We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't stop coming back”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Domaine Estaviale

Wide steps into large 15 x 5 metre pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wide steps into large 15 x 5 metre pool
Panoramic view of 'Domaine Estaviale' Dining Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Wide steps into large 15 x 5 metre pool
Panoramic view of 'Domaine Estaviale'
Dining Terrace
Approach to 'Domaine Estaviale'
Panoramic view of 'Domaine Estaviale' with pool
Kitchen into Dining area
Kitchen out to Terrace
Spacious Lounge
Master Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Family Bathroom
View from dining terrace towards Castelnau
View from Dining Terrace
Private fishing lake for guests at Domaine Estaviale
Pool and Garden
Frequently seen permanent guest at Domaine Estaviale
Sunset over Castelnau de Montmiral from Terrace
Southerly view of Gardens and Lake at Domaine Estaviale
Hillside view of Castelnau de Montmiral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castelnau-de-Montmiral, Tarn, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna J
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't stop coming back”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Domaine Estaviale for the third time this year. We went slightly earlier than usual, but the weather was still outstanding apart from a couple of cloudy days, and it was nice to see all the wildflowers in bloom and even more butterflies than later in the year.

I have nothing to add to the other outstanding reviews, except to repeat that this house and its grounds are truly stunning. The feeling of peace and tranquillity is exceptional, and Steve and Sally do an excellent job of making one feel well looked after without intruding.

A great place to stay with families – there’s so much space for children to run around. We played rounders and volleyball, as well as lots of frisbee and games in the pool. The local Bas de Loisirs is also very friendly, with mini golf, tennis and a large lake for swimming and canoeing. The house is well-equipped with games and equipment for cooking large meals, plus a large-screen TV.

Castelnau itself feels a bit quiet these days, but perhaps that was because we were out of season. Don’t leave without making a visit to Puycelsi – a beautiful town, with some lovely forest walks around it.

Thanks again – we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting and amenities
Liked least: Wi-fi a bit temperamental, but I don't want to be on the computer much on holiday anyway!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike S
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply Brilliant”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

You got exactly what your saw in the photographs. We've been back 3-4 weeks now and it still brings back a smile.

The views are stunning, the house was great, pool brilliant & for a fisherman the lake was superb.

It's location is close to a village where all supplies needed could be bought & only 20 minutes from a major Le Clerc.

Fairly central in southern France we found no problems traveling to many place in the SE such as Carcassone and Collioure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The site & it's views.
Liked least: The road to house would be difficult in a low car.
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A beautiful house in an idyllic private setting with a lake, walks and wildlife all around.
Excellent accommodation with two super bathrooms and everything you require.
Great pool and views to die for. Two weeks of perfect weather allowed us to dine outside for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Each evening we would look at a different coloured sunset over Castelnau-de-Montmiral.
Sally and Stephen made us very welcome, offering suggestions of what to see and where to shop.
The six of us would like to thank them for letting us stay and making ours such a memorable holiday.
Don’t miss Cordes sur Ciel and Albi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning Views, Location & Privacy
Liked least: Be careful with your car when accessing the property from the steep drive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevieB66
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“simply stunning”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed as a party of 8 (4 adults and 4 children 10-12) at Estaviale between 19th July -2nd August 2014 being met by one of the congenial and welcoming owners, (Sally) on our arrival. Although we had seen various photos and read info on the websites I have to say the place is even better than the photos portray (and that is saying something as it looks fab on the website). The house is spacious and in the main generously equipped. It has ample accommodation and rustic charm via simply decorated rooms, the majority of which all have good views over the countryside.

The panoramic views across the valley towards Montmiral from the terrace and north over rolling fields and woodland from the pool are stunning. The pool is a nice size and depth and although unheated it stayed warm throughout our stay. Ther is an alarm system but we did not require it due to the age of our children The owner (Steve) periodically came to clean the pool /check on it and in between we easily kept on top of things using the skimmer or net to remove any leaves floating in the pool. There were 8 sunbeds provided and we spent many hours enjoying the pool in such fab surroundings. The house is comfortable and peaceful, being set away from the road. We BBQ'd most nights, dining alfresco and watching the sunsets (and at times wild deer foraging in the adjacent fields) all with an obligatory glass of wine. We only managed to catch two fish from the private lake during our stay but that was more due to our inexperience as plenty of fish were seen rising or alternatively as they teased us by swimming by all to regular occasions. With an abundance of wildlife and bird life you really do feel you are somewhere special.

Occasionally dined out and we had a very Nice meal at Au Faux Saisons in Gaillac - worth a visit for some nice French cuisine.

All in all Estaviale is a great base for exploring the surrounding area whether it be the vineyards that abound, or the nearby historical towns. Steve and Sally are very helpful with any advice and make you feel comfortable knowing they are on hand if needed, but otherwise they are far from intrusive. As such you do really feel you have your own little holiday home - albeit just briefly as the two weeks flew by.

The kids loved running around the garden and exploring before then cooling off in the pool.

A trip to Albi is a must if visiting and do not miss out the cathedral. We had a fabulous day canoeing down the Aveyron gorge starting at St Antonin Noble Val. Incidentally there is a great market there on a sunday with Wine, cheese and many other products. As for day to day shopping there is a very large supermarket (LeClerc) 10 mins drive away in Gaillac which caters for pretty much all your needs. There is also a useful Co-op style shop in Montmiral with Takeaway cooked chickens and a good array of food essentials.
We would hope to return one day as undoubtedly one of the best holidays we have had, and for this type of Gite type holiday you cannot go far wrong than to stay at Domaine Estaviale

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of property and location
Liked least: could do with a bit more cutlery and crockery with a party of 8 (but a minor issue)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierslofi
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So good I'd rather keep it a secret”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Absolutely brilliant rental. I will not dwell on all there is to do in the area, the great shops and restaurants as well as the beautiful scenery, because it is all wonderful. I'll concentrate on the property to help with your holiday decision.

We travelled with 4 adults, mid 30s to 60s, and 3 children. The property was perfect for all of us. Slept us all comfortably in lovely rooms. There was enough space in the house to lounge about without being on top of one another. The bathrooms were excellent with so much space.

However, the gardens are in a different league. The children had so much safe space to explore; fields, woods, the lake. They spent hours catching bugs, fishing, looking for dragonflies (loads), I caught a deer on camera. Amazing. The pool area is great. Lots of hot sun but a large oak tree to provide natural shade if you want it. The pool is one of the largest we've had at a property and its layout makes it great for small children (our smallest were 4).

The property details and photos do not do the place justice. It's a really special place. Isolated but close to everything you'll need. The owners pop in from time to time to check the pool etc and are very friendly and helpful. If you need anything they are on the end of the phone.

We certainly hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing