We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mateusz

Lived in Mambo View Point for over 4 months and still dream about it today!

Review of MamboViewPoint
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Apr 2021
When you first arrive at the very top of the mountain you're most likely tired after the long trip. Perhaps it's already evening, so you just eat your dinner from an unending buffet and go to bed. When you wake up in the morning you cannot believe your eyes. I mean it, the views are UNBELIEVABLE, they are imprinted in your brain forever once you open the doors of your cottage and walk out into a terrace that hangs on an edge of a cliff and feeds you a landscape of mountains, plains and the Kilimanjaro looming in the distance. You are on the roof of the whole area, enjoying the clouds rolling over mountain tops on a daily basis. I used to just look at the overwhelming beauty of surrounding for hours there.

The cottages are a blend of traditional design and modern amenities, they are nicely furnished inside with comfy beds and chairs. The bathrooms are completely modern with hot water, large mirrors and everything else you might need to look like a rock star while enjoying the views and hikes.

The food is amazing! Prepared by local cooks from local products, every day freshly cooked, divided into three meals a day. The buffet serving-style means you can eat as much as you want and if you are in need of something special, like extra pancakes in the morning, or vegetarian options all you need to do is ask the cooks, or the managers. I've lived there for over 4 months and because of the buffet I have put on weight - not proud of myself, but there you have it.

The staff is super friendly, the guides competent and knowledgable in terms of the entire area and its points of interest. The hikes are epic, you can ever walk down from the mountains into the plains and take part in a safari in the Mkomazi National Park. It's a long, but very satisfying trip. Everything is flexible and tailored to your needs, so finding something that suits you shouldn't be a problem at all.

Oh, did I mention I got married there? No? Well, I did and it was epic, couldn't think of a nicer location for a wedding. Unique experience to say the least.

All in all: well worth visiting, you're never going to forget your stay at Mambo View Point Eco Lodge!!! :)
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: All of them are epic :)
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
0.4 km from MamboViewPoint
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
32.2 km from MamboViewPoint
Free Wifi
Free parking
You do not want to miss this experience...
    30.2 km from MamboViewPoint
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    • Vio.com
    30.2 km from MamboViewPoint
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    33.9 km from MamboViewPoint
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    32.9 km from MamboViewPoint
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    34.7 km from MamboViewPoint
    Free parking
    Restaurant
      34.7 km from MamboViewPoint
      Free parking
      Restaurant
        33.6 km from MamboViewPoint
        Free parking
        Restaurant
        • Priceline
        • Agoda.com
        32.6 km from MamboViewPoint
        Restaurant
        View more hotels in Lushoto
        Reviews (236)
        Filter reviews
        236 results
        Traveller rating
        183
        33
        8
        9
        3
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        More languages
        Traveller rating
        183
        33
        8
        9
        3
        Show reviews that mention
        All reviews mambo viewpoint local community usambara mountains other guests beautiful place luxury tents stunning views an eco lodge an adventure friendly dogs development projects positive impact worth the trip unique location african plains hot water is limited an understatement
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        31 - 36 of 236 reviews
        Reviewed 13 April 2021

        We had an unbelievable trip to the hotel above the clouds. The rooms, the food and the grounds were the perfect getaway. You wont regret the trip up the beautiful mountains of Lushoto to find yourself away from the world. We cant wait to go back and visit again.

        Date of stay: March 2021
          • Value
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank WanderingHills
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 13 April 2021

        We stayed at Mambo Viewpoint for 4 days and were sooo happy to find this unique place. Not only it is located on top of beautiful Usumbara mountains (which are stunning for hiking, bike riding or just plain walking) but the hosts are super friendly and genuinely care about their guests. Dagmara made us feel at home right away, rooms were cozy and the views breathtaking. On top of it you did not have to think about food as we had full board which meant warm, tasty grub was always there.
        We recommend Mambo Viewpoint wholeheartedly as it is quiet, peaceful, tranquil and private with abundance of activities around.
        Thanks guys!

        Date of stay: February 2021
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank MikeDZanzibar
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

        We visited this place in the first week of April 2021, the drive up to the place is really nice and scenic and everything stops there , the rooms are unclean and unhygienic everything is rationed water food we were on full board basis so if they run out of food to sleep hungry I wouldn’t recommend this place since there are other better managed place

        Date of stay: April 2021
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank husseinnagri
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Mambo ViewPoint, Owner at MamboViewPoint, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2022

        Please note that our meals are always calculated based on the number of people eating and the standard rules and measurements applied in hotels all over the world. We have trouble understanding why the water wasn't available, as we ALWAYS have water in the rooms, cold and hot (during the day heated by the solar, at night heated by firewood on request).

        Report response as inappropriate
        This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
        Reviewed 3 March 2021

        We have expected a lot, and got even more. The venue is a very nice place with truly breathtaking views and unique spirit. You can expect a lot of hiking and biking opportunities in the area. A great option is the Mkomazi national park trip.
        Missing the place and hope there will be a chance to visit again.
        Dagmara and Ally, thank you guys for your hospitality, keep up in your great work!
        d+l+a+k

        Date of stay: February 2021
          • Value
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        Thank davkob75
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 3 March 2021 via mobile

        Mambo View Point occupies a stunning location on the edge of the Usambara mountains overlooking the Pare region below.

        We stayed in Fix House, one of several cottages on site, and had stunning views from our windows and from the terraced area in front of the cottage. The cottage was traditionally decorated and had a large well furnished bedroom and a large bathroom. Abdul and the rest of the staff made sure we were very comfortable there.

        We stayed on a full board basis and meals were prepared by local staff and taken buffet style in a communal dining area, encouraging guests to chat together at meal times. The food was tasty and plentiful. Drinks were available from an “honesty bar” with your bar bill totalled on departure from the record you made of drinks taken.

        Many local activities could be booked through Mambo View. We made several short hikes with a local guide, Joseph, to enjoy the scenery and the local area. Joseph was an excellent guide and we also learnt a lot about the local culture, lifestyle and agriculture. We also did an early morning bird walk with Ally which was also fun and we saw some new birds for us.

        Mambo View also organised a two day safari in Mkomazi National Park for us, our guide Ally was good at spotting animals and birds for us and was a great driver, his car was well equipped and reliable.

        Mkomazi NP is beautiful and we enjoyed the wildlife, including seeing Gerenuk for the first time, and our visit to the Rhino Sanctuary where the rangers took us out to meet the breeding rhino’s in the conservation programme. Ally was a great guide and it was a pleasure to spend time with him.

        It is quite a trip up to Mambo View Point from Mombo through Lushoto but in our view it is one well worth taking.

        Date of stay: February 2021
        Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        Thank ShepofBristol
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews