We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
63
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house rangitikei river rafting trip spa pool magic carpet ride fresh flowers new zealand off the beaten track great hosts fishing experience piece of paradise the cliff two nights special thanks hard work the main house other guests
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The accommodation was spotless - not shortcomings anywhere - perfect bedroom, bathroom and kitchen plus if you need it, accommodation for pets! Waking up in this beautiful spot fell like paradise! Apart from the environment there are many summer activities as well - including organised fishing.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank caroliedekoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

My partner and I booked into Tarata Fishaway at the River Retreat and fell in love with it. After a couple of stressful months we wanted to go away for a night that was away from the rest of the world and that's exactly what we got. No cellphone coverage, no distractions - just a spa, an amazing view and the sound of tuis. The food was made with love and little gestures like fresh flowers scattered around the house, petals on the bed and candles with dinner just made it so much more romantic.
Overall, the view, the hospitality and the accommodation was just amazing. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank kiwi-sightseeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

let me share one unforgettable day out of 27 days of self drive NZ country side tour
i wanted to visit this place after watching lords of ring and hobbit which were shot at this place. you need to plan properly and book in advance choosing right season to avoid disappointment coz of rain
we were 2 and drive from lake taupo to taihape took 4 hrs do not be in a hurry drive is beautiful passing mokai valley. the best place to stay is tarata lodge hosts trudi and stephen are very good but do not be disheartened by long drive and very much interior location, takes 1 hr from taihape to reach the lodge on the day of arrival u may regret for choosing this but wait till next few days. book for 3 nights resort is kitchen attached and if u want to cook yourself take fresh salmon and enough food materials as there are no shops
next day book for scenic river rafting with steve - 14 kms, huge canyons both sides pleasant rangitikei river u would like to visit again
3rd day book for trout fishing and explore remotest NZ countryside
on the way gravity canyon is there but u can do this in aj hacket, kawarau do not forget to take good wine and beer fill petrol at taihape book directly better to carry nzd cash also
it is difficult to describe in words - big thank you trudi and steve

Room Tip: if u r 2 opt for river retreat more than 4 book tree top
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank suresh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

My husband and I stayed two nights at this wonderful fishing lodge , hosted by Trudi and Stephen who, with all of their pets, are so welcoming. We both had a great day on the river fishing, rafting and taking photographs. This visit added so much to our New Zealand vacation. Be sure to take food and booze in with you because it's a long drive to the nearest town!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Our stay at the Tarata Fishaway Lodge was the high point of our seven week tour of New Zealand. Hosts Steven and Trudi made our time here unforgettable. Great hospitality and what a location!... it's like waking up in a movie. Steve certainly knows what he's doing on the river, with the result that we had two fantastic days fishing on the crystal clear Rangitikei river that flows through the gorge which our private lodge (The River Retreat) overlooked. Hard-fighting, fin-perfect, rainbow and brown trout were spotted, caught, educated (artificial vs real fly identification!) and released unharmed. Family pets include the Saint Bernards, Michael the magpie, Rocky the deer plus the adorable Labrador and the cat.

I can't praise this place, and Trudi and Steven, highly enough. We'll be back for sure (not least to repay Trudi for posting my forgotten clothes on to us!)

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M, Owner at Tarata Fishaway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love sharing our little piece of paradise. We thought you were movie stars. See you next time. Glad you received your clothes ok. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews