We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family cottage in Scotland”
other travellers have booked this property
Broomholmknowe Cottage was renovated in 2015 and sits on a private 75 acre fishing estate.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Broomholmknowe Cottage was renovated in 2015 and sits on a private 75 acre fishing estate.
Located 1/2 mile from Langholm. Perfectly positioned for the Borders and Cumbria. Wonderful walks, cycling or visiting the local attractions. The cottage is located on the Border Esk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Broomholmknowe Cottage was renovated in 2015 and sits on a private 75 acre fishing estate.
Located 1/2 mile from Langholm. Perfectly positioned for the Borders and Cumbria.
Wonderful walks, cycling or visiting the local attractions. The cottage is located on the Border Esk
The main bedroom with ensuite bathroom
The kitchen area which has a dishwasher and washing machine
The Kitchen
The sitting room which has a fireplace, tv with sky, wifi and writing desk
The view from the sitting room towards the hall and kitchen
The hall area
One of the three bedrooms
The second bathroom which is shared by the two bedrooms
There is a terrace area at Broomholmknowe with table, chairs and BBQ set.
The view from Broomholmknowe Cottage looking down towards the Upper Beat on the Border Esk
The view looking towards the Island on the Upper Beat
The view from the bridge looking down towards the Island Pool on the Upper Beat
The fishing hut on the lower beat which is perfect for lunches
Abbotsford. The famous home of Sir Walter Scott. Only 45 minutes away.
The beautiful and austere Hermitage Castle. Not far from Broomholmknowe Cottage
View in spring time looking towards Skippers bridge at Langholm
Summer is perfect for BBQ's on the terrace
Spring is a wonderful time to stay at Broomholm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Langholm, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian W
Alpes
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect family cottage in Scotland”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Had a three day break in Broomholmknowe Cottage with my family and loved it, the cottage is of a high standard and the attention to details is great, little things like teddy's on the children's beds make it a home from home and the location is fantastic. Thank you very much to the owners and we will be returning very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard of cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badgie
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage, lovely location, cannot recommend enough”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at Broomholmknowe Cottage, arriving on Boxing Day 2013. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard, really comfortable and beautifully decorated with a very well equipped and spacious kitchen. Our 2 teenage sons thought it was the best cottage we have stayed in so far (& there have been quite a few!)- we agree! It is a nice 30 minute walk to town where you will find a couple of good pubs/cafes and a co-op supermarket. The cottage is set within extensive grounds with great walks from the doorstep - the scenery around the river is stunning. We are already planning our next stay- most definitely recommended! (The friendly owner is sometimes out of the country so response to enquiries can be delayed, but be patient- it's well worth the wait!)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomT28_11
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage, everything you would want from a holiday let”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Broomholmknowe in September. It has just been refurbished to a very high standard and has everything you need. The location is great - in a private setting within the Broomholm estate with open fields and ancient woodland on either side of the cottage. The river is a stones throw away. Fantastic base for fishing, walking and exploring. I would thoroughly recommend this place although am slightly reluctant to do so as I don't want it to be booked up for my return visit next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, overall standard,
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyPandy...
Buckinghamshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly beautiful place and so well presented.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to rent Broomholm Knowe as pretty much the first inhabitants. Firstly the cottage itself is so incredibly presented with beautiful interior with a focus on the fishing as well as Russia where I believe one of the owners is originally from. Washing machine, dishwasher< Sky (if for some mad reason you don't want to go outside), WiFi and all the usual mod cons although with the weather we didn't need use the drying room even once! Scotland?!

The fishing is superb - the surroundings are beautiful and we caught a few sea trout while we were there so all went away delighted. Bryan the Ghillie is a pleasure and his knowledge knows no bounds - thank you sir for all your help!

Absolutely recommend this place to anyone who wants to fly fish and anyone else who wants to spend a relaxing time in an incredible part of the UK - quite often overlooked in a desperate attempt to reach Glasgow or Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location, superb fishing.
Liked least: Cliche, but having to leave.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing