We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fun and fishing ”
Review of Tarata Fishaway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarata Fishaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Taihape B&B and Inns
Granada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Fabulous fun and fishing ”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

If I didn't have my own lovely family, I'd have this one. The Matlock family are the essence of genuine hospitality and great fun.
We went essentially to fish and fish we did. We had huge fun catching lots of rainbows on the beautiful Rangitikei River. Terrific guiding and rafting skills from Stephen, Mikalya and Fred. Comfortable, cosy accomodation in the most beautiful scenic clifftop retreat.
Trudy and Stephen never stop thinking of little ways to improve your experience.
I'm definately going back.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jmous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Thankyou guys for your lovely review. You are welcome into our family anytime. Look forward to your return
The Mattocks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous time at Tarata. The treehouse was beautiful and spacious and the spa was great after a day of walking.
The rafting day with Stephanie was amazing - such beautiful scenery and they think of everything in terms of gear and assistance.
We had dinner in the homestead and it was lovely.
The welcome couldn't have been better.
We are keen to return and try our hand at fishing next time.
Mark & John

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wheelsie24A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
We loved having you and yes you must come back and try your hand at some fishing
Its a great excuse for another day on the river.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Found this place on 'pets can come too'. Hosts are wonderful: friendly and very very accommodating. The treehouse is a lovely place to stay, with wonderful views looking over the gorge from the tree house and the hot tub. Very accommodating for dogs (fenced courtyard and fenced paddock next door). We did the 3 to 5 hour rafting trip down the Rangitiki gorge (comfortable rapids grades 1-2 only), which was just a fabulous way to spend the day. Rafting, swimming, short hike to a waterfall, lovely picnic lunch, floating down the subdued rapids, having a go at rowing - all made for a fabulous day. Great dinner too. Definitely the best place I've stayed while traveling with my dog.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tanderso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Manager at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this review, 2 March 2017
Love the heading. It was a fun day on the river. Loved the tricks your Beagle could do.
We are so glad you both had a great stay and hope you can come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in the tree house. Plenty of room for 2 couples and a clean, comfortable and well equipped location with the most amazing view from the sitting room window (and the spacious decks). One night we cooked for ourselves and the next Trudi, Steven and Michaela arrived with a delicious home cooked 3 course dinner. Everything was provided for breakfast and we had eggs from Trudi's chickens laid that day. We enjoyed a fantastic scenic rafting trip with Steve, Michaela and Stephanie and were able to do just enough fishing to catch two fine trout - and then return them to the beautiful river. We had so much fun and were overawed by the magnificent scenery. If you get the chance, come here. You will have the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Tree house or River retreat for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QNDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
Thank you to everyone for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to use TripAdvisor. It makes it all worth while and so much fun. Looking forward to Summer. Merry Christmas! from all at Tarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We were on a "Self-Drive New Zealand Tour" and the agent picked this accommodation...we did not realize the drive was nice and we arrived hungry. The place is absolutely wonderful, beautiful scenery. The owners were nice enough to bring us dinner & beer!..the next day we were taken around their property and then into their home for coffee..very gracious family...wish we could have stayed one more day to see what this area offered.

Room Tip: It is a very remote, romantic escape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
Thank you to everyone for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to use TripAdvisor. It makes it all worth while and so much fun. Looking forward to Summer. Merry Christmas! from all at Tarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taihape hotels
18.8 km away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
437 reviews
18.0 km away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
30 reviews
18.2 km away
No photo provided
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#3 of 4 in Taihape
54 reviews
0.0 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
50 reviews
7.6 km away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarata Fishaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarata Fishaway

Property: Tarata Fishaway
Address: 925 Mokai Road | Rd 3, Taihape 4793, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Taihape
Price range (per night): $254 - $353
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Fishing/Farm lodge in the remote Mokai Valley right on the Rangitikei River. Trout fishing right at your door step. Gorgeous accommodation and amazing scenery. Very quiet and private with own spa pool and the trout fishing is amazing. Enjoy a scenic raft trip or just enjoy the stunning scenery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing