We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$203
US$197
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caley Hall Hotel(Hunstanton)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Park View B & B(Sedgeford)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magazine Wood(Sedgeford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
The Lodge Inn(Old Hunstanton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
247
90
21
36
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
247
90
21
36
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguinea fowlevening mealsea basssteak and ale piewilliam ivpork bellypeddars waysunday roastlovely pubnorth norfolkwaiting stafflocal producefeel very welcomebiscuitsfull english breakfastlovely roomnick
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Have visited this bar and restaurant on several occasions now. The food is always very good, service excellent and on top of that this establishment is also very dog friendly. Highly rated on all accounts.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived around 6pm and were greeted by a very helpful member of staff named Tom. We were shown up to our room, which was small but very clean. It was somewhat dominated by a huge double pine wardrobe and the bathroom was carpeted. That aside, everything was spotlessly clean and comfortable and The White Company products were a very nice touch. The real snag for us was how much noise we could hear from the next door room .....the guests of which were not loud in anyway, but we could hear their talking and using the bathroom/shower. It made us feel a little conspicuous.

The food and the service here is excellent. The breakfast was fresh and cooked to order. All of the waiting staff were incredibly polite.

We were both a little surprised that breakfast at the weekend was only served until 10am. We finished eating at 9.45am the dining room had been/was being cleared up around us.

We would certainly recommend dining here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Twosixsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

The problem for us is that we were looking for a quaint spot in the country for a weekend away. The King William was clearly once a small country pub and was probably very charming. The problem we felt was that it has now been extended and refurbished to within an inch of its life. The bar area is almost entirely turned over to eating and every other conceivable space is similarly decked out. For us, it has completely lost the country feel and felt more like a London harvester than a quaint spot in the countryside. Our dislikes -
* Commercially printed menus on cardboard.
* Replica horse brasses, coal shovels and hunting horn ( truly )
* Industrial carpets throughout the bedrooms which are somewhat reminiscent of a travel lodge.
* Small bedrooms decorated with a business traveller feel.
* No place really for hotel guests to relax away from diners.

Moving on to the food -
* I've never had to send a meal back due to the portion size but I was originally offered the smallest sliver of Steak & Ale Pie one could imagine. Slightly annoying as the place is decked out with pictures of a fabulous pie from their " Tuesday Offer ". Even the waitress looked embarrassed and, to be fair, she took it back and replaced it with a decent portion. It did however take a while to get her attention - see below.
* The other half had a veggie burger. Whilst I'm sure it was home made in the kitchen it didn't sing " home made ", and was offered up without imagination and in a rather dull setting.
* Vegetables were slightly overdone although the carrots were lovely.
* Waiting staff were amazingly friendly but clearly overworked as we had quite a job to get their attention from time to time and also had to stare at our empty plates for quite a whole after finishing. A pet hate of mine.
* If dining in the bar area ( we had a dog ), the waiting staff will not get you drinks and you have to go to the bar yourself. Why? It's the same menu for the same prices. Even more annoying when the bar wasn't manned which happened twice.

This is probably a good place to eat if you're a group out celebrating an event but not really a great dining experience for a couple or smaller number. As for the hotel, I'm afraid to say that there are better places if you looking for a country feel.
We do Norfolk quite a bit so if you don't know the area, I'd make the following alternative suggestions ( all dog friendly for both staying and eating ) -
* Rose and Crown Snettisham ( very close to the King William and our personal favourite ).
* Dabbling Duck Great Massingham.
*Bedingfield Arms , Oxborough.
* Berney Arms, Barton Bendish.

I'm sure some people will love this pub but just not our kind of place which I accept is very subjective.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gundersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekingwilliam, Owner at The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Sirs
Thank you for your comments which, as you say are purely subjective.
The King William was extended in 2009 to provide 5 extra bedrooms, our popular garden restaurant and a new kitchen. The bar area was renovated but kept in its original style with dining for customers and a soft seating area for residents and other visitors. The bar is carpeted in dark brown heavy duty domestic carpet aimed at coping with the many thousands of visitors (and their dogs) that enjoy the King William every year. The carpet is cleaned regularly due to the heavy traffic.
All the 9 bedrooms are furnished to a high standard with handmade old pine furniture, huge king sized double beds (which twin) and well adorned, spotlessly clean bathrooms. The 5 dog friendly bedrooms are generally smaller than our superior, garden facing bedrooms.
Our homemade steak and ale pie is so revered by our customers that has been a permanent feature on our menu for 12 years. Normally of a good enough size to satisfy even the heartiest of appetites. I apologise that on the night in question, your portion was smaller than usual. I am pleased to hear that your waitress replaced the dish with a larger portion.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the King William. Fortunately there are many thousands of visitors each year who enjoy our cosy and friendly country inn. Some 98% of these return time and again, some 3 or 4 times a year.
We are fortunate enough to have been graded with a 4 star silver award status by both the ETC and the AA for some 10 years now. This rating is based on customer service, restaurant offerings and quality, cleanliness and furnishings. I believe that we are the only country inn to achieved this independent grading in West Norfolk. We have an annual assessment by the ETC and AA.
I cannot comment on your comparison with a London Harvester as I have never visited one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely evening at the King William. Booked a table for 8 people. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meal. High quality food, beautifully presented. Gorgeous steak pie, guinea fowl was excellent and desserts were amazing. Staff were lovely and attentive, a must if your visiting the west norfolk coast!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We had booked two rooms for myself, 3 year old son, father/mother in-law and our pet dog. The hotel was easy to find and there was plenty of parking. The hotel is pet friendly and had both rooms next to each other upstairs. The rooms and hallways to me seem a bit dated, but comfortable. To check in, you had to go to the bar instead of the empty front desk reception, this was a little confusing when you first walk in. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, they made us feel welcomed. We had dinner in which I thought the steak was bit tough and my wife’s salmon was a little dry, but the highlight was the cheese board. We liked the cheese board so much we ordered it the next day when we were having drinks. The hotel is a 5-10 minute drive to Hunstanton in a town in the middle of nowhere. This was a great place to have a drink in the bar room with the warm fireplace keeping the place cozy and had some really friendly guests dining in the restaurant. The breakfast was also very good, our family did enjoy the breakfast very much. We would come back, but would rather be closer to Hunstanton.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Daveman0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews