We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Review Highlights
Highlight of school holidays!

Highlight of our 11 year old family visitor during the school holidays was having an afternoon... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Heather4919
,
Taihape, New Zealand
Fantastic experience!

We have been rafting before with River Valley and they were just as good this time. The... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2018
bexnorm
,
Bath, United Kingdom
Read all 91 reviews
  
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
78
7
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
7
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white water rafting kiwi experience new zealand horseback riding day trip group of friends felt safe top notch thank you so much small group derek rapids lodge grade guide accommodation nz
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

My three children (adults) and I did the half day grade 5 river trip to start the celebration of my 70th birthday. From start to finish it was excellent with highly professional guides and staff. They were courteous, friendly and engaging with a good sense of humour. We did grades 2 to 5 and enjoyed every moment even when he ran us under a cold mountain stream at the end! Highly recommend this outfit and the mighty Rangitikei

Thank whitegate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Kia ora

Thanks for taking the trip with us and your kind comments. All the best.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

River Valley lodge has it all! A family-run establishment, the accommodations are gorgeous (walls of windows in our mini-cabin, sleek and modern bathroom), the food is outrageously delicious (they have their own farm! We ate their chicken, veggies, etc, from right down the lane!) and the rafting itself was the most intense, hilarious, relaxing, invigorating experience, all at once! This is the one place in New Zealand that I would recommend to anyone making the trip. The owners of the lodge, the guides for the rafting, everyone there is an expert and is incredibly kind. 5 stars!

Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Kia ora Danielle

Thanks so much for your review. It is always wonderful to host guests who fully appreciate the River Valley experience.

All the best.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Spent 1 night there and it brought back some memories! It was out of the way, on an off-the beaten track. The fireplace, eating altogether which I find so nice. Helps you bound with your group instead of the constant phone typing. I did some horse riding the next day and it's been so good to get back on track with a proper lesson. I learnt a lot in such a short time. Thank you guys!

Thank ilicochoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Kia ora

Thank you for visiting us. I hope the rest of your journey goes well.

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Great trip with three other families , kids aged between 12 and 7. Two nights on the Rangitikei river- a really good family outdoor adventure- our guides were amazing - very easy going, got on really well with the kids and made the trip lots and lots of fun - big thank you to Nathan, Eddie, Justin and Kurt.

Thank emmaandspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Kia ora Emma and Spence

Thanks for the review. Yes, yours was a fun trip! What an undertaking organising 3 families and all the children to spend 3 days on the river.

Hopefully other families will also take the option to experience such a unique adventure with their partners, children and friends.

All the best

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

White water rafting was awesome. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the river and an expert at rafting. I had never been white water rafting before but would do it again. Safety is a high priority at River Valley so never felt uncomfortable. Great experience.

Thank lpeterson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Kia ora

Thank you for your review. Always great to know people are having a fun time out on the river, and that they appreciate and understand the focus on safety.

All the best

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews