We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wonderful trek through Usambara mountains

We had an amazing 4-day trek with our guide Said, who was very knowledgable and organized the trip... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Virginie M
Amazingly beautiful and peaceful hike with Said in Usambara West

My girlfriend and I did an amazing 2 day hike in the western Usambara Mountains with Said. It was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Felix R
,
Oure, Fyn, Denmark
Read all 147 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
139
5
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
139
5
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day hike bush baby my boyfriend beautiful trip great guide first night chapatti recommend this trip amazing trek tanzania trip great guy dar es salaam making sure local nature spent days incredible views lovely person
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Wow! It is almost hard to know what to write that has not already been mentioned many times over. Said is a wonderful guide and anyone reading even a handful of reviews below can probably tell right away how consistently happy the guests were. He is also just a great person to spend a few days with even if there wasn't much to see (except there is!) - he's extremely kind, open and knowledgeable.

Something that really sets talented professionals like Said apart is that they make complicated things look easy. Bringing outsiders through a small community could potentially be very disruptive and ruin the essence of what you are trying to visit. It is a real testament to Said's care and hard work that everyone seems at ease when we pass by (and we, in turn, also feel more comfortable). As much as we felt catered to on our trek, you get a real sense of how much care Said takes in building relationships with the people of this area. He talks with nearly everyone we pass and sometimes we stop for a minute as they catch up or other times someone will fall in step with us to chat with Said as we walk. I have hiked in other countries with local guides, and I have never had the experience of sharing the unguarded company of locals going about their day. I only wish I had learned more Kiswahili to be able to express my gratitude.

In short, Said performs some kind of magic where you can simultaneously feel comfortable that everything (route, food, accommodations) is well established from decades of professional experience and yet also like a friend is showing you the secret back road no one knows about.

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Pranjali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023 via mobile

Could not recommend a stopover in Lushoto whilst travelling Tanzania more. We did a 4 day hike with Said and it was the highlight of our trip. The landscapes throughout the Usambara mountains are amazing, and so are the places you stop for lunch and stay overnight. Said is so knowledgeable and could answer any question we had from agriculture, geography, wildlife and so on. Great value for money also, Said is very transparent about costs and will assist you with your travels onwards from Lushoto also. A true gem!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank alidU7606KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023 via mobile

The accommodation in Mambo view point was incredible, organised by our guide Said. Said was a brilliant guide, full of information and interesting stories.

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank M4905CAjulied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2023

We had the most amazing trip with Siad! His organisation was brilliant and had so much knowledge about every aspect of the area. I think it was the most beautiful part of Tanzania I’ve been to. It was such an enjoyable trip. The accommodation we stayed in each night was lovely and we had picnic lunches each day with gorgeous views from the hills. I would highly recommend doing this adventure with Siad!

Date of experience: July 2023
Thank Caragh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2023

A group of us went on a four-day treck of the Usambara mountains with Said, who runs Usambara Adventures, and had an incredible experience. It was a great way to explore some more remote areas of Tanzania and go off the beaten path. We walked through farming villages, ate picnics on the hills with gorgeous views, and stayed in good accommodation each night. Said was very experienced, knowledgeable and kind. When one of our friends got sick he cared for him well and organized transportation for him to meet us at our next accommodation. The bus from Moshi is an easy way to get to Lushoto, where you can stay for the night before starting the hike the next day. I 100% recommend this trip with Said and look forward to going again!

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank Virginie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews