cabin. We wish we could have stayed for longer!

We were greeted by Stuart on our arrival who showed us where everything was. He is extremely friendly and gave a warm welcome which was a great start. Stuart and Joanne then left us to our own devices for the rest of the week, but were always on hand if we needed anything.

The cabin itself is lovely and comfortable and has everything we needed. While it doesn't have an oven, we made plenty of use of the slow cooker. We loved the hot tub - a great place to spend an evening with plenty of wildlife to watch.

There are plenty of picturesque walks to in the area, either right on the doorstep or a short drive away.

Overall, a terrific week away and we can't wait to return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thelonero...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect escape”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at the Cabin for three nights between Christmas and New Year, with the hot tub on the balcony. Stuart and Joanne are incredibly friendly and helpful, while also being happy to leave you to your own devices. The cabin was always warm and comfortable, even when it was -6C outside. While we were there to escape from modern life for a few days there is WiFi, digital TV and a DVD player. There's no oven but with the hob and microwave you can cook everything you need to keep you going and there are shops in nearby villages if you need anything.

The area is beautiful, well worth a return trip to explore more. If you're into stargazing then you won't find many better places, relaxing in the hot tub looking at the milky way has to be the best way to spend a holiday. There's a massive variety of wildlife too, with woodpecker, nuthatch and more routine garden birds visiting the feeder on the balcony while deer roam the fields around the pond.

I'll be recommending the Cabin (and the B&B - it looked lovely!) to anyone who'll listen. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire
Liked least: Realising there wasn't an oven after we'd bought lots of food to roast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebeccago...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best weekend I have had in a long time!”
Reviewed 19 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing weekend away the view is fab when your sitting in the hot tub the cabin is cosy and has everything you would need for a weekend away. Would definitely recommend to any couple who want a quiet getaway. Owners are lovely and would do anything to help you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little cabin”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We used this cabin as a base to explore the surrounding areas, as there is a lot to do around the area. However the cabin was so nice that we couldn't help but spend some quality time there, in the hot tub and relaxing. It is very quiet and private. Couldn't recommend it more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing