We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Usambara Mountain Hike

This was one of the most beautiful hikes I have ever been on! Said and Hassan made it all the more... read more

Reviewed today
Sep A
Amazing 3 day hike through usambara mountains

Amazing 3 day hike through the usambara mountains with Said - he is an incredibly kind and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Hugo W
Read all 145 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
137
5
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
137
5
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day hike bush baby my boyfriend beautiful trip great guide first night chapatti recommend this trip amazing trek tanzania trip great guy dar es salaam making sure local nature spent days incredible views lovely person
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2024

We had a wonderfull 3 days safari with Saidi. He was very kind en took care of everything. He knows (and cares) a lot about the animals and enviorment we saw and made our trip unforgettable!

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank mieke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

My family and I went on a 3 days safari trip with Said as our guide.
Even on the way to the national park he told us about so many things. We learned a lot about Tanzania, the culture and landscapes.
In the national park he knew everything about the animals and the nature there.

Throughout the whole trip with him, he was very organised which made the plans for the day very clear.

Other than that, It was very nice to talk to and we had a great time with him!

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

We took a 3-day hike with Said and seriously wished we had booked all of our activities with him. The hike was difficult but manageable and we were able to interact with local people constantly. You'll definitely learn some Swahili greetings during this hike! We learned so much from Said about the landscape, history, and way of life in the region. He prepared fresh lunches and booked really clean and comfortable accommodation along the way. If we ever come back to TZ, we're planning everything with his company.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank Shakira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024

booked 2 trips with Said. First, a hike up Mt Meru, and next, a four day hiking trip in the Usambara mountains, for my boyfriend and me.

Said was extremely helpful and responsive when I was asking him a lot of questions ahead of the trip, and figuring out how best to organize and time it.

MOUNT MERU

Said organized a hike up Mount Meru from my boyfriend and me. He organized bus tickets, the guide, the cook, the porters, and the ranger.

All of them were excellent, and went out of their way to make sure we were happy, enjoying ourselves like the food guide, Gabriel, was exceptional. He knew when to push us, but also knew when to back off. He was a great communicator, too, and Prepare us for things ahead of time. He loved engaging in conversation with us and finding out more about us, And also really helpful in answering questions.

The cook, Abu Bacardi, was also really really good. His food was so good, and he was always happy to share recipes with us. He also asked us what we would prefer to have on certain days which was just a really nice touch. He wanted to know what we liked what we didn’t like and would adapt accordingly.

I know that Gabriel and Abu Worked closely with Said, ie, they are often on his Mount Meru team, or on some of the safari trips he plans. Said checked in regularly with us by text to make sure all was ok. I wholeheartedly recommend Said, and his team, for an excellent experience for the Mt Meru hike.

USAMBARA MOUNTAINS

The tour itself was terrific. First of all, Said is very knowledgable about the different tribes, their traditions, their practices, as well as botany, etc.

He was nimble in his planning, for example, our second day, we woke up, and there were torrential rains. He managed to alter our plans such that we drove a distance in the morning, and changed our accommodations so that it would all fit together well again on that same day, organized a hike for four hours in the afternoon once the weather had cleared.

He was also responsive to how we felt and our fitness levels. When we first met him, we were very sore from having hiked Mount Meru, so he took it easy with us on the first day, and then ramp up the effort level he saw we were starting to feel good again.

The choices of places to stay was excellent. They were all very clean, with beautiful views, and/or features. One had this gorgeous balcony overlooking beautiful farmland. The other sat in these lovely gardens with incredible view over the valley and the next chain of mountains, as well as Kilimanjaro in the distance.

The food was excellent.

Finally, he organized bus tickets for us to get to Lushoto Village and then from Lushoto Village to Dar es Salaam. He went out of his way to book the best seats for us. A nice touch.

All in all a great experience!

Date of experience: December 2023
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2023

Beautiful trip. Nice with explanations about the plantations and culture. Nice accommodations along the way, especially the last one, wow. Loved the views and the vibe. 100% would recommend. Great 4 day hike.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank Anne Damgaard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews