We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hayloft

Hayloft master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hayloft master bedroom
Hayloft with Kingsize Bed Hayloft sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Hayloft master bedroom
Hayloft with Kingsize Bed
Hayloft sitting room
Hayloft sitting room with log fire
Hayloft Kitchen
Hayloft kitchen
Hayloft kitchen
Hayloft Sitting Room
Hayloft Master Bedroom
Birds eye view of sitting room
Hayloft master bedroom with kingsize bed
Hayloft bathroom basin
Hayloft bathroom
View from Hayloft kitchen
Cooking essentials
Log fire
View of Hayloft from house garden
View of Upper Foxhangers from Canal Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rowde, Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DenaRusse...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful barn conversion. Great location right next to the canal. And lovely walks to debizes and rowde. Only negative, instructions on how to use the log burner (as never used one before) would have been useful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilovecake...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ideal location for walking along the Kennet and Avon Canal”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We chose the Hayloft because of its close location to the Kennet and Avon canal. 5 minutes walk and you are on the tow path near the famous Caen Locks. The hayloft is ideal for 2 people with a spacious bedroom, kitchen and lounge.
The accomodation was clean, warm and comfortable. lots of hot water for a soak in the Bath after a long walk( no shower). and a log burning stove for evenings by the fire.
We ate at Melksham tandoori 1 night, the food was delicious.
We enjoyed a day visiting Lacock where we had a lovely lunch at Sign of the Angel and a drink at The Rising Sun Bowden Hill near Lacock. with a fabulous view.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistlema...
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Very nice week”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a very pleasant week at The Hayloft and thought it was lovely. We were surprised how spacious it is, especially the kitchen and bedroom. The property is comfortable and warm, the log burner doing a splendid job of heating the whole apartment. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well, though one can hear the traffic on the busy nearby main road. The window blinds let a lot of light through, which on a sunny Summer morning might make for an early wake-up!

It's useful having a downstairs toilet as well as the one in the bathroom. I would have preferred a shower to a bath, though my wife prefers the latter. Although impractical now, the upstairs area would have been large enough to accommodate a shower unit as well as a bath. The kitchen is well-equipped. The only missing item I would have liked is a washing-up bowl. WiFi worked well throughout the apartment.

We liked the fact that we could walk from the garden directly to the canal towpath and walks in both directions are very pleasant. We ate at The Crown in Devizes, The Cross Keys in Rowde village and The Barge Inn in Seend Cleeve - all were good, the latter being the most classy but also the most expensive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner
Liked least: The fact that it was too light in the bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy bed
Liked least: Nothing, everything was great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
XtinaP13
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely winter stay”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We rented the Hayloft cottage the week before Christmas and truly enjoyed our stay. Tastefully renovated, very roomy and very warm and cozy with the wood burning stove. The kitchen was very well equipped and a good size and the bedroom had a very comfortable bed and gave us lovely views from its many windows. A bit of a shocker that their wasn't a shower due to the low ceiling but we embraced it. Its located along the locks which is really nice for taking walks and getting into town if you don't have a car. Cable TV and fun board games to boot. We would definitely stay here again in the summer time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing