We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
2
3
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
3
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We had travelled around the East Cape and had no cellphone reception all day. The very friendly and gracious lady at Ranui Motel saved us from spending the night in the car, after everything was closed just after 9pm! She came down from her home, opened reception, checked us into a splendid 2-bedroom apartment, all for a very reasonable price. The bed was the most comfortable ever and the place spotlessly clean and tidy. Will only stay here when I come to Opotiki again!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwikindl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

I have stayed in many accomodation in small town but this has to be my favourite.
Although you may be fooled by exterior the rooms offer clean beds/bedding
Clean rooms great service an awesome pool to cool off central to gas station/New world and very helpful owners!

Have stayed in
Studio
1 bedroom and 2 bedroom suites
All spacious and clean

Will always go back
Owners do not bug you and leave you be

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MrsTeWini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and this does go a long way to making anyone's stay pleasant, however the room is small and basic with no wardrobe and a TV that did not work properly. The outdoor wicker chairs had worn through so bits of wood had been screwed over them - very uncomfortable to sit on. Even replacing the thin towels would be a start, but this motel, although of an older style, does need updating.

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

One night for three people found this establishment to be clean and tidy, staff very good. Our unit was close to the main road which is quite busy even in the evening, so if possible avoid the first unit.

Room tip: Avoid the unit nearest the main road, traffic noise may be a problem even during the night
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NZConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

First overnight stay with Whanau (family) on our trip round the East Coast of New Zealand.

Motel was clean and the tariff reflected this. The owner was friendly and quickly showed us to our appointed rooms. Our room had a shower over a spa bath, which was a tad naff as there were no grab rails, if one did slip. There was no curtain to stop water from going out over the floor, which was also a nuisance, because the whole floor became wet even the area around the toilet. There was the usual tea & coffee making facilities as well as complimentary milk. The TV didn’t work properly, of which we only wanted to watch the news, but that didn’t happen.

Basically you get what you pay for, one night was ok, but any longer would be a trial.

We walked into the town looking for a place to eat, which is another story but with a happy ending.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews