We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
C_V_Travel

Amazing stay

Review of Misonge Cottage
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Mar 2020
We had an amazing stay at the Misonge Cottages! It is true that there was no WiFi and no hot water, but we were not bothered by that. The place is beautiful with amazing views of the Usambara Mountains. It has a great location for hikes in the region and is not to far from the Lushoto town center. We felt very welcome and had the most amazing breakfast. We really recommend the place!
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$185
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
    $179
  • Priceline
    $185
0.8 km from Misonge Cottage
Free parking
Restaurant
$79
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $79
  • Agoda.com
    $78
  • eDreams
    $79
1.7 km from Misonge Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
$54
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $46
  • Agoda.com
    $54
  • Vio.com
    $54
1.0 km from Misonge Cottage
Free Wifi
Free parking
$174
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
33.5 km from Misonge Cottage
Free parking
Restaurant
Weekend gateaway with my friends to the usambara mountains..
$51
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $51
  • Agoda.com
    $51
0.5 km from Misonge Cottage
Free parking
Restaurant
You do not want to miss this experience...
$198
No prepayment needed
    7.0 km from Misonge Cottage
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    $62
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $62
    • Agoda.com
      $62
    2.3 km from Misonge Cottage
    Restaurant
    $90
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $90
    33.9 km from Misonge Cottage
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Mooie ligging in de bergen
    $101
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Agoda.com
      $61
    • Trip.com
      $78
    • Vio.com
      $66
    1.9 km from Misonge Cottage
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    $25
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      $28
    • Agoda.com
      $25
    37.1 km from Misonge Cottage
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Lushoto
    Reviews (6)
    Filter reviews
    6 results
    Traveller rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 6 reviews
    Reviewed 29 October 2019

    No hot water or wifi. My room had blue striped sheets which were stained as was the rest of the bedding. The place needs to be renovated. One bathroom even had mold on the ceiling and there's mold in the dining room. I honestly feel deceived by the pictures and pricing. What a dump.

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank OmarDuerte
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 October 2019

    We stayed at the Misonge Cottage following a recommendation from a friend but the real reason you should come here is to go on a hike with Obedi who runs the cottage. We spent three great days hiking in the Usambara mountains with him and had a great time. Food at the cottage, during picnic lunches, and in all the accomodations on the way was great. Obedi was very knowledgable when it comes to nature, he knew pretty much everybody we met on the way and he was seriously good at spotting chameleons. Might seem a bit unnecessary to hire a local guide just to go hiking but we'd definitely recommend it. The paths through small villages, private land and farms would have been impossible to find on our own plus it is a good opportunity to get to know a local a bit better than you usually do when traveling from place to place. We wish Obedi and his wife Salome all the best and hope they succeed with their business!

    Date of stay: September 2019
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank AnMa89
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 15 July 2019

    We booked 3 nights but left after 2. The first night there was very loud music till 4 oclock in the morning in the valley, the 2nd till 2 o clock! And then the mosquee at 5 oclock and on sunday morning the church on 7 oclock, really crazy. The accomodation was very basic for the price and could use some renovation. Only cold water, the wifi never worked, the toilet wasn't working good...We did a great walk with the local guide but that was the only good thing there. The nature is beautiful but you can not enjoy it because of the noise everywhere.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Alain V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 7 June 2019

    We stayed here for 2 nights before and after a hiking trip in the Usambaras. The staff was so helpful and we had a very comfortable stay. The food was delicious and they even packed us a breakfast the morning of our early bus. Love it! Highly recommend.

    Date of stay: June 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Meredith W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 February 2019

    My wife and I stayed there over new year's for a few nights. The manager was extremely friendly and accommodating. Beautiful setting, nice clean rooms. Very reasonably priced. It is however a solid 15min walk to downtown Lushoto (market, bus station).

    Date of stay: January 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Martin V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews