We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular location, delightful people & wonderful activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarata Fishaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taihape
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarata Fishaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Taihape B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular location, delightful people & wonderful activities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in the tree house. Plenty of room for 2 couples and a clean, comfortable and well equipped location with the most amazing view from the sitting room window (and the spacious decks). One night we cooked for ourselves and the next Trudi, Steven and Michaela arrived with a delicious home cooked 3 course dinner. Everything was provided for breakfast and we had eggs from Trudi's chickens laid that day. We enjoyed a fantastic scenic rafting trip with Steve, Michaela and Stephanie and were able to do just enough fishing to catch two fine trout - and then return them to the beautiful river. We had so much fun and were overawed by the magnificent scenery. If you get the chance, come here. You will have the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Tree house or River retreat for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QNDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
Thank you to everyone for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to use TripAdvisor. It makes it all worth while and so much fun. Looking forward to Summer. Merry Christmas! from all at Tarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

We were on a "Self-Drive New Zealand Tour" and the agent picked this accommodation...we did not realize the drive was nice and we arrived hungry. The place is absolutely wonderful, beautiful scenery. The owners were nice enough to bring us dinner & beer!..the next day we were taken around their property and then into their home for coffee..very gracious family...wish we could have stayed one more day to see what this area offered.

Room Tip: It is a very remote, romantic escape!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
Thank you to everyone for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to use TripAdvisor. It makes it all worth while and so much fun. Looking forward to Summer. Merry Christmas! from all at Tarata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

What a magical place arrived to a beautiful view of the rangitikei river. The river retreat was a lovely little two bedroom house with all the facilities a spa bath in the main room. A spa on the deck outside overlooking the amazing view. Very clean and cosy. Great place to get away from it all and recharge the batteries. Highly recommend this gorgeous place.

Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank suzie358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016

The accommodation was spotless - not shortcomings anywhere - perfect bedroom, bathroom and kitchen plus if you need it, accommodation for pets! Waking up in this beautiful spot fell like paradise! Apart from the environment there are many summer activities as well - including organised fishing.

Stayed June 2016
Helpful?
Thank caroliedekoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I booked into Tarata Fishaway at the River Retreat and fell in love with it. After a couple of stressful months we wanted to go away for a night that was away from the rest of the world and that's exactly what we got. No cellphone coverage, no distractions - just a spa, an amazing view and the sound of tuis. The food was made with love and little gestures like fresh flowers scattered around the house, petals on the bed and candles with dinner just made it so much more romantic.
Overall, the view, the hospitality and the accommodation was just amazing. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much!

Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-sightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taihape
18.8 km away
Aspen Court Taihape
Aspen Court Taihape
#1 of 4 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
18.2 km away
No photo provided
Gretna Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taihape
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
7.8 km away
River Valley Lodge
River Valley Lodge
#1 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 km away
Safari Motel
Safari Motel
#4 of 4 in Taihape
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
18.0 km away
Rusty Nail Backpackers
Rusty Nail Backpackers
#2 of 2 in Taihape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
19.6 km away
Mairenui Rural Retreat
Mairenui Rural Retreat
#390 of 1,236 in North Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarata Fishaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarata Fishaway

Property: Tarata Fishaway
Address: 925 Mokai Road | RD 3, Taihape 4793, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Rangitikei District > Taihape
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Taihape
Price range (per night): $120 - $220
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Fishing/Farm lodge in the remote Mokai Valley right on the Rangitikei River. Trout fishing right at your door step. Gorgeous accommodation and amazing scenery. Very quiet and private with own spa pool and the trout fishing is amazing. Enjoy a scenic raft trip or just enjoy the stunning scenery. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing