We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home but better!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Barns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Freshwater East, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cartwheel...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home but better!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Barns was a wonderful holiday experience. The cottage itself is very well equipped with everything we could want for (at one point we were catering for 9 and there was no panic for cooking pots or crockery). The washing machine and dryer was a lifesaver and meant we could return home with much less washing than ever before. Room was ample so that we could be together but have enough space for ourselves if required as well. Andrew and his family were wonderfully welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed, lending us wetsuits, boogie boards, bikes, wind break and anything else we could have desired. Of course they also gave full permission for us to use the amazing garden which kept everyone busy included grandad in his 70s who decided to try out the zip wire much to the amusement of the grandchildren.

The cottage is positioned perfectly to explore Pembrokeshire and with Freshwater East beach only 15 minutes walk away you wouldn't have to go far to experience the beauty and tranquility or fun and frolics in the sea if you didn't want too go far away.

A great time had by all, thank you Deborah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thanks for your superb review! Future guests please note that the zip wires are no longer available. However, we've now supplied lots of new fun activities!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire W
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Brilliant family holiday. My ten year old son and forty year old husband loved the garden with all the activities available. The beach and coastal path are just a ten minute walk away and the local pub has a beautiful view looking out over the coast. Will definitely be returning to The Barns again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taffyjohn...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out standing”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Most beautiful settings. Very clean and plenty of space. Very nice helpful people. A great time was had by my self and my family. we shall be Booking again soon. and certainly will be telling all about the "BARNS"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and Quite
Liked least: The road access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane P
Gilwern, United Kingdom
1 review
“Large and Luxurious - What a great escape!!!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

What a lovely luxurious. tranquil and spacious cottage. Set within 10 mins walk to the beach from the fields. Garden wonderful, and kept my teenage son occupied during our stay. Cant believe how large the rooms are. Will definitely be back. What a wonderful relaxing holiday, can't say how much we loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden and the 3 TV's with sky
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably the best holiday location for the action neady and the tired and weary”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Andy made the whole party very welcome, and made sure that we had the best holiday from the off.

Whether you are the hard core outdoor type or the tired traveler in need of a relaxing break Freshwater if the one for you.

The accommodation was 5* and the facilities are excellent. Walks in the area are great, or just sat in the garden in the piece and quite it fits every holiday. Make sure you spend a good restful walk along the coastal path and visit the other beaches!

Andy made us most welcome and we will be coming back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and facilities
Liked least: We had to go home!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing