We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
198
139
34
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
139
34
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unkal lake taj group taj gateway lake view swimming pool breakfast spread excellent location in room dining nice property courteous staff dosas value for money rooms are spacious excellent stay excellent food front office small town
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

A hotel initially operated by the Taj. Now operated by the Infrastructure involved owners. Insufficient staff. Very good lake view. Being a taj memory the present maintenance is not good . Average food, Corridors are not cleaned properly. Normally booked for marriages and not attended after the use . food quality average need upgrading facelities if not like taj at least as a three star hotel

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank vkamar49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The building is good. Was it Taj Gateway?
The lake view is refreshingly good.
The room is fine. No problem.

Wifi did not work as it was too slow.

The biggest issues come to the breakfast.
The receptionists repeatedly say the breakfast starts at 7:00.
I went to the restaurant at 7:20, and nobody was there.
Complained to the reception, and they called someone.
The “preparation, not breakfast” started at 7:40.

Ordered and waited for Chai, and it has never come.

The point of the problem is too small number of staff members.
You can hardly see them in the hotel.

I will never stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank W7927SH_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

I had heard about Naveen but there was no occasion.So I got a chance in December 2017 and two families stayed at Naveen.Vow what a scenery!surrounded by Unkal lake.Good polite service from the staff, excellent breakfast and food.No need to go out for a walk.You can stroll within the premises and enjoy.Excellent for a family to stay.The tariff is commensurate with the facilities.Can't believe that we

can have such hotels in India.Great!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank VinayakA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Even in small town - we can get such nice experience, I never expected. Big thank you to front office and house keeping team for giving me home like feeling. Rooms are spacious, food is just amazing - can try any veg food. Yet everything at affordable cost, value for money... Indeed awesome experience!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank NarayanV27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

This is a good hotel having spacious suites and very very spacious bathrooms and drawing rooms. We stayed in suites and were very comfortable. There is a story behind this hotel. It was initially Naveen Hotel, but later on was switched over to Taj Naveen in Hubli, a twin city of Hubli-Dharwad, having lake on its two sides. We arrived in the late evening and were amazed to see the beauty from the room which was a big suite having the lake on its two sides. Having less knowledge of the topography I thought it was the sea, but in the morning found that it was a beautiful lake having a serene look barring one of the corners where the buffaloes were also swimming in the lake. The lake is opened for boating only on Sundays. What a sad thing. The managers of the lake should open it for boating every day. Since everything seems to be reminiscences of the olden Taj days so one can understand the difference in management of everything including the food in the Lake View restaurant of the hotel. The chefs have left, the restaurant wears a deserted look in the lunch, but not in the morning and the night. We saw a reserved table having no diners for two days. The room, drawing room, bathrooms etc. are very comfortable and have the furniture of the Taj days. But in the bathroom with a Jacuzzi, the toiletries are not replenished daily. You will find calculated no. of tea bags and sugar pouches on the racks. The hotel should be more magnanimous in this matter. The linen they have were not changed for many years, but were clean. The swimming pool is quite large, but there were no users I think due to rains. The Management has reduced the no. of employees and have selectively kept the non-smiling lot, and that is right in its own sense as the occupancy seems to have also gone down drastically. This hotel can do much better if the Management comes out of the shock of change over and start managing it with care, because this is a priceless property which can attract lots of visitors, Hubli-Dharwad being big cities. The chefs should also be trained well or changed to cook good food as per the choices of the guests. My companions do not take onion and garlic, but in spite of our best training to the chefs, they could not produce a dish without onion and garlic. These are the issues which should be addressed by the Management. But because this property is on the prime piece of land so they should not allow it to be neglected. This is my sincere advice to them.
In spite of all these things one can stay here and enjoy the beauty of the lake.

Room tip: Lake side rooms are good.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HCSirohi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews