We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“River valley rafting”

River Valley Adventures
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Taihape
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: River Valley is an adventure company that operates from River Valley Lodge, an Adventure Lodge situated 32 kilometers east of the central North Island town of Taihape. What is River Valley all about? River Valley is all about rafts and horses. In fact 3 generations (since 1982)of guides have brought adventures based around river rafting and horse back riding to the general public. Rafting ranges in duration from half day Grade 5 trips on the Rangitikei River - often called one of the world's top half day Grade 5 trips - to gentle floats in the midst of spectacular scenery on our Scenic rafting trips. Horse Trekking. The core of the River Valley Stables riding experience is the natural horse training techniques used to train our horses. This produces horses that are responsive and happy. All riding takes place over the beautiful hill country of this area - the northern Rangitikei.
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Great trip with three other families , kids aged between 12 and 7. Two nights on the Rangitikei river- a really good family outdoor adventure- our guides were amazing - very easy going, got on really well with the kids and made the trip lots and lots of fun - big thank you to Nathan, Eddie, Justin and Kurt.

Thank emmaandspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Kia ora Emma and Spence

Thanks for the review. Yes, yours was a fun trip! What an undertaking organising 3 families and all the children to spend 3 days on the river.

Hopefully other families will also take the option to experience such a unique adventure with their partners, children and friends.

All the best

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"white water rafting"
in 14 reviews
"kiwi experience"
in 7 reviews
"new zealand"
in 9 reviews
"horseback riding"
in 4 reviews
"day trip"
in 3 reviews
"group of friends"
in 3 reviews
"felt safe"
in 2 reviews
"top notch"
in 2 reviews
"thank you so much"
in 2 reviews
"small group"
in 2 reviews
"derek"
in 9 reviews
"rapids"
in 13 reviews
"lodge"
in 20 reviews
"grade"
in 8 reviews
"guide"
in 35 reviews
"accommodation"
in 7 reviews
"nz"
in 11 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018

White water rafting was awesome. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the river and an expert at rafting. I had never been white water rafting before but would do it again. Safety is a high priority at River Valley so never felt uncomfortable. Great experience.

Thank lpeterson50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Kia ora

Thank you for your review. Always great to know people are having a fun time out on the river, and that they appreciate and understand the focus on safety.

All the best

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

If you want to go off the grid for a day or two, enjoy the outdoors and do some adventurous activities, this is a must! Lovely staff, super relaxed and a great way to meet people. Food was really good and the white water rafting was the best activity I’ve done in NZ so far. You get a real NZ experience here!

Thank NatashaTigwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Kia ora Natasha

Thank you for your great review.

In a couple of sentences you have summed up what River Valley can be all about.

Thank you

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We, a group of friends and two 10 years old girls, spent two nights at River Valley Lodge and booked the family rafting tour (Grade 2).
That is what my daughter thinks about our trip: "The rooms were very cozy and clean and we loved the floor heating in the bathroom! The rafting was very fun and my best friend and me felt safe the whole time. Thanks a lot to Justin, who was very friendly and an awesome guide. He explained everything very clearly and was interested in getting to know us. He also had a great sense of humour and every time my best friend and me jumped in the river he always checked it was safe to do so. Derek, the guide in the other boat was cheeky in a good way and made me laugh a lot."
Not a lot to add on- we all had a great time, two of our friends even booked the Grade 5 rafting tour the next day and loved it.
River Valley Lodge is such a lovely and peaceful place to stay- a great spot to relax from work.
The stuff was very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and we will come back for sure!
Thanks for this wonderful experience- greetings from Wellington!

Thank StephanieW4238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Kia ora Stephanie

Thank you so much for the positive review. It is always quite uplifting to know that we have given a group of family and friends such a great experience.

All the best

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

The guides were really cool and knowledgeable, the weather was perfect, and it was a lot of fun, but it was slightly overhyped. Still some good river rafting but not as exciting as expected or promised. Would still recommend though.

Thank AlexTheCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rivervalley1, Owner at River Valley Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Kia ora Alex

Thanks for your review. Great that you had a fun time on the river.

As far as being overhyped is concerned, we always know as guides that rafting appears easy and fun when things are going well. It is only when you are swimming a rapid that you fully appreciate the downside literally of what white water can be about.

All the best

Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Valley Adventures also viewed

Taihape, Rangitikei District
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 
Rangitikei District, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Taihape, Rangitikei District
 

Been to River Valley Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing