We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarata Fishaway
Nearby Hotels
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peaks Motor Inn(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ohakune Court Motel(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge(Ohakune)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Safari Motel(Taihape)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
59
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housetroutrangitikei riverhot tubrafting tripfly fishingmagic carpet ridepiece of paradisewonderful retreatmagnificent sceneryhard workfishing experiencefresh flowerstwo nightsoff the beaten trackspecial thanksthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We had a fabulous time at Tarata. The treehouse was beautiful and spacious and the spa was great after a day of walking.
The rafting day with Stephanie was amazing - such beautiful scenery and they think of everything in terms of gear and assistance.
We had dinner in the homestead and it was lovely.
The welcome couldn't have been better.
We are keen to return and try our hand at fishing next time.
Mark & John

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wheelsie24A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

We loved having you and yes you must come back and try your hand at some fishing
Its a great excuse for another day on the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Found this place on 'pets can come too'. Hosts are wonderful: friendly and very very accommodating. The treehouse is a lovely place to stay, with wonderful views looking over the gorge from the tree house and the hot tub. Very accommodating for dogs (fenced courtyard and fenced paddock next door). We did the 3 to 5 hour rafting trip down the Rangitiki gorge (comfortable rapids grades 1-2 only), which was just a fabulous way to spend the day. Rafting, swimming, short hike to a waterfall, lovely picnic lunch, floating down the subdued rapids, having a go at rowing - all made for a fabulous day. Great dinner too. Definitely the best place I've stayed while traveling with my dog.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Tanderso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Manager at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Love the heading. It was a fun day on the river. Loved the tricks your Beagle could do.
We are so glad you both had a great stay and hope you can come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in the tree house. Plenty of room for 2 couples and a clean, comfortable and well equipped location with the most amazing view from the sitting room window (and the spacious decks). One night we cooked for ourselves and the next Trudi, Steven and Michaela arrived with a delicious home cooked 3 course dinner. Everything was provided for breakfast and we had eggs from Trudi's chickens laid that day. We enjoyed a fantastic scenic rafting trip with Steve, Michaela and Stephanie and were able to do just enough fishing to catch two fine trout - and then return them to the beautiful river. We had so much fun and were overawed by the magnificent scenery. If you get the chance, come here. You will have the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Tree house or River retreat for the views
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QNDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Thank you to everyone for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to use TripAdvisor. It makes it all worth while and so much fun. Looking forward to Summer. Merry Christmas! from all at Tarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We were on a "Self-Drive New Zealand Tour" and the agent picked this accommodation...we did not realize the drive was nice and we arrived hungry. The place is absolutely wonderful, beautiful scenery. The owners were nice enough to bring us dinner & beer!..the next day we were taken around their property and then into their home for coffee..very gracious family...wish we could have stayed one more day to see what this area offered.

Room Tip: It is a very remote, romantic escape!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lori118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Thank you to everyone for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to use TripAdvisor. It makes it all worth while and so much fun. Looking forward to Summer. Merry Christmas! from all at Tarata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

What a magical place arrived to a beautiful view of the rangitikei river. The river retreat was a lovely little two bedroom house with all the facilities a spa bath in the main room. A spa on the deck outside overlooking the amazing view. Very clean and cosy. Great place to get away from it all and recharge the batteries. Highly recommend this gorgeous place.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank suzie358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews