We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Fabian F

Great place - great view - great owner

Review of Avocado Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Aug 2022
Thank you Avocado Lodge for the pleasant stay! We came spontaneously in the evening without booking, though we were welcomed very friendly and everything was made possible. Avocado lodge has a great view over lushoto and is perfectly located for hikes/city tours. The food is very delicious, the rooms are large and everything for a good/fair price. Asante sana Avocado lodge!
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Godwin Nyelo, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 22 Aug 2022
Thank you very much Fabian for staying with us during your recent visit. We hope to see you again soon when you happen to visit this part of the world again. Viellen Danke.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Avocado Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $65
  • Agoda.com
0.3 km from Avocado Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    $78
  • Agoda.com
2.1 km from Avocado Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $54
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Avocado Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Weekend gateaway with my friends to the usambara mountains..
$51
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.2 km from Avocado Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
34.3 km from Avocado Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Vio.com
    $28
4.4 km from Avocado Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
    $62
  • Agoda.com
3.5 km from Avocado Lodge
Restaurant
Mooie ligging in de bergen
$101
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    $67
  • Trip.com
    $70
1.0 km from Avocado Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Priceline
    $28
  • Agoda.com
37.2 km from Avocado Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Lushoto
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
26
10
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
10
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2021

Good stay and queit
just no wifi
and terrible food- better to bring your own or go out to eat. better to order food two hours before as the service takes too long and the food is not to the standard as advertised and pricey.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 348alinaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Godwin Nyelo, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Dear guest, Thanks for your remarks and apologies for your bad experience with the food. We are making some major changes to rectify the food and restaurant services. As you said, we have a separate kitchen for whoever is comfortable making their own food in our hotel. So, you are welcome to bring your own food next time you wish to stay at our place.

As for the Wifi, you were right that it is not working as the service provider is not quick in making repairs to their systems. Therefore, it is also a frustration to us because we have to use other means while waiting for the repairs (of their fibre optic connection).

Again thank you for your choosing to stay with us, and do welcome you to check again next time when you visit Lushoto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2019

While attending a conference at the local university, I had the pleasure of staying at the Avocado Lodge. My room was basic, but neat and clean, and had all of the amenities needed to have a great stay. Breakfast was served daily and had several options. But forget about all of that, it is the view. What an incredible location.

The most special part of this lodge was the owner, Godwin, who went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and pleasant. He was outstanding in every way.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2019

Thanks Samantha for your candid compliments. We are grateful that your stay was as comfortable as we could manage. We are hopeful that you will find some time again in the future to visit us again. We thank and welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2018

I stayed in Avocado Lodge with a group of colleagues for one night, in December 2018. It's a bit off the beaten track, but well worth the trip. Amazing location.

There was construction work going on, so it's not as quiet and peaceful as you'd expect in this region. And it was Friday, so at night the bar down in the valley filled the air with (very) loud music. But the rooms are nice and tidy, the view (although partially obstructed by the hedgerow) beautiful and the staff helpful and friendly.

But this should be a restaurant-review, as the dinner was absolutely stunning! The kitchen staff surely took their time preparing it, but when we finally set down for dinner we were treated on delicious food, full of fresh ingredients. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding, too.

And yes, there was a lot of avocado. ;)

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chilo_Oostergetel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and my sincere apologies for late response. My PC at the hotel had some issues and could not access internet for some time now.

We thank you very much for the candid review, and apologize for the noise associated with the music down town, which was beyond our control. I thank you too for compliments to my restaurant staff for their good work. The construction work you observed is our new larger restaurant which we expect to open mid of 2019. We think you will like it more when you visit us next time.

Again, Thank you and welcome back to visit us when you in the area.
Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Fantastic place located in quiet, peaceful atmosphere on the forested slopes of west usambara mountains with great scenic views of the sorroundings below. We stayed for one night when arriving late from Pangani and on way to Irente. Easily accessible from lushoto town. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean and spacious with outdoor terrace and seats. Family friendly.
There’s an electric kettle in the room so you can make a cup of tea or coffee which can be quite refreshing in the cold evenings. Breakfast is basic.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank WarriorWasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Guest,
Compliments of the new year and sincere apologies for the late response to your candid comments. We thank you so much for your nice words about our lodge. We are trying our level best to make your next stay with us very pleasant.

Thank you and welcome again when we open for business later after major renovations and upgrading.
Regards,
Godwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

First off the views from this lodge are incredible. The gardens are also well taken care of. The rooms are fantastic! modern, spacious, and very well maintained. It was nice having an electric kettle in the room to make tea and coffee since it gets cold at night. Very good hot shower. We had a patio off our room which was great because we could sit out there and enjoy the views. It is also very quiet. So relaxing.

The staff is so friendly and helpful. Dinner is very good with several things to choose from. Since they make everything fresh it can take a while to get your food. This was no problem as we were on vacation and in no hurry. The only slightly disappointing thing was that the breakfast was very basic. But there are extras you can order for a price. We were pleased the staff happily brought breakfast to our room.

The restaurant area is nice because they've installed windows all around so you can enjoy the views.

We loved this place and will stay again when we are in Lushoto. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karibukili
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Godwin N, Owner at Avocado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your candid comments on the breakfast we offer. We are trying our best as this is only a temporary restaurant. We will make some improvements and do hope next time you visit us we would have made the necessary improvements.

Again, Thank you for staying with us, and do welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews